We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 21:00
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Service, Friendly and Very Helpful People

I've had occasion to use Avoch harbour twice this year, the harbour master Gwyn has to be one of... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2018
A a
Excellent small boat fast.

Booked this small blue boat last Wednesday.We were out for an hour from Avoch harbour right round... read more

Reviewed 2 September 2018
William G
,
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Read all 181 reviews
  
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
148
21
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
21
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fort george saw dolphins boat trip chanonry point dolphin spotting experienced skipper dry sense of humour fantastic trip their natural habitat spot dolphins magical experience low tide small boat closer look local knowledge high speed pod of dolphins
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Can say that if your at Avoch the dolphin trips is a must to do. Gwyn goes out of his way to make sure you get a pleasant trip and( hopefully see the dolphins) which we did. It certainly made our holiday one to remember seeing the dolphins

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank heleloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula T, Manager at Dolphin Trips Avoch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you, we are pleased you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

After watching the dolphins from nearby Chanonry Point (1 hour after low tide as recommended) we decided to give this boat trip a go in order to extend our viewing. For us, the smaller boats with a more experienced skipper always seemed better than the bigger (packed out) touristy boats. This was again the case here and the trip couldn't be faulted.
Don't go for the expensive boats, this one is far more interesting, and fun
Despite appearances this boat is QUICK!
A fantastic experience thank you!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank AdrianCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

One of the top moments of our holiday in Avoch. Skipper very respectful of the dolphins' space, but frequently the dolphins chose to come to us.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We (2 adults + 3 children) enjoyed a great trip out this afternoon. We all enjoyed the fast, bouncy boat ride to and from the area the dolphins were feeding. Saw loads of dolphins, some close to the boat. Impressed with the skippers respect for the dolphins, moving slowly and considerately when near the dolphins. We got the impression the skipper really cared about the welfare of the dolphins which was excellent to see.

Also from booking to getting on boat was all very well organised.

Overall can’t fault our afternoon trip and highly recommend!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank doddsadoni78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Having seen dolphins earlier in the day on a walk at Chanonry Point, our 4 yr old daughter was keen to get a closer look so we stopped at Avoch on the off chance they could accommodate us which thankfully they could. The trip was absolutely amazing - our daughter was in peels of laughter as we bumped and splashed over the water at speed to get to the dolphin area (note to self: wear waterproof trousers if the Fifth is choppy as it was today). After much patient searching by the experienced Skipper we spotted the first of many dolphins not far from Fort George and spent a good amount of time calmly watching the many dolphins which graced us with their presence. We were completely unrushed, and it was a magical experience to be so very close to them in their natural habitat. The look of wonder on our daughter's face (which I suspect mirrored mine) was worth the very reasonable charge alone. This was a perfect no-frills experience and we will definitely be back. Trip Advisor needs to add a "beyond outstanding" rating for this one!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Moss_family2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews