We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Skip the Line: Thang Long Water Puppet Theater Entrance Tickets
272

Book in advance
from
£8.15
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Vietnam Museum of Ethnology
from £8.15
More Info
from £29.33
More Info
from £26.07
More Info
from £33.82
More Info
Reviews (6,602)
Filter reviews
6,602 results
Traveller rating
3,594
2,369
562
59
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,594
2,369
562
59
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ethnic groups on display water puppet theatre tribe exhibits culture homes vietnam ethnicities information costumes customs clothing insight textiles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 6,602 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2019

I feel this is a bit hyped place. Had high expectations when I learned that Vietnam is having about 64 ethnic groups. Not much available in this 2 storied building. I enjoyed the settings at the space behind the building better.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank giji365
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2019

Covers all the various tribes of Vietnam, where they originated from, their type of existence and also how they have melded into modern day Vietnam. Make sure you look at the original houses alongside the Museum

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank Euan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2019 via mobile

Really really interesting to visit with a guide who explained all the traditions associated with each of the ethnic minorities. In particular to see the different buildings and accommodation. Our children were interested to understand in which the ethnic groups the man / son had to sleep in a small corner of the house as the youngest girl was in charge versus were the man / son was in charge and the sister had to leave to live with their husband. Being able to climb up the ladders and go inside the rooms brought it more to life. Definitely worth a couple of hours.

Date of experience: August 2019
4  Thank Julie692
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Vietnam Museum of Ethnology in Hanoi offers an insight into the different ethnic groups of Vietnam in an effort to preserve cultural heritage and promote socio-cultural diversity within the country.The museum is full of information detailing traditional Vietnamese ways of life, from religious events to the symbolic rituals of all the Vietnamese ethnic groups.
The museum has over 15,000 artefacts including photographs and other multi-media such as audiotapes.
There are priceless antiques on display alongside everyday objects such as pipes, baskets and knives. Yo can see a wide range of interesting items on display at the museum with clothes, jewellery and items relating to weddings, funeral ceremonies and other spiritual rituals offering a glimpse of their history, heritage and cultural identity. The museum is suitable for children visit.
The museum also has wheelchair access with ramps throughout and an elevator for access to the second floor. No photography is allowed inside the museum.
Opening Hours: From 08:30 - 17:30, closed on Mondays

Date of experience: May 2019
4  Thank Govindan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2019

A good place to learn the ethnic groups in Vietnam. The most interesting part is the outdoor section of the museum where you got to see some real size tribal houses modeling after the traditional architecture of ethnic minorities.

Date of experience: December 2018
3  Thank furball_furever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews