We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hinton Charterhouse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We visited Priory Cottage with our four children, then aged 6 months to 9 years, in 2008. It was a highlight of our trip to England-- Jackie and Martin couldn't be more hospitable and their home was beautiful. Our kids still talk about our stay and how kindly Jackie and Martin looked after us. I am sad to see that it looks as though they are no longer operating as a B&B, but in the chance they go back into business, I wouldn't hesitate to visit them again or recommend them to friends. Best wishes in all your endeavors, Jackie and Martin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamalatte4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

We came to Priority Cottage with another couple who had stayed there before. The house is delightful, made all the more enjoyable as we and our friends were the only guests occupying both rooms. This made it very relaxed and easy going. Martin and Jackie are great hosts and run this B&B in the most professional manner. Both bedrooms had their own advantages. Only one room has a bath, but both rooms have excellent showers and bathrooms. The clothes storage in the bedrooms was excellent, especially if guests are wanting to unpack and not 'live out of a suitcase' which is often the case when staying in B&Bs. The breakfasts were great, with many choices, complemented by home made jam. The guest lounge was very comfortable, with lots of books and travel information available. Travelling into Bath on the local bus that stops at the gate was terrific, as was dinner at the local pub. Jackie booked the pub for us, together with other information that she provided about the local area. It's a great location, close enough to Bath and yet isolated with absolute quietness and wonderful rural views. I hope we can return sometime.

Room Tip: If you want to have a bath, you need to specify which room you want.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MullSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We have just had 3 wonderful days staying at Priory Cottage. Jackie and Martin are delightful hosts, with boundless information on what to see and do in Bath and the surrounding areas. The cottage is gorgeous, comfortable and spotlessly clean. In addition to the spacious bedrooms, there is also a guest lounge room which we used on all 3 nights we were there, to have a glass or two of wine after our day out. Jackie makes the best breakfasts in England and Aunty Beryl's homemade conserves (made from berries on the property) are absolutely delicious. The guest room we stayed in overlooked the back of the beautiful 6 acre property, trees and a lovely grassed area. The bed was so comfortable, it was like sleeping on a cloud. Bath is a fascinating historical city, make sure you do the 2 hour Mayor's Walking tour while you are there. Very entertaining and informative and free of charge! This is the loveliest B&B we have stayed in during our 3 week UK holiday, and made extra special by the local knowledge, care and attention that Jackie and Martin provide to their guests to make them feel welcome and comfortable and get the most out of their trip.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This was our second trip to Bath in 2 years and our second time with Martin and Jackie. On both occasions we were made to feel really welcome. We'd only just arrived from a long trip from Australia and needed a place that we could call home for a day or two. Jackie was up to the task - nothing was too much trouble for her. The highlights for me were the clean and comfortable bedroom and the delicious breakfast served each morning. The warmth of our stay clearly out-weighed the dreary weather outside! We will certainly be back!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mossesetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was one of the nicest B & B's we have stayed in. The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is quite large. There are nice views of the countryside from the room. Downstairs there is a large and comfortable lounge for use of guests - as there are only two rooms, this is always available to enjoy. Breakfasts were excellent. Jackie was very friendly and fun to talk to. She gave us lots of good tips about the surrounding area and what to see. We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJCoombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We discovered Priory Cottage for the first time in 2011 and we were so impressed with the place we promised to return as soon as we could. This time round, we stayed a bit longer and took time to explore the surrounding areas in a bit more detail. Not having a car meant that we had to use public transport but thats not really a problem as there are buses and trains providing a regular to service to Batch, Bristol, Salisbury etc.

Those who enjoy walking will find the Kennet & Avon canal a great facility. It is possible to walk to or from Bath, for example, which we did one day. It takes two and half hours but is magical on a sunny day. Life moves slowly along the canal and you feel transported back to an earlier era when canals were the main transport arteries and barges ruled the waterways. Plenty of wildlife about too. Keep an eye out for the herons on the canal bank.

The Freshford Inn is as friendly as ever, serving wonderful food and interesting local ales and ciders. We were fortunate to cath a great Jazz session on Thursday (a regular event, apparently) and something we will pencil in for the next time. A local asked us "why do you come to fresford on holidays? What is there to do around here?". Well, quite a lot actually! If you run out of things to do in Fresford, catch a train to Salisbury to see the Magna Carta or to Bradford-on Avon and enjoy a pretty English village.

As for Priory House, Jackie & Martin go out of their way to make you feel welcome. A very special place. Its already on the "to do" list for 2013.

Room Tip: Theres only 2 rooms. And they're both good!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

It may have been raining but that didn't stop hosts Martin & Jackie from shining, going above and beyond the call of duty during my stay at Priory Cottage. First impressions lasted throughout my stay - warm, cosy and beautiful.

Jackie provided me with tips and suggestions on highlights to not miss in town and surrounding areas, also providing public transport times and was eager to answer any questions I had.

Breakfast was just delicious and was ready whenever I was. Complimented with a nice English cuppa, there were no faults.

Aunty Beryl's (local resident) famous Jam was most definitely a highlight!

A mix of Martin's sense of humour and bubbly personality with Jackie's hospitality and care, it's practically like staying with family!

When I return to the area, there is no need to look anywhere else - this enjoyable stay provides life long memories, thank you Martin and Jackie!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
0.9 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.2 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
735 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
569 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 2 in Hinton Charterhouse
150 reviews
2.4 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 157 in Bath
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: Priory Cottage Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton Charterhouse
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Priory Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Priory Cottage Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Priory Cottage Bed & Breakfast Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing