We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful castle”

Le Chateau de Fenelon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful castle”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Once we found it (thank goodness for Waze), we really enjoyed it. Wonderfully presented, nicely restored and appointed. A bit pricey, but what can you do? Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank baalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    49
    9
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very well presented attraction”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Although I have visited the area many times, I hadn't visited this chateau. Chance brought me here this time, and now I view it as one of the most rewarding visits I have had in the region.
For a start, you will be unlucky to find it with more than a handful of visitors. The car park is free, and if you visit it when it opens, you can park very close to the gates. There is a very helpful English guide leaflet, with numbered entries that are very easy to relate to specific objects. The text is very informative, and the layout logical.
The chateau is quite small, and very attractive. It is obviously well maintained. incidentally, just inside the grounds there is a door "at moat level" leading to the toilets (which are very clean and modern) - this is not immediately obvious.
The rooms are all themed with different periods of French decor, and they feel very authentic and lived in, rather than stuffy museum displays. There are excellent information boards in French and English, which are teh best I have seen in France. Don't miss the cabinet with a little stuffed mermaid curiosity - or the revolutionary medals - all quite fascinating.
Considering the content and the manner in which this beautiful place is kept up, I think the charge is very reasonable - and a real "must visit".

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely, rural hillside chateau”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

After a bit of a drive to find the Chateau through the lovely Dordogne countryside, we were rewarded with a unique opportunity to see a chateau that has rooms outfitted to the period when it was most active. The Chateau de Fenelon is perched on a relatively low-lying hill compared to those that are perched on the cliffside of the valley. Parking is not too far away by a grove of trees and it is a pleasant, relatively level walk up to the Chateau. On our way to the Chateau we had the bonus experience of a car show displaying great antique French cars. This Chateau is a nice contrast to the other, more rugged, fortress type of chateaux.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Grand History. Well preserved castle. Different style from the medieval castles built on cliffs along the river Dordogne at the time where part of the river Dordogne was a border between England run by HenryII husband of Alienor d'Aquitaine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty, small”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I enjoyed my visit to this small chateau, especially the pretty drive there...but for 8.50 EUR it is expensive, and not much to see. Best views are from below, which you can see without entering. I wish I would have saved the money for something else...but it is a nice chateau to look at. Beautiful area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieChristineFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Chateau de Fenelon also viewed

 
Castelnaud-la-Chapelle, Dordogne
Castelnaud-la-Chapelle, Dordogne
 

Been to Le Chateau de Fenelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing