We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Escapism”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Lairoux, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Tourist79...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Escapism”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We chose this gite on recommendation from trip advisor and we were not disappointed.
The gite has everything you could need for a relaxing holiday including BBQ, heated pool, games room for the children, English tv channels if you can tear yourself away from the gorgeous country views over the pool whilst eating on the private patio. Jason and Annette were such a pleasure and couldn't have been more helpful. The village was close to supermarkets and beaches just 20 mins drive. We were lucky to have fab weather - all in all a stunning week away that we will not forget. We will return for sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee D
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday gite”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This gite is fabulous, it has all the amenities you need. It has fantastic far reaching views of the countryside. There is a lovely large heated pool with plenty of room to relax around. Sitting outside the gite with dinner and a glass of wine taking in the views was just so relaxing. We were privileged to see a stork and owls fly over, together with some hedgehogs eating their dinner. The area has some lovely beaches. The hosts Annette and Jason are friendly and treat you like visiting friends. We loved our visit and will return and recommend it wholeheartedly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Thanks for the great review! Look forward to seeing you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaypee14
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic peaceful location”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have returned for the 6th time - this time for 2 weeks. It’s been very peaceful as the house opposite (Le Vieux Café) was unoccupied. We have had a thoroughly good time. Watched fireworks from afar on the 14th July, then had a couple of storms - one we watched with our hosts. Annette & Jason laid on a lovely BBQ and the next night we went to Le Teq Bowling.
We have been boating at Apremont and also at the Embarcarderie de l’Abbaye at Maillezais. Kids have been paddle boarding at St Benoist sur Mer. Tried the Chocolate Museum at La Roche sur Yon - yummy.
We have enjoyed our 1st 2 weeks here so have booked 2 weeks again next year. Merci Beaucoup Annette & Jason. Just Bliss doing very little!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahU76
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in a great location”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at L'Ecurie for one week and had a wonderful holiday. Annette and Jason were very helpful and the accommodation had everything you could need. The pool was lovely and both kids loved the games room too. The location is ideal, with beaches only a 15-20 minute drive and lots of attractions nearby. We would definitely recommend and would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna L
2 reviews
“An excellent, well fitted out gite with great pool area.”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

L'Ecurie is a lovely gite. Very well fitted out, with everything you could possibly need & more. The games room & pool are great, providing hours of entertainment. There is lots to do in the area, including visits to Puy du Fou and the Indian Forest Adventure Parc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Welwyn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful countryside, lots of flora and fauna to see and combined with a lovely holiday home.”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just enjoyed a glorious week at Maison Lairoux in the Vendee. What a lovely spot, the Gite was just perfect with great facilities, beautifully appointed, a heated swimming pool and everything you could want in a holiday cottage. The Gite enjoys a great position overlooking the Marais and is teeming with wildlife. There are storks to be seen perched on their nests, swans and we saw a couple of coypu swimming: we had thought they were beavers but not so. The sounds of birds are everywhere including Hoopoe, Golden Orioles as well as finches and tits. We brought our bikes here and this is lovely cycling country, flat with quiet roads and great little restaurants and bars nearby. The beaches at Aiguillon sur Mer and Faut sur Mer are great with lots of friendly bars and restaurants. Gosh this week has flown by and we hope to return soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Many thanks for leaving such a nice review! Everyone who stays in L'Ecurie at Maison Lairoux loves the view from the terrace and the lovely country lanes - for cycling and walking.
We're glad that you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles V
1 review
“Wonderfull getaway in France”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

L'Ecurie holiday home in Larouix.the welcome was First class with the owners Annette and Jason greeting us after a long drive.made the start of our holiday break great. The home was very comfortable and inviting,with a bottle of wine and chocolates on the table.certainly made it home from home.the home was very well equipped.from a teaspoon up to the clean and fresh bed linen. the only thing we found was that extra hand towels would have been better as only one hand towel between our 4 people.the out look from the home was lovely also the weather.was great. Our dog Poppy (who is on Facebook of this holiday Home Masion really enjoyed the large garden.the pool looked very inviting but was not open due to us being early for the season.the selection of games dvds and books etc.was really eye opening.too many to choice all available to use free along with the laptop and the wifi connection.and French and English tv.we are certainly planning a return trip longer than a week next time Cannot wait.THANKS TO THE OWNERS ANNETTE and JASON.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Many thanks for your great review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
A selection of hand and tea towels are available in the cupboard under the sink in the bathroom or one of the drawers in the kitchen. I'll point them out for your next visit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing