We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, welcoming and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
a well fitted kitchen area with granite worktops and even a dishwasher. All modern appliances
Relax in the walk in shower with its 'rainhead' showerhead.Organic cotton towels are inclu
Lots of storage in the double bedroom and a second wall mounted flat screen tv. Organic bed linen
Designer vanity area with feature mirror. Stylish heated towel rail for the fluffy towels
Paxton House, on the banks of the Tweed is five minutes walk from the cottage
The garden, 25 yards from the cottage, is a real sun trap in the summer. BBQ is provided
The new water feature is vert restful when sitting in the secluded garden
There are two rivers within walking distance of Tweed Cottage. Great for the dog
Welcome basket for all guests
Coldingham bay is only fifteen minutes drive.away, or go to Eyemouth and see the fish landed
The Holy Island of Lindisfarne is a 'must' on your visit to the area.
Walk the Northumberland or the Berwickshire Coast lines and see the birds.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Paxton, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judith N
1 review
“Excellent, welcoming and comfortable”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Nice location
Very comfortable and well furnished and provided for.
Welcome basket was a lovely touch

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Thanks so much for your really kind comments. we're just about to re-do the little garden ready for the warmer weather! Do hope you'll come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“small on the outside but all you need on the inside”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Christine always kept in touch during our stay but we were always out apart from our last night when she came to see how things were, a lovely personal touch.
Back to the cottage itself it has everything you need cooker ,microwave ,washing machine dishwasher large screen tv in living area and a smaller one in the en suite bedroom.
wi fi is also included.
the very clean and looked after cottage is ample for a couple ,we took our lab and he soon settled in ,the cottage has parking and a private garden but this is not adjacent to the cottage but not a problem. A welcome basket of local produce was most welcome to get you settled in and Berwick has ample shops and 2 supermarkets take aways and pubs, unfortunatley the cross in was closed during our stay but is to open soon .the village of Paxton is a quiet place and friendly too. are there any negatives? No , you even have basic house hold things available under the sink even though we took some too.
would we stay here again of course we would

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: the pub shut but nothing to do with the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Thanks so much for this generous review. New furniture and carpets has been put in since you stayed and the Cross Inn is just ready to open so Paxton is thriving as well as just a pretty village by the Tweed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Do come again. We welcome dogs and Tweed has new furniture now so is even more comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KevMc80
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted and more..”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a New Year break in Tweed Cottage, from start to finish we loved every minute. We were greeted by one of the very friendly owners Christine, who shared her knowledge of the area to help us enjoy walks around the quiet and very peaceful village of Paxton. It could benefit from a local shop, however Berwick is no more than a couple of minutes drive away with several shops and supermarkets so it's not such a problem. The welcome basket is a lovely touch, especially the homemade jam!! ;-) all in all we thoroughly enjoyed a quiet and very relaxing New Year, so much so we even stayed an extra night.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Do hope that you'll return. It was great to have you both at Tweed. Paxton is pretty and just above the great river so there's lots to do all through the year. Your comments are so kind!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowdrop...
Oxfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, well equiped cottage ideally situated for exploring the area.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Tweed Cottage. The owner was there to greet us when we arrived and was helpful in advising us where we could walk our dog. The cottage is for two people and was larger than we expected after reading some reviews. We didn't feel cramped even though we had a large dog with us. It was well furnished and decorated. As we walked in it felt very homely and welcoming.

The village pub was closed on the night we arrived but we had no problem finding somewhere else to eat. The Salmon in East Ord does very good food and allows dogs on the premises. We didn't try the food at the Cat Inn, on the A1 just to the south of Berwick, but they are happy to have dogs in the bar area wither you are eating or not. We did try the food in the local pub but found it too salty for our taste and didn't go back for a second meal.

If we visit the area again we would happily stay in Tweed Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combined cooker dishwasher. Never seen one before.
Liked least: The rain.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
so glad that you and the dog enjoyed the cottage and the area
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the public house
Liked least: not having a local shop to purchase a paper of emergency supplies
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding area and the booking dinner for us at the local pub on the night of our arrival.
Liked least: Nothing really. It's all good and as advertised
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;