We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stay at ARTHOG”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Blue Lake
Crabbing on Barmouth Beach
Barmouth Bridge
Arthog Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Arthog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Paul K
1 review
“Stay at ARTHOG”
Reviewed 15 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lovely cottage with great scenery wifi as well plenty to do in the area walking,cycling
Shop near by,curry house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carol T
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Break”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, very cosy, well equipped everything you needed to enjoy a lovely Christmas break.
Views are stunning only 5 mins walk from Mawdach trail.
We took our bikes and there was even a shed to keep them safe.
Will definitely go again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2016
Pleased to hear you had such a good time. Thanks for taking the time to do a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrampaDam...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect little hideaway”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely little cottage in a lovely quiet location. Everything you could need is provided in the house including information on activities. So much to do and all within a short drive of the cottage.
The cottage was spotless and inviting and the furniture was comfortable to sink into after a day of exploring the countryside.
Thank you for a lovely stay, we can't wait to come back!!
Damian, Lucy and Tom

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Glad you had such a good stay, we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anon75Cor...
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, cosy and cute!”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here with our 1 year old child. We loved the cottage from the moment we arrived. It was spotlessly clean, warm and very well equipped. Information provided about the local area and further afield helped us greatly as did the OS maps. I could not fault the standard of this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the house
Liked least: Proximity to the road but an internal glass door alleviated this issue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife, son and I had a brilliant time at your lovely cottage.

The surrounding area was beautiful and the steam railway at Fairbourne was the highlight of the trip for our 2 year old son Luke.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
So glad you enjoyed the stay in Athog. Hope to see you again. There are lots more local steam railways to explore!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19carrieh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Charming, well equipped and beautifully presented cottage. Exactly as portrayed in the pictures, from the period features to the seating area in the garden which we enjoyed in the evening. Some fabulous sunsets and plenty of wildlife to see.
Enjoyed the relaxing country break without being too far from the seaside towns of Barmouth and Fairbourne. A good place to be based for exploring the surrounding area. Something for everyone but particularly good if walking and mountain biking are your thing.
Experience the blue lagoon, (old quarry) within walking distance - be careful going through the entrance tunnel and then be amazed at the stunning reflections in the bluest water. From here walk into Fairbourne and take the little train to the end of the line and pick up the boat across to Barmouth. Lovely shops and cafes to visit here as well as the endless sandy beaches. Walk back to Arthog via the railway bridge across the estuary and unwind in the comfort of the cottage or sitting out in the garden. Bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the fact that the cottage was exactly as stated.
Liked least: Parking is a bit further up the road from the cottage but it wasn't really an issue as easy to stop and load and unload right outside the door.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing