We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, super food and staff.”
Review of The Brit Pub

The Brit Pub
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Cwmafan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Brit Pub Cwmavon is a traditional real ale pub with a great warm atmosphere and quirky yet stylish decor. An intimate and elegant dining room perfect for a special occasion or somewhere to relax and have a good home cooked meal. With stone walls, flag stone floors, open fire, reclaimed wood bar from the original floorboards and doors this pub certainly has a story to tell. The tranquil beer garden over looks a river teeming with wildlife and there is accommodation for cyclists or weary travellers to the Afan Valley. The Brit is not just a pub, it's a destination.
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Wonderful décor, staff and food. We popped in here recently before going to see a show in Port Talbot, we were pleasantly surprised the food was outstanding for a pub and proved good value. The staff were very helpful as one of us wanted Gluten free, they were most obliging. We are not locals, but if we ever find ourselves in the area again we'll surely pop in for more food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HywelH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshphil91, Owner at The Brit Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Heidel & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017

A group of us stayed for 2 nights in the accommodation upstairs whilst mountain biking in the area. Rooms were clean with plenty of space & the bunk beds were very comfortable.

The evening menu was varied with plenty of choice & the food was amazing. 7 of us ate on both the friday & sat nights & not one of us were dissapointed with the quality or portion sizes.

The pub is busy with a good atmosphere & had 3 local real ales on. Theres also a great beer garden that we managed to enjoy in the glorious sunshine.

All the staff were very friendly & helpful, we will definatley be back on our next biking trip, despite Phils singing :0)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshphil91, Owner at The Brit Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for such a positive review and we were happy to welcome your group back a year after your first visit. And we hope to see you again next year.

Kind regards

Heidel & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We don't get to go out a lot (hard to find babysitters !!) but we always come here when we do. We absolutely love the place and are always have a lovely meal. (the mussels and steak this time). We are always made to feel welcome and feel they have got atmosphere and approach just right.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jueh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshphil91, Owner at The Brit Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review, it's a pleasure to welcome you both on your rare nights off.

Kind regards

Heidel & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Was first time in newly refurbished pub. Had mother and grandchildren, had to sit in bar as they were not allowed in restaurant. I did not find the menu had much to offer, had the corn beef pie and chips, was ok. Rest of party thought food was nothing special. Hope they are more child friendly now

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank swsi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshphil91, Owner at The Brit Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for the review. It's been nearly 2 years since we had corned beef pie on the menu so believe your visit was quite a while ago. Our business was very new then and we were finding our feet with menus, we also have different chefs and our business has improved in general as we simply have a lot more experience now. We would be happy to welcome you back and hope you will find the menu more pleasing. We do still have a child policy in place I'm afraid in the restaurant however we have the snug area which many families use as it's quite cosy by the log burner. If you would like to pop in and speak to me I would be more than happy to show you around and show you our menus.

Also if you wish to email me directly then please get in touch via thebritwales@gmail.com

Kind regards

Heidel & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Excellent variety and quality food. Easily accessible just off the main road as well. Friendly staff and very welcoming. Highly recommended.

2  Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshphil91, Owner at The Brit Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our business it's much appreciated.

Kind regards

Heidel & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brit Pub also viewed

Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to The Brit Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing