We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a place”
Review of The Brit Pub

The Brit Pub
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Cwmafan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Brit Pub Cwmavon is a traditional real ale pub with a great warm atmosphere and quirky yet stylish decor. An intimate and elegant dining room perfect for a special occasion or somewhere to relax and have a good home cooked meal. With stone walls, flag stone floors, open fire, reclaimed wood bar from the original floorboards and doors this pub certainly has a story to tell. The tranquil beer garden over looks a river teeming with wildlife and there is accommodation for cyclists or weary travellers to the Afan Valley. The Brit is not just a pub, it's a destination.
Reviewed 21 May 2017

I looked online for somewhere to eat while staying in the area and as a vegan came up with brit pub. Upon arrival first impressions were very good. The place was really lovely inside and staff were very friendly. The menu was outstanding and the food lived up to expectation. Probably the best meal I've had in a while. I was travelling with my Nephew who is a chef and even he was impressed with the menue and the quality of food which is also really good value for money. I was also shown around as the pub does accommodation so will defiantly be staying here next time I visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshphil91, Owner at The Brit Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Ah this is great to hear, we have just extended our vegan offering and hope to improve it further so it's great to know that you have enjoyed. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience.

Kind regards

Heidel & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2017

I had visited The Brit restaurant previously around 2 years ago. I knew it was a nice pub as well so decided to use it twice in a week. Firstly we took my Father in law for a drink as he likes real ale. As it was a Tuesday it was very quiet which was fine as there were 5 of us it was good to chat and have a laugh and not noisy. The Manager (Gemma) was great. Took time to come over and chat to us all. I decided to book a table for 4days later. We arrived a 8pm and it was packed. You walk through bar area which is full of character. The staff were quick and not rushed. I have to say it was the best meal I have possibly had ever. Hake on a bed of linguine in a white wine sauce with mussels. It was not the cheapest meal by any stretch however when you have 3 courses each , 3 beers , vodka and 2 cokes for £70 I thought that was fine. You can pay £50 but left disappointed. The meat is from a reputable local butcher ( P Cole & Sons Neath) and the wife's lamb was delicious.
When we had finished the meal we then moved to bar area and only just go a table ( Obviously popular with locals). They had members of local choir who broke into sporadic singing and the owner started to play his accordion and the whole pub joined a sing song. Great night we will be back again in the summer to sample outdoor area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Glyn1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshphil91, Owner at The Brit Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for the lovely review it's great to know that you've had such a positive experience on your visit to The Brit and especially if it was a special occasion.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Heidel & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Wonderful décor, staff and food. We popped in here recently before going to see a show in Port Talbot, we were pleasantly surprised the food was outstanding for a pub and proved good value. The staff were very helpful as one of us wanted Gluten free, they were most obliging. We are not locals, but if we ever find ourselves in the area again we'll surely pop in for more food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HywelH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshphil91, Owner at The Brit Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Heidel & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

A group of us stayed for 2 nights in the accommodation upstairs whilst mountain biking in the area. Rooms were clean with plenty of space & the bunk beds were very comfortable.

The evening menu was varied with plenty of choice & the food was amazing. 7 of us ate on both the friday & sat nights & not one of us were dissapointed with the quality or portion sizes.

The pub is busy with a good atmosphere & had 3 local real ales on. Theres also a great beer garden that we managed to enjoy in the glorious sunshine.

All the staff were very friendly & helpful, we will definatley be back on our next biking trip, despite Phils singing :0)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshphil91, Owner at The Brit Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for such a positive review and we were happy to welcome your group back a year after your first visit. And we hope to see you again next year.

Kind regards

Heidel & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We don't get to go out a lot (hard to find babysitters !!) but we always come here when we do. We absolutely love the place and are always have a lovely meal. (the mussels and steak this time). We are always made to feel welcome and feel they have got atmosphere and approach just right.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jueh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshphil91, Owner at The Brit Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review, it's a pleasure to welcome you both on your rare nights off.

Kind regards

Heidel & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brit Pub also viewed

Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to The Brit Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing