We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to 'get away from it all!'”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bergerie

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Montaigu-de-Quercy, Tarn-et-Garonne, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
judyindis...
England
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect place to 'get away from it all!'”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This property is the perfect antidote to the stresses of modern life! The accommodation is charming and made for a lovely romantic getaway, even for us 'middle aged' travellers . The pool was a welcome relief when the weather got very hot and most of the time we had it to ourselves. We made a few trips out to local villages but we loved coming back to the Bergerie to cook or barbeque and relax with a bottle of wine in the evening. It is,however, close enough to walk into the local village to visit a bar or restaurant. We used the bikes provided to cycle into the village and we also went for a lovely walk during our stay. Joelle and Jean-Marie were brilliant hosts and made us feel very welcome. They obviously enjoy sharing their beautiful home with others and invited us to join them for aperitifs one evening and a pizza party on another evening along with two other guests. We had a wonderful time. They are great conversationalists and were very patient with our poor attempts at speaking French! We did not feel under any obligation to join in and I'm sure they would have been perfectly happy if we had declined their kind offer and done our own thing. We don't usually return to a holiday place but I might make an exception in this case!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility and the delightful owners.
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carla-fra...
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was probably one of the most peaceful and relaxing vacations I have had in a long time.

We were warmly welcomed after the long 13 hour drive from the Netherlands with a refreshingly cold beer and chat by the pool.

The cottage is charming upon entry, light and airy. There was a freshly baked walnut cake on the counter to welcome us, made from one of the walnut trees on the property.

Furnishings are simple, yet completely in character with the cottage and location.

To the back of the cottage there is a deck over a babbling brook with table, chairs and a BBQ, this deck over looks the pastures where in the morning and evening you may find a few inquisitive sheep grazing close by.

To the front of the cottage there is a communal swimming pool, clean, cool and refreshing on a warm summer day, as well as various tables, chairs and a gazebo for relaxation.

What I loved most about this cottage were all of the little windows through out (even one inside the shower so that you can gaze out into the pastures and grazing sheep while showering.).

Our hosts, Joelle and Jean-Marie were lovely people and were always available to offer us tips on where to go, what to see and to answer any questions we may of had. There are many beautiful villages worth visiting nearby, our two favorites when we ventured out were Montcuq and Lauzerte.

On our last morning we were invited to join them for a French country breakfast in their home before departure.

As I mention in my review title, this was really a little piece of heaven on earth. Peaceful, Quiet and Serene, a place to relax and enjoy the silence of nature.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheep that joined us for dinner and drinks each evening when we sat outside!
Liked least: The wasps.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain-S...
Gif Sur Yvette
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2018
Merci Sylvain .
Quand vous passerez à Cahors avec Sylvie, faites nous signe car je vous dois un resto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flash0141
St Chamas, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: le gîte en lui-même, les hôtes, le cadre
Liked least: un peu éloigné mais ce n'est pas très grave
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siogo
orleans
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nos hôtes
Liked least: la météo exceptionnelle
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing