We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting, extremely we'll equipped gite...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Lairoux, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Smiler181...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful setting, extremely we'll equipped gite, including heated pool, games room, gym & veggie patch”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely spacious, well equipped gite. The kids loved the heated pool & the games room. Annette & Jason were perfect hosts, giving great advice on where to visit & eat. We made great use of the well stocked veggie & fruit patch & enjoyed all the local wildlife. The village itself was very quiet but only a 30 min drive to the nearest beach. Poy du fou the nearest theme park is incredible, well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heated pool
Liked least: The distance to the beach
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NNoodlesL...
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A vendee gem!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our 3rd stay at Maison Lairoux and we had such a great time with wonderful memories. Clean, well equipped and great views from the house over the vendee with fresh tomatoes, pears and Annette's home made strawberry jam from the garden below. There is a brilliant well maintained swimming pool with fabulous views, loungers for relaxing whilst the kids splash about and even lights for a late night dip which the kids adored! The playroom is so well stocked with great table tennis table and the xbox was great for that rainy day! recommend a trip to isle d'aix by ferry from la rochelle which is also beautiful. The beaches nearby are amazing (car is essential) - annette and jason give great pointers on where to go to find the best spots (thank you both!). One of our kids celebrated his 8th birthday there very happily (thank you Annette for the delicious bday cake and little party!). A brilliant holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann F
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation and facilities, wonderful hosts, would highly recommend.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is the third time that we have stayed at this location and we have already booked again for next year! The house is fantastic for a family of five, with good sized bedrooms, two excellent bathrooms, a large very well-equipped kitchen and a lounge with TV (English channels), DVD etc. Free wifi certainly appeals to my teenagers! The swimming pool is superb, great games room and excellent gym. There is also a lovely large garden with wonderful fruit and veg. The views across the valley are lovely, with breathtakingly beautiful sunsets. The owners - our hosts - are friendly and welcoming and we enjoy chats, wine and BBQs with them. Nothing is too much trouble. Wonderful local beaches - sandy and great for body boarding - are a short drive away and all the equipment that you need is available to borrow from the games room. There is a great deal to see and do in the area, appealing to all ages and interests. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamal
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation in the country!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Quiet location in the country with access to pool and gym. Close proximity to various attractions, supermarkets and sea. In addition, the hosts are very social and helpful in every way. The house is well planned and there are also patio.
We can really recommend this place and are pleased to return more times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet countryside location with close proximity to various attractions
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic holiday in a wonderful family-friendly accommodation”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our second stay at Le Vieux Cafe and we can't wait to go back a third time!! The accommodation is second to none and has absolutely anything and everything you would want during your stay. We have two small children and the house caters for their needs as well as the adults.
The pool is probably the best one of any place we have stayed previously, and with that and the games room (including all the books, toys and dvds) you really don't need to move away from the house.
Annette and Jason are wonderful hosts and are always helpful and welcoming if you need help or advice with anything.
We had a fantastic holiday and would definitely reccommend a stay here to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the family games room were the highlights
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday in the Vendee”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have stayed in a number of holiday gites in France and in the UK and our stay in Le Vieux cafe was one of the best holidays we have had. The Le Vieux Cafe is very well equipped with no need to bring anything from home. All the rooms are large, light and airy with comfortable beds and plenty of space to store your clothes. Even a laptop is available with WiFi. You don't have to miss any favourite TV programmes as English channels are available.

The swimming pool is heated and is kept very clean, the area around the pool is very spacious, a lovely place to sit on sunny days.

An added bonus is a well equipped gym with a running machine, rowing machine, weights, and exercise mats. There is also a games room where you can play table tennis, and there are a number of DVD's and books to stop the children getting bored if the weather is bad.

Our hosts Annette and Jason made us very welcome, we enjoyed our holiday so much this year we have booked another holiday in their gite for another two weeks next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A very relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Weather could have been a bit better.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tizkirsty
North Tawton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for kids and all the family”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This property is very well placed - close to beaches and lots of interesting places to visit. We went on holiday with our five children (from age 3 to 15) plus the grandparents - fun for all the family. I was pleasantly surprised how well the property is stocked with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen and the owners would find you whatever you needed if you were to ask. Jason even lent us his telescope! (very clear/dark skys) Fantastic games room amazing DVD/book library. Swimming pool was clean and warm every day. Can't thank our hosts enough for making our stay such a pleasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing