We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late arrivals, eighteen of us, we were well cared for.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour Inn

The Harbour Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Annalong
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a pub with a restaurant on the harbour in the village of Annalong, Co Down
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Late arrivals, eighteen of us, we were well cared for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We, a hungry party of eighteen (18), arrived virtually unannounced, just after 4 pm on Saturday afternoon. From the very start we were well looked after by the staff and our orders were quickly taken from the reasonably substantial menu. Due the fact that we had all been on a classic car run in the surrounding area, with plenty of tea stops throughout the day, we were only interested in a main course. Most of us either went for the Battered Haddock served with Mushy Peas, Chips and Side Salad, Battered Scampi with the usual sides, Breaded Plaice or the Harbour Inn Steak Burger served with sweetcorn relish, onion rings and the normal extras. There was certainly plenty of variety in the menu but most of us wished fish that afternoon. These were very quickly brought to our two tables - they had kindly put us all together - virtually all at the one time, except for the odd portion of chips. At a cost of around £9 each we were well pleased that we called at the Harbour Inn and should we be in the area as individuals I'm sure that we will make a point to dine there again - well done to all the staff a fitting end to our day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank HeatherandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    47
    20
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having decided to attend here for Sunday Carvey with my family we were advised to book. Glad we did as they were very busy plus added bonus we got a window seat.

Staff were very friendly and helpful for such a busy restaurant.

Carvey was excellent. Chefs all looking very smart and very helpful.

Having enjoyed the meal so much we have now booked for Christmas and so looking forward to it.

Keep up the good work.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkeel, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers it was definately not”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I ate in the restaurant last night the food was Excellent the staff were very polite helpful and efficient we would recommend the bar restaurant to all our friends.a round of applause to the chef .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bigpete752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We ate here a couple of weeks ago with our Canadian visitors on a Wednesday early evening. We were extremely impressed by the lovely surroundings, the staff who were friendly and efficient, and were delighted with a very good standard of food for the price. I do hope that the standard of service and quality of food is consistent - our Canadian visitors want to return on holiday again and visit again so hope all remains as good as it is now! Will keep my eye on Trip Advisor!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jud24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good grub that doesn't break the bank!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Four of us OAPs arrived, without booking, for lunch today. The view of the harbour, from most tables, with it's fishing boats and old water wheel, was very picturesque. We were well attended and the choice on the menu was nicely balanced. Two of us chose Scampi and chips, one chose the special which was gammon egg and chips, all served with side salad, and the last asked for a main course of fried crab claws in chilli sauce which was a starter on the menu. No problems with this. All orders were taken and delivered within 15 mins. Drinks available were varied and when ordered, delivered to the table in 5 minutes. Quality and quantity of food was excellent. Large portions! All agreed that the chips served were the best they'd tasted for a very long time. The puddings/sweets choice was good and once again the quality and quantity served was excellent, (Carrot cake, Chocolate fudge, creme brule) as was the coffee. Cost worked out at about £15 per head including one round of drinks. All agreed it was the best lunch out we had had out for ages and compliments were sent to the Chef. Only dropped one star because of a dirty fork and no tool available to get the meat out of the claws. (But a tooth pick, on request, did the job ok.) Thank you. We'll be back!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Harbour Inn also viewed

 
Dundrum, County Down
 
Annalong, Kilkeel
 

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing