We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Turismo de Trancoso
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trancoso
Pinhal Novo, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

For a business trip, the hotel has a good value-for-money rate, and is quite confortable. The heated pool turns into a very pleasant end-of-the-day activity, ant the restaurant is very adequate, considering the cold weather in Trancoso, specialy in the winter.

The less I can refere is of the decoration which, being minimalist and cold, isn't quite welcomming.

There are some maintenance issues, that they have been resolving. I stay at this hotel several days a year, and it's been getting better day by day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia_Pinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    40
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
40
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were here for two nights with a tour group. I don't know how this hotel got a 4-star rating. The ultramodern design and furnishings did not lend to a comfortable feeling. We had a basic room with king bed and a very hard, uncomfortable mattress. Even after being exhausted from touring, I had problems sleeping, and got up in the morning aching all over. There were a small vanity, small chest, night tables, small closet, small table and two unpadded chairs.. There was a minibar and a safe that didn't work. (Others in our group also complained that their safes did not work.) There was a very small wall-mounted TV - the only English-language channel being Sky News. The room had adequate lighting.

The bathroom had a tub/shower combo and big towels, which, unfortunately, weren't very soft. There were some toiletries and a hair dryer.

Walls were thin, and we could hear sounds from the hallway and neighboring rooms.

The dining room was nice, but the breakfast buffet was mediocre.

There was one small elevator for the hotel, and it was extremely slow.

Service was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisboa
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel has conditions to be very good but with poor maintenance, almost no staff even at the reception and an extra bed not even suitable for dogs (that we had to pay anyway) makes us wonder.. What a pity! Very very expensive for what was presented. A 4 star hotel? It can only be a joke! The lovely city of Trancoso deserves a much better hotel! Avoid...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miguel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights on a trip round Portugal from New Zealand. The Manager, Mr Cerveira, was extremely welcoming and helpful in recommending places to visit and really looked after us during our stay. Don't be put off by the rather sterile-looking exterior of the hotel - an odd choice of design for the area that it is in, that's all - as the rooms are large, as are the bathrooms, the heating works well (we needed it as it was really cold and wet the entire time) and the staff welcoming. The breakfast was included and there was plenty of it. We ended up eating at the hotel restaurant on two of the nights as well and the food was well priced and very good. Our room had a balcony overlooking the back area where the indoor pool is situated. The pool was very warm and there is also a little gym. The room was kept spotlessly clean the entire time, and although the rooms look a little bare, they are comfortable and warm. Free parking, a safe in the room and free WiFi everywhere were also a bonus for us. It is only a 10 minute walk from the walled old town and we found the location was just fine,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trancoso
15.3 mi away
Longroiva Hotel Rural
10.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta dos Cedros
Hotel Quinta dos Cedros
#1 of 1 in Celorico da Beira
23 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Lusitania
Hotel Lusitania
#2 of 8 in Guarda
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hotel Santos
Hotel Santos
#1 of 8 in Guarda
241 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hospedaria do Convento
Hospedaria do Convento
#2 of 2 in Figueira de Castelo Rodrigo
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Sao Bartolomeu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turismo de Trancoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turismo de Trancoso

Property: Hotel Turismo de Trancoso
Address: Rua Professora Irene Avilez, Trancoso 6420-227, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Guarda District > Trancoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trancoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Turismo de Trancoso 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Turismo de Trancoso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing