We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage de Bois Nalbert
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage de Bois Nalbert
Kitchen View from the lake jetty to the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Cottage de Bois Nalbert
Kitchen
View from the lake jetty to the cottage
Double bedroom with en suite
Twin bedroom with en-suite
View from the pool of fenced cattle
Medieval bridge at Parthenay
View of lake from the jetty (Winter)
Parthenay from the ramparts
Apple week at Secondigny
The lake in the spring
Master bedroom
Swimming pool terrace
From the cottage lake with BBQ
Spacious swimming pool area
Swimming pool With steps. (40 ft by 20ft)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Secondigny, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
trij2015
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks (end June, early July) and had the most relaxing holiday you could wish for. The cottage is in a spectacular location with the lake and all the wildlife it attracts and it was just so peaceful.
The cottage has all you would want, two en-suite bedrooms with great showers and the living area is really spacious and airy and very sociable having it all as one large area. If you like to watch tv, there's a great tv with lots of channels including all the UK channels.
The outside area is perfect with the terrace, barbeque by the lake and the really beautiful, large and well-kept swimming pool. It's just lovely to sit by the lake in the evening and watch out for wildlife.
John, the owner, was in the main house for the duration of our stay and was extremely welcoming and helpful but still allowed complete privacy. There was a much appreciated welcome pack on arrival.
Although extremely rural, Secondigny is within easy reach and has a great supermarket where you can get all you need and there are several local markets (we went to Parthenay and Bressuire) where you can get great food.
We had our dog with us who thought she'd arrived in heaven, with her very own lake to swim in every day. It's a great place to bring a dog as everywhere we went was very pet-friendly. There's a forest a 15 minute drive away with miles and miles of walking routes although the dog was very reluctant to leave the lake even for this treat.
The perfect holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We a pleased that you enjoyed your holiday. We hope to see you again in France or perhap in one of our cottages in Cornwall in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waweja
Fountain, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“So relaxing!”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I had a very relaxing holiday at Le Cottage de Bois Nalbert. I have read the review from David S (June 2015) and I cannot believe he was talking about the same place! We stayed there in September 2015 and found the cottage clean and fresh with towels provided. There was a welcome pack including tea, coffee, wine and beer! Very nice! The wifi was slower than at home but it is a rural area so it is to be expected. We loved the lake and the pool, perfect for lazy sunny days. We would highly recommend it and hope to book again soon! Thanks for a great place to stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thank you for you kind comments. We hope to see you again perhaps in England next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Awful. Dirty. Just don't do it!”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I would completely agree with the that last post. The house needs a good clean, it's dirty and dusty. The wifi is slow to non existent, but above and beyond all that is the mass of flys. It's just overwhelming. There is fly paper tacked to the rafters from pervious people covered in hundreds of flys. It's just awful. We left a day early as it was just too much. Two weeks after departure we had a call from the owners demanding money for damages, despite other guests being in after we left. We were forced to pay over a hundred pounds. They even tracked down family via work numbers and harassed them when we refused to pay. It ruined our holiday.

We didn't damage anything!!! They just got iffy as our dog jumped in the pool in font of the gardener. I'm a seasoned reviewer on trip adviser. Level 5 contributor, that's to say I'm in the top 1%.

I'd never go back. And never recommend this place to anyone. One to be avoided. The owners are just vile and out to extract money from you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
We have thought long and hard before replying to this review as we were appalled by both the untrue comments and personal remarks which in 15years of running holiday accommodation had never before been encountered.
Mr David S stayed at our cottage in rural France over 10 months ago, he arrived 5.5 hours prior to a normal check in time without prior notification and gained entry via the key coded box, when the cleaning team arrived at 10 am he was sitting on the patio eating breakfast.
When they arrived they were not able to do a a full deep clean as he was preparing and eating a meal, had we known in advance what time to expect him we would have ensured that the cottage was ready.
We are a small family run business and we pride ourselves on our friendly nothing is too much trouble approach, the accusations of demands for money and personal insults are extremely offensive and upsetting.
We understand and accept that accidents happen and sometimes items are broken and when notified think nothing of replacing them without passing on any cost to our guest thus ensuring the cottage is fully equipped for the following guest,this is part and parcel of owning and running holiday accommodation.
However, we do not expect to find our property in the worst condition our cleaners had ever seen, piles of dirty crockery and cutlery and black bags of rubbish along with congealed and rotting foods, nor do we expect a guest to allow his Rottweiler dog in the pool and beds resulting in a chewed Lloyd loom blanket box and a sheet ripped in half.We politely requested the cost of replacing the items and extra cleaning required sending an itemised bill amounting to £96.50, we also forwarded the photos taken at the time and were reimbursed the full cost requested.
The check out time is 10 am to allow for the cleaning staff to prepare for the following guests but when they arrived at 12.00 ,as the earlier time was not convenient for Mr S ,on the expected day of departure , not a day earlier,the oven was warm and food congealing on the plates with rubbish left everywhere.

We have noted the comment about the Wi Fi and have boosted the signal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderfull seculded with a great pool”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week in this secluded gite with my wife and 13 year old daughter. We were welcomed by an unexpected 'welcome pack' and the gite itself is a delight, sitting on the banks of a large lake and with an excellently kept pool with crystal clear water. While the gite is secluded there is ample to do and the highlights for us were a visit to Puy du Fou and the aerial tree course at 'Forest Park'.

On the negative side, we initially had problems with WiFi as the repeater had been knocked out due to a recent storm, but John organised someone to visit the morning after our arrival that resolved the problem. We also thought the overall cleanliness of the property was poor, what it really needs is a good spring clean. Cupboards in particular were dirty and there were numerous cobwebs, including between the bed and the wall. The other issue was the quality of some of the bedding, that had a musty smell, and towels, one of which was so threadbare there was a hole in it. All this could be quickly sorted, so shouldn't detract from the overall appeal of the gite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay ,it is a shame that you did not tell us about a cleanliness problem when you e mailed a few hours after you arrived re intermittent wifi as we would have sorted it immediately as we did the wifi.Our cleaner was on holiday and her repllacement will not be used again, bed linens and towels are replaced each season and the cottage had a thorough spring clean at the start of the season, floors are steam mopped each change in addition to the usual cleaning schedule so we apologise if it was not up to standard .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna M
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely getaway in rural France with a fabulous pool!”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From our initial booking to the time we left, the owner (John) couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. John welcomed us on our first day and checked we were ok throughout our stay without being at all intrusive.

We were holidaying as a couple with our dog (Nelson) in an area where other family members were also staying and there was absolutely no problem in them all joining us for a day at the pool which, by the way, was clean, well maintained and huge! There was plenty of room to accommodate everyone (8 of us) both inside the cottage and around the pool - the BBQ came in very handy during our stay and Nelson LOVED cooling off in the fabulous lake alongside the cottage!

We were joined by another couple of family members for our last 2 nights and it was great to have both bedrooms with their own en-suite facilities. The kitchen had everything we needed in terms of appliances and the beds were very comfortable.

This was a great place for us as it was close to where friends and family live/stay and the nearby lake at Secondigny was another good place to walk Nelson. Secondigny also had a large supermarket and other useful amenities.

Do bear in mind that this is rural France - we enjoyed very hot and sunny days, but also had to endure the flies and ants that come with that, - although that's been the same in other places we've stayed too, so that's no reflection on this particular cottage!

We would definitely return and hope to do so again next year. THANK YOU John for making us all so welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous pool
Liked least: The flies!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to meet you all, the pool had just been landscaped so glad you had lots of room with your family and Nelson certainly enjoyed the lake.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic cottage in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a really great time at the cottage and are sorry to have had to leave. The cottage itself gives you all you need on holiday - the two bedrooms are a good size (and with comfortable beds), and both are en-suite with decent showers; the kitchen area is well-equipped and the lounge area spacious, with free-view UK tv. But what really made it for us was the large swimming pool and especially the private fishing lake and lakeside BBQ. It really is a wonderful setting that must surely be fairly unique in a holiday let. The wider area too is just beautiful, and for such a remote location there are a surprising number of activities available (our own favourites were go-karting and kayaking), and provided a great backdrop for more home-made activities such as walking, cycling and running. We were surprised by some local wildlife while we were there, but they turned out to be no more than dormice, and the owners were very quick to help us tackle them. Overall, just a great place to get away from it all (and the wifi available by the swimming pool - a bonus since it was not advertised - just enough to keep you in touch with the rest of the world!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private lake
Liked least: The dormice!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A relaxing break in the Deux Sevres”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Bois Nalbert for one week in July 2014. The cottage was clean , comfortable and which we liked all on one level. It had a private fishing lake where my husband spent many hours - sadly no fish were biting! There was also a large freshwater pool (for our sole use) which was located in the grounds of the owner's manor house. The access would be difficult for people with reduced mobility as you needed to climb a bank! The area was peaceful and there was an excellent restaurant "Le Relais des Saveurs" 3 mins away by car. There was a a Super U at Secondigny - 15 mins by car which was open on Sunday mornings. Unfortunately the weather wasn't very kind to us and we didn't make use of the pool, but it is certainly a lovely cottage if you want a peaceful relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fishing Lake
Liked least: No internet access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing