We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:30 - 17:30
Skip the Line: Thang Long Water Puppet Theater Entrance Tickets
276

Book in advance
from
£8.17
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Vietnam Museum of Ethnology
from £8.17
More Info
from £29.43
More Info
from £26.16
More Info
from £33.92
More Info
Reviews (6,600)
Filter reviews
6,600 results
Traveller rating
3,592
2,369
562
59
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,592
2,369
562
59
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ethnic groups on display water puppet theatre tribe exhibits culture homes vietnam ethnicities information costumes customs clothing insight textiles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 6,600 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2019 via mobile

Very nice museum where you can learn about the culture and the population in Vietnam. Nice to do before going to sapa (for ex) and meet local population.

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank N4520EZdavidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2019 via mobile

Definitely a fascinating museum, especially the new wing. Outside are several traditional houses which give you an incredible insight into rural life.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Winstonthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2019

If you are lucky enough to travel across Vietnam extensively, meet all 54 ethnic groups and experience their individual cultures first hand, then visiting the Museum of Ethnology will be a waste of time. For most of us it will however be a brilliant experience. The museum itself had information boards which had English subtitles but you can hire an English speaking guide or use audio. Religion, culture and life style are all covered but we all enjoyed the "authentic" houses in the grounds of the museum the most. Long houses , stilt houses and everything else in between. A great half day excursion.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2019

Small museum containing information about all the different ethnic groups in Vietnam. Information about traditional Vietnamese ways of life, from day to day rural living to religious rituals. Each minority is represented with a showcase. Afterwards, you can see some of their houses built by locals craftsmen in the museum garden. We loved this part.
The museum garden houses also a water puppet performance which is surprisingly entertaining and interesting. Several short performances - shot scenes/sketches depicting day to day rural life as well as celebration rituals. Skilled puppeteers, talented singers and musicians. It takes 30 minutes and is a kind of greatest hits compilation. Probably horribly touristy - but perfect for a group of mildly interested foreigners with a seven year old in tow.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank the_merri_fields
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

Did not know that Viet Nam has that many ethnic groups! Great information. Recommend visit with a tour guide, or get an audio tour at the museum.

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank FlipViet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews