We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful trip and extremly unfriendly skipper”

Dolphin Trips Avoch
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Avoch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We got the trip for our 9 year old daughter for her birthday. We did the trip and we haven't seen one single dolphin which was very very disappointing, especially for the expensive price. But not enough: the skipper was the most unfriendly person we ever met. He just said nothing after our return!!! Not one word although he knew that it should have been our birthday present for our daughter ON THE DAY of her birthday.. Therefore a not recommendable trip!!!! Take your money and buy yourself something nice instead!

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank Carmen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fort george"
in 15 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 13 reviews
"boat trip"
in 20 reviews
"chanonry point"
in 8 reviews
"dolphin spotting"
in 8 reviews
"experienced skipper"
in 4 reviews
"dry sense of humour"
in 3 reviews
"fantastic trip"
in 8 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 4 reviews
"spot dolphins"
in 3 reviews
"magical experience"
in 3 reviews
"low tide"
in 5 reviews
"small boat"
in 4 reviews
"closer look"
in 2 reviews
"local knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"high speed"
in 3 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018

Booked this small blue boat last Wednesday.We were out for an hour from Avoch harbour right round to Fort George and beyond,we managed to see lots of Dolphins then full speed back to harbour.There were 6 of us on this boat it can take 12.Cost £18.50 each.Remember seeing Dolphins is not guaranteed.The trip out from this picturesque harbour out to see Fort George from a sea angle ,well worth the money given to a local experienced skipper.After your trip take time to walk round Avoch.
This is a lovely coastline North of Inverness you can spend a great holiday here.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Although no dolphins were seen we understand this happens as they are wild animals. This was not the most disappointing aspect of the trip. The skipper was not informative and when he did speak no one could hear him. We learned nothing about dolphins or other wildlife and he was not engaging.
The following day our children were crabbing from his pontoon and despite there being no other boats or people and us moving when the boat came in he asked us to leave. Then when we moved to the harbour wall he asked us to move from there as well. The children were doing no harm and we felt this was unnecessary and he was very hostile.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank jazburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Can say that if your at Avoch the dolphin trips is a must to do. Gwyn goes out of his way to make sure you get a pleasant trip and( hopefully see the dolphins) which we did. It certainly made our holiday one to remember seeing the dolphins

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank heleloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula T, Manager at Dolphin Trips Avoch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you, we are pleased you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

After watching the dolphins from nearby Chanonry Point (1 hour after low tide as recommended) we decided to give this boat trip a go in order to extend our viewing. For us, the smaller boats with a more experienced skipper always seemed better than the bigger (packed out) touristy boats. This was again the case here and the trip couldn't be faulted.
Don't go for the expensive boats, this one is far more interesting, and fun
Despite appearances this boat is QUICK!
A fantastic experience thank you!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank AdrianCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Trips Avoch also viewed

Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Dolphin Trips Avoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing