We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic property in great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Avoch, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ray144
Forfar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic property in great location”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Tower House is set in a great location overlooking Avoch harbour and the converted church has been done to a high standard. Despite visiting during a cold spell, it was very comfortable and the feature upstairs sitting room with the log burner was a joy to be in. Great facilities and well equipped. Great for large parties with the number of WC/ showers available. The down stairs bedroom was perfect for my elderly mother as the spiral stairs can be challenging if often travelled however are a big part of the feel of the place. We were greeted by the owners and made to feel welcome, so many nooks and crannies to explore, all tastefully decorated and in sync with the house. A great information pack was provided and nice place to visit map in the library. We would love to come back again if we can and highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLathe
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Incredible house in a great location”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We visited Avoch with a large group of friends and two dogs, and we were absolutely blown away by the accommodation at the Tower House.There's so much room, so even with seven adults we never felt in each other's pockets. Amazing first impression, being a very large converted church atop a hill with views over the harbour. Brilliantly equipped and very sociable kitchen-diner, comfortable bedrooms, two (very) large lounges and a smaller lounge/library room. Lots of info for local attractions, books, DVDs... everything you could need. Very friendly owners only too happy to share local knowledge. In fact, all the locals we met were really nice.

Only minor things to note would be that all of the bedrooms have windows looking out onto the rest of the house, which does mean people can see into your room from a variety of angles. It's no doubt to keep the rooms brights and airy. We all overcame this by hanging coats over the window-frames with coat-hangers, but some frosted glass would be nice.

The location is really good, being just a short drive from some other lovely villages along the coast, and several beaches. Not too far into Inverness either, and we all struck out to the Cairngorms and Loch Ness too - easy reach by car, and great fun for the dogs.

Would recommend this place to anyone, and would certainly return - there's lots more to explore in this stunning part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One not to miss!”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A large unique property, a credit to those who renovated this wonderful building. Decorated to merge traditional and modern with an exotic flair, the Tower House is one not to miss. Rachel & Rob have an eye for interior design which is reflected in each colourful room. Although Tower House sleeps 8 +, we booked for 2 adults and 2 well behaved dogs, everyone should experience time in a property like this with light flooding rooms and fantastic views to the sea. The surrounding villages and places to visit are bountiful, all within a short drive. The locals are very friendly and always welcome a chat. We enjoyed an afternoon drink in the Plough Inn and a quality curry at Gabi's after a long walk.
Thanks to Rachel & Rob for their hospitality, we'll see you again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this incredible feedback with us all, we are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your holiday at Tower House. What you describe sounds fabulous from start to finish, top to bottom! The sea views sound like a particular highlight to us! We will be sure to pass your thanks along to the owners and certainly hope you return to repeat the experience again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow Wow Wow Amazing Holiday Rental”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic house in a fantastic location. Very handy for Inverness and access to North or South attractions The house is stunning in a lovely location, it is well looked after and has great character with lots of lovely details. The split levels to the house make it great to spread out in, the kids loved it! Amazing views and the harbour is very close great for dolphin watching. Great owners, Rob and Rachel who were very friendly and helpful, great communication will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing really, building high so stairs are too need to be careful with small children
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
We are absolutely delighted to hear you had a great stay at Tower House, thank you for taking the time to share your experience there. What you describe sounds like a wonderful place for all the family, being able dolphin spot close by sounds particularly incredible for all ages! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners and hope you return to enjoy the place again very very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best vacation house we ever had!”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

This house is just awesome if you want to stay near Inverness, Scotland, with quite a few people. We stayed with 2 families, each 2 adults 2 children, so 8 in total. The house has 2 bedrooms with 2 beds AND shower / toilet for each room! Additionally, there is a big kitchen with place enough for everyone (we even had one breakfast with 11 people, since friends came by, a library, a very large living room with a fireplace.

This place once was a church, you live in the half with the tower. Inside you just enjoy the vast space and huge windows, otherwise it is not church-like at all, quite modern and nice. From the outside it looks just astonishing. The view from the living room is on the sea.

The hosts were very friendly and waited for us at the house, showing everything and making sure everything is alright. Contact via email was very nice.

Downsides? Well, Wifi was not the best, but available. There is a huge spiral staircase... if you are afraid of heights you might feel uncomfortable, but I don't think it's an issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space!
Liked least: Wifi was slow at times, but hey. We were on vacation!
Travelling group: Großer Gruppe
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
We are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your stay at Tower House, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. Staying in a converted church sounds like an interesting experience, especially one as lovely as you describe! We will be sure to pass your thanks along to the owner and hope you return for your next family get together!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HATvdH
Berghem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect ...”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Rachel and Rob are very nice people who communicate very well and warmly welcomed me and my family to Towerhouse. Towerhouse itself had everything we were looking for and then some. Grand place, nice rooms, stunning view and overall a great atmosphere. I would very much like to express my recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
We are absolutely over the moon that you had a lovely stay at Tower House, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It is great to hear that your holiday began so well with that welcome, it sounds like that set the tone for the whole stay! Fabulous! We certainly hope that you return for another stay very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing