We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation, very MTB friendly.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of TY SKYLINE HOUSE

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge north end TV area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Lounge
Lounge north end
TV area
Bunk Room No 1
Child Friendly Dinning Room For 8
Patio
Cycle Storeage Area
Cycle Maintenance Bay
Laundry Room
Master Bedroom
Bath Shower Toilet
New Brick Built Barbecue Now Available
Mountain View From Garden
One of Europes Finest Mountain Biking Areas
Master Bedroom 2 Cots Available
Equipment Store
Bunk Room No 2 Campbed
Bunk Room No 2
Exterior
Ample Roadside Parking in Next Street - 2 doors away
Chill out after a day's activity with a cool drink and some top quality freshly cooked food
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10
Maesteg, Bridgend County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BManningW...
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation, very MTB friendly.”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This accommodation is a real treat for mountain bikers. Gareth and Mike have done a great job in providing all the facilities you could need for a week or weekends riding. The house is warm dry and very comfortable. Its also only 5 mins from the trails and the Glyncorrwg visitors centre. Don't settle for less!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellyford...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Bolt Hole”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We live in Surrey but know the village well and needed somewhere to stay at the last minute for a familiy event. TY Skyline was perfect for our needs; it is well equipped, very clean and in a convenient corner of the village.
Although none of our party were mountain biking or hiking this time round, we have done so in the past and the cottage is perfect for this too - with close access to the mountain biking centre and bike storage available.
A BIG thanks to the owners for beig so flexible and helping us out with our booking at the very last minute :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Facilities and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Wet Welsh Weekend”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Perfectly appointed for a wonderfully wet Welsh weekend hauling our aging caucuses around the trail of Afan Forest Park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdgirlf...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home, warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Very practical ~ loved the freedom to use what's there and the minibar. Great location for off-road trails on mountain bike. Not so good if you want to go anywhere else in S.Wales as you are up a dead-end ~ but beautiful countryside all around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcoming nature of instructions and the sharing of stocked items
Liked least: 'Downstairs' bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Immaculate Accomodation 15 mins from amazing unspoilt beaches!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our two children aged 18 months and 5 years. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The house was immaculately cleaned and all the beds were made up for our arrival. The area of Glyncorrwg is hugely rural with amazing scenery (the drive is truly breath taking). The only thing I would say is make sure you have a Satnav. (probably goes for travelling anywhere nowadays).
The house had everything you could possibly want for a week away, washing machine, dryer, irons, hairdryers even hair straighteners (top marks Gareth and Mike!) the kitchen was well stocked, so all the background ingredients (sauces, salt, spices, pasta, tea, coffee etc.) were all available for a small donation to the honesty box. The back garden was spotlessly clean, with a lovely patio area and a brick built BBQ. Such a peaceful village setting made for some awesome sleeps, coming from the busy city we are used to noise at all hours. The house is also well stocked with board games, and toys for little people as well as a varied book library and way too many DVDs to watch in a week! What more could you ask for? oooo oo I know, a radio in the shower, they have one of those as well. :)
The nearest town of Maesteg (5 mins drive away) is a lovely little village, with all the major shops you would need, Asda, Tesco, Wilkinson's, Aldi as well as butchers, bakeries and newsagents. Just beyond that is Port Talbot with the stunning beach of Aberafon. We were going to drive further afield and go to Swansea beaches, but we were so glad we didn't. The unspoilt beach was almost all to ourselves, even in lovely sunshine at the end of August. The sand was really clean and excellent for building sturdy sandcastles. On the beach front there was a little coffee shop and a chip shop which did gorgeous fish. There's also loads for the little ones to do, an adventure park with a few baby rides and even a big paddling pool if you don't fancy the palarva of sand and children (not always a great combo!). If you do venture down onto the sands, there is an outdoor shower back up on the strip (which is oddly really warm!) and public toilets which are well maintained.
Overall, an amazing holiday, with a welcoming and warm home from home to come back to at Ty Skyline House. We will definitely be going back there again and will recommend it to all our friends and family.
Claire and John Asher and kids. xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition of the house and how well stocked it was.
Liked least: Being picky, the few steps down into the garden.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausageso...
1 review
“Perfect for MTBers”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Stayed the weekend with two friends at Ty Skyline House for a dedicated mountain bike trip. This accommodation is the closest thing I have ever seen to perfect for bikers. Cheap. Clean. Superb location.
There is loads of room inside - we had a bedroom each. The living room is comfortable and includes a TV, DVD player and selection of DVDs.
There is reasonably well stoked kitchen, ideal if you want to cook a carb-heavy dinner after all that excise but forgot a couple of things!
The shed has room for four bikes in a lockable wrack, with a workstand. It is very secure so no worries there.
Best of all, it took about four minutes to roll to the Glyncorrwg trail centre for the start of Whites Level and Skyline trails.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Rain on the Sunday
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, Clean, and Convenient Holiday Home”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The cottage is located in a friendly little village with plenty of nice walks in the area. My husband, 2-year old daughter and myself stayed along with another couple and found that there was plenty of room for all 5 of us with the 3 bedrooms. We visited for the Big Cheese Festival in Caerphilly and found the cottage provided easy access both to Caerphilly as well as a day out exploring Swansea and the Gower Peninsula, and I imagine there would have been a lot more to explore in the region if we had the time! We were particularly pleasantly surprised to find the house well-stocked with children's toys and books, which was a godsend for entertaining a bored toddler on a rainy afternoon. There were also lots of helpful notes and homey touches around the house to make us feel welcome. Definitely recommended for families or groups of friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was easy to find and it was in a very clean condition upon arrival
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing