We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Lodges and Peaceful Surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beechwood Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beechwood Park
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lodges and Peaceful Surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at Beechwood Park in April 2014, the park itself has around 12 lodges and offers camping and caravanning pitches.
We stayed in the Kingfisher lodge and it was wonderful, the open plan lounge, dining and kitchen area was great for us a family to be able to keep an eye on our son and the decked balcony/patio area with its double doors was lovely when the sun decided to shine! We were greeted every morning by a variety of ducks, ducklings, chickens and rabbits which our 4 year old loved feeding.
Its a perfect base for people wanting to explore the area, Elvaston Country Park is within walking distance and well worth a visit for little ones wanting to burn off some energy, and Drayton Manor Theme Park, Twycross Zoo and the city of Nottingham are all around a 30 minute car journey from the park and there are 2 large supermarkets close by (around 15 minutes by car).
The lodges were clean, well furnished and well equipped for a self catering holiday, the beds were very comfortable (although my husband and I at both over 6ft tall found the double a little small) and everything was in great working order.
The en-suite and bathroom were both very clean, and both showers nice and powerful.
We had a fabulous time and will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: If you visit with children take plenty of bread, the ducks and chickens are very friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clk246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    15
    3
    5
    12
See reviews for
29
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
235 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here April 2014. It was our first trip with our caravan, so it was all new to us and we also had nothing to compare it with. We booked about 7 weeks in advance, via telephone. We were quite worried as they only took our name and dates of arrive, no deposit, so we rang back a week later and queried our booked due to not giving a deposit again we were told it was fine, there would be a pitch for us. You can imagine how concerned I was when we arrived and were asked if we'd booked and left a deposit as our name wasn't down. The owner did nog offer any apology for this miscommunication. "Luckily" they had a super pitch they could offer us, call me cynical but it sounds a bit of a scam to me. We took the super pitch as we had no other option as wanted hard standing (which we had specified in our two previous telephone calls). To be fair the super pitch was very well serviced and it made things easier for our first time at caravaning. The cost for the super pitch was more, but it was the extras that shocked us, £6 a day for an awning and £3 a day for a dog, things that really cost no extra to the site, especially as there were no dog bins anywhere and the only rubbish bins are at the very front of the site. Unfortunately looks are deceiving, the site looks lovely, modern and well kept on first viewing, however on the second day of our trip it was clear it was poorly maintained, the shower block and toilets on the kingfisher meadow were large and clean, however the toilet rolls and hand soap were not replenished for the rest of our stay. The toilets by the fishing lakes were very poorly maintained and often quite dirty. It's a real shame as they had a lovely location and a nice site, if they were to maintain it better and have better customer service they could have an amazing site.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I'm a bit fussy with accommodation and travel a lot with work so have seen all sorts! We visited in March so not the best time of year and stayed for a week. The lodge itself was immaculate and I mean totally spotless. Many think looked to be new but the structure in fabric was well maintained and in good repair. The shower was great, really powerful and again the bathroom was so clean. Towel quality (silly I know) was better than many high end chains. Everything in the lodge worked perfectly (no malfunctioning lights / clocks / TV's). Two tiny (really tiny complaints!) the door latches are noisy if someone gets up during the night and the main door was a little drafty but then it was March in the UK! Heating was by metered electricity but our lodge was toasty for the whole week.
The situation itself was perfect if you are looking for something quite although there is a lot to do in the surrounding area. The lodges are situated around a fishing lake and we had baby ducks greet us in the morning along with an assortment of swans, geese, rabbits and chickens. I love animals so fed them every day.
Colin was lovely and very friendly.
We would certainly use again if we were staying in the area, it's a quite we holiday park but a wee gem nonetheless!

Room Tip: Take a hairdryer and iron as these are not provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley9714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

The place is very basic. Its very cold and the heating doesn't work properly. The shower room is very tiny and very uncomfortable.

The beds and mattresses are one of the worst I have seen. I left this place with a horrible back pain.

The landlady is incredibly unfriendly and rude. Expect here to come in without knocking on the door.

The kitchen is very basic. Some of pans you can't even use. If you try to use the oven, prepare for somke. There is no wi fi and the phone signal is pretty bad.

My advise don't stay here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank jovani_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked 3 lodges as a big family party for to celebrate the new year. We booked from Monday 30th December until Friday 3rd January.
Beforehand the communication with the park manager before arrival was very poor. He didn't return calls etc.. to individuals that were enquiring about certain aspects of the trip.
We arrived on the Monday at approx. 5pm, we were greeted at reception and given the keys for a Swallow Lodge number 2. First impressions were that the lodge was very cold, dark and tingy, smelt damp and fusty and the lounge carpet was stained and dirty. The décor is very outdated and reminds me of 1960's/1970's. We went out on the night and in the morning when it was daylight we could soon see the horrors, that surrounded us in the lodge. There was no instruction manuals for the workings of the lodges and no information regarding the local area including numbers for local doctors, hospitals or chemists etc...
After leaving the electric heaters on all night to try and air the lodge, the lodge still smelt really bad. Damp and fusty was the only way I can describe the smell. There was mould around the window frames in the bedrooms, mould on the ceilings in the bedrooms, mould on the walls in the toilet and the pipes were also leaking onto the wooden boxing around the pipes where more mould was present. The cutlery still had remains of old food on and the general cleanliness of the lodge was very poor. The TV kept breaking up and you couldn't watch it due to the signal being poor. The lodge had a number of repairs that needed to be completed.
We could imagine staying at this lodge any longer, we had booked the trip on the basis that the lodges were advertised as luxury. The lodges would not even meet basic!
We decided to complain to the park manager and he couldn't believe that we were complaining, he said he hadn't had a complaint within 15 years of running the park. I find this very hard to believe with the standards that I was witnessing.
We asked for a refund as we couldn't stay any longer, we paid £300 for 4 nights and reluctantly the park manager gave a refund of £150, which meant we had paid £150 for 1 nights stay in a 1960's mouldy sauna.
I couldn't believe that these lodges are covered in mould and this is a serious health issue. They continue to be let out to families with children. The park needs closing down or the lodges need a complete overall and revamp.
Please beware of the pictures that you see on the websites advertising these lodges as the accommodation we received is nothing like the standard shown.
These lodges are a shocking standard and I wouldn't recommend these to anyone.
This ruined our new year plans and we had booked a week off work, to spend time with the family to celebrate the new year. We returned home after one night and we couldn't book in anywhere else as there was no availability.
Very disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mazNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We booked the Swallow 'luxury' lodge for the New Year week from the 30th Dec until the 3rd Jan and paid £300 for the week. I would strongly advise people against booking these lodges.

The communication before we even arrived was very poor, I contacted colin on numerous occasions by both email and phone and he never responded.

We arrived at 5pm on the 30th Dec and went to the reception area to check in. Colin took our money plus we had to pay an additional £20 for electricity for the week. He then told us where the lodges were and that they were open with the keys in them. We got to our cabin Number 1. To say we were disappointed with this supposive 'luxury' lodge was an understatement. There were cobwebs and dust in the rooms, the carpets were stained, there was mould in the corners of the rooms and round the windows, the furniture was out dated and smelly, the TV/DVD player among other electrical items didn't work, there was no welcome pack and to top it all off the layout of the cabin was crap you couldn't sit on the toilet without having your face pressed against the shower wall.

We made the most of it for the first night and went to see Colin and Sharon in the morning to complain, they couldn't care less about our disappointment and after some discussion said they would be willing to give us £150 refund if we were to leave that day 'being New Years Eve' we were discusted that this is all they offered '£150 for 1 nights stay!!!!' what a joke we decided to stay as we couldn't afford to loose that amount of money, however some of our friends did leave. This was the last we saw of colin and sharon they went away new years eve to celebrate with all the money they had scammed out of people with there supposive luxury lodges and weren't even there when we checked out we had to leave our key with a cleaner.

Cleaner must be blind.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KSpeed1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elvaston
17.4 mi away
Sandybrook Country Park
Sandybrook Country Park
#1 of 14 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Park

Property: Beechwood Park
Address: Main Road, Elvaston DE72 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Elvaston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Elvaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beechwood Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing