We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A nice place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maison George

Maison George
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maison George
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Maison George
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Dining area
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Lounge through the window
Bathroom
Hallway to lounge/kitchen
Bathroom
Garden
Garden
Garden
Patio
Garden
Two tier garden
Local gastronomic restaurant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Curzon, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
biglion67...
Bristol, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We found the descriptions given in previous reviews to be correct. Enjoyed our stay and if visiting this part of France again would be very happy to vacation in Maison George again.

Two minor criticisms which in no way affected our enjoyment:
* the exterior wall of the villa facing the garden is in need of a paint or clean to get rid of black stains/mould, particularly noticeable where it meets the patio.
* the garden lawn is in poor condition with more weed than grass.

.......but as I said this did not cause any problems and we loved eating our meals on the sunny patio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the accommodation and sunny garden.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil K
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful property and good location”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Maison George is a superb property, which is fully equipped for six people and offered in excellent condition.

The property is located in a charming small village and is ideally situated for exploring the Vandee and coast.

The owners handled our booking very efficiently and were a pleasure to deal with,

We have rented a number of properties in France over the past 10 years and Maison George certainly sits up there with the best of them.

Excellent - would highly recommend it!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it's much appreciated. We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay in Maison George and we hope that we can welcome you back some time! Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dai-derby...
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“one of the best holiday cottages we've rented”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Maison George more than lives up to it's description - good quality furnishings and equipment, very well maintained
Neil Brannigan lives a short distance away and provides excellent support - there when you need him but not intrusive when you don't; he also provided bespoke, hand-written recommendations for places to visit in the surrounding area based on our initial chat with him on arrival - we followed his recommendations and they were excellent
although Curzon village doesn't have any facilities itself there are bars, restaurants and shops within a few minutes drive (I wouldn't recommend walking as there are few footpaths and the local drivers seem to pay scant attention to speed limits!)
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a base to visit the area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the light, airy lounge which opens onto the rear garden
Liked least: the usual flying insects (that you get in most French country locations)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review! We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay in Maison George. Hopefully we can help you again on another occasion. Best wishes, Antony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful back garden
Liked least: The low sunchairs
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, we're really glad that you enjoyed both of your visits to Maison George!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tibby75
Juziers, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Please come back again soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry C
Meaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: La tranquilité
Liked least: Le manque de sèche linge et de lave vaisselle
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing