We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
chrisn37
Christchurch, United Kingdom

Our home away from home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Nov 2011
We have been. Coming here for 5 years and now feel like part of the 'family'. The charming resort is an oasis of peace and tranquility. I write this as in sit on the veranda of our traditional Thai bungalow crafted from luxurious teak, a gentle breeze is cooling the air and all Incan hear is the faint sound of the birds. We have just finished our sumptuous 'international breakfast' but as my wife is Thai we sometimes ask for a more traditional meal, a which is never too much trouble. The staff are our friends now and we often exchange stories of ourselves activities between visits and now always book direct through the resort, which always makes us feel special. Nothing is too much trouble here and anything you require can be found for you and the day is always ended with a firm but relaxing Thai massage from Nong. Without doubt one of the best resorts we have ever stayed at and we definately recommend a visit.
Date of stay: April 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    £94
  • Vio.com
    £144
0.3 miles from Baan Duangkaew Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    £50
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Baan Duangkaew Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    £153
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from Baan Duangkaew Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
£50
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    £50
0.3 miles from Baan Duangkaew Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £62
  • Priceline
    £64
0.7 miles from Baan Duangkaew Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £68
  • Priceline
    £102
0.2 miles from Baan Duangkaew Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Drone shot of the exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £45
  • Priceline
    £50
1.4 miles from Baan Duangkaew Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    £30
  • Priceline
    £43
1.0 miles from Baan Duangkaew Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    £48
  • Expedia.com
    £64
0.6 miles from Baan Duangkaew Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nong Kae
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
139
88
23
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
139
88
23
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful oasis weekend night visiting hua hin town centre short drive low tide easy access quiet location thai food khao takiab pools tamarind chalet thailand proximity pros laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Was having a Bangkok weekend getaway here. The beach is around 100 m. from the resort. As you may know, Hua Hin is not the cleanest one so we gave up and choose to stay in our cosy little cottage. Every wooden cottage is facing the cobalt blue pool and there are quite a bit of green palm trees right in the front of your porch which keeps your cottage private. The room is a bit old but they keep in the good condition thought the air con is a bit too old and the sound would keep your company all night. The breakfast is not their strength and I heard the owner were training her staff her idea of western food which was rather strange.

There is a very cute weekend night market just right next to the resort, just only 1-2 mins walk from the resort for some delicious outdoor food court (grilled pork and the fresh rice duck filled noodle YUM!!), local handmade crafts and traditional Thai shows.

Ideal place to getaway from busy life in BKK for a day or two.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dearsaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2011

came here after a disaterous 3 nights at the mantra hotel(have wrote a review on this too).really cute cottages, looking out onto the pool.decor a bit tired, was cleaned good every morning though.staff helpful(the air con was so loud, you couldnt sleep, it was an old type, right next too the bed), again a huge language barrier one receptionist spoke a bit better english than others.breakfast was dreadful, little choice(no cereal at all..no yoghurts)tiny portions of a cooked breakfast, breakfast room very scruffy and needed a good clean.also,there is a wee restaurant in the same room at night(never tried it), and they would put out things for breakfasts like chicken wings and prawn wontons!!!very quiet in the week, gets busier weekends, lots of thai guests then..i think it mostly caters for thai folk.

Room tip: rooms all the same detached wee cottages, don thai style.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lunarsqueak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I highly recommend Baan Duangkaew for a relaxing stay away from the noise and bars in Hua Hin. The Bungalows are nice and clean, not too fancy. There are a lot of trees and flowers so you are living in a garden. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Twice a day there's a shuttlebus to Hua Hin, but you can always take a tuk tuk for only 4 euros - 7 min. and you are in town. In the weekends there is a very good marked right next to the hotel. Relax and enjoy!

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C_Olsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Two main problems with this resort.
The mosquites are a real problem and unlike many other hotels in this area there are no mossie nets over the beds.

The breakfast is really poor and the restaurant is a really dreary down market place out of place in this nice resort setting.

Also the beach is stated as being 100m away ........... well if a wet patch of sand at low tide is a beach then this is true!

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HumptyNumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Overall I enjoyed my 9 day stay here, the staff were really friendly and tried to make my stay a good one and in this they succeeded, the place was a wee bit hard to find and directions could have been better. I really liked the location of the hotel as its at the quiet end of the road and only 100 yards from the magnificent Hua Hin beach, the rooms were spotless though lacked some of the facilities I would have expected as this is at the pricier end of the 3 star range and to be honest in Thailand I've had better for less.

The water temperature is indeed sporadic and the shower area and toilet whilst adequate is badly in need of a revamp. The TV is not worth having and the channels and reception severely lacking, before anyone jumps on this saying "you don't go to Thailand to watch TV" you're right, I don't, but being the place it is now and again you get trapped in your room either because of the weather, being ill, or you have young children, so I consider this a necessity. The wireless internet was also sporadic in nature and slow.

My major issue; Breakfast was reasonable but at no time was the food covered in this open area despite the flying insect problem, I did mention this in the guest critique.

Would I stay there again? Due to the location and friendliness of the staff definetly yes. It felt like home for my stay and the short access to the beach was a bonus. None of the above spoiled anything for me and I merely use these as observations rather than complaints, these are all minor things which can be easily resolved should the management take the appropriate action.

Date of stay: June 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank peterwrightRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews