We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best fish suppers...”
Review of Central Cafe

Central Cafe
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Whithorn
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply the best fish suppers...”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

This is always our first port of call when visiting the area. We always carry out. The fish is freshly cooked, decent sized and delicious. You usually have a 5 to 10 minute wait as everything is cooked tp order. It's worth the wait! Chips are tasty and non greasy. Would definately recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mint a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had no idea what to expect but it turned out to be the best fish and chips we have ever had in Scotland and possibly the best ever. Incredible! Ice cream was fantastic too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland/Portugal
Level Contributor
232 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Chippie”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The best chippy around! Lots of other great snacks too and icecream in cones to take away. A good spot to chat before exploring further

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gavScotland_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and chips and yummy vanilla ice cream too”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Our group of 6 all had the fish and chips and we all enjoyed them. The seating area holds 4 tables for 4 but another kind diner moved so we could all eat together. The chips are hand cut and tasty. The fish tasted fresh and the portion size was good. Two of us came back later in the day to sample the vanilla ice cream and really enjoyed it. The staff were cheerful.
There is no bathroom so everyone had to pop down the street which could be a nuisance with a young family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Cafe also viewed

Whithorn, Dumfries and Galloway
Garlieston, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Whithorn, Dumfries and Galloway
Whithorn, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Sorbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Central Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing