We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely but slightly lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely but slightly lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed in the summer for a long weekend. Quite expensiive but wanted something special. Hotel room was spectacular and thegreounds are fantastic, only criticism was the service. Restaurant staff were just not well trained and inexperienced (oddly, I saw the wine waiter from the saturday night working in a petrol station down the road the next day). People were friendly and very chatty but it just lacked that edge. Spa is very nice though :o)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    217
    91
    52
    31
See reviews for
117
371
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at Homewood Park with friends to celebrate an anniversary. We arrived on a wet lunchtime, looking forward to lunch to be told, they couldn't provide lunch due to catering for a business, lunch. That kind of set the tone. The rooms were large, but not that luxurious, certainly not worth the money, even at discount rates, the reception was not very professional. The evening menu was different to the one on line and not to our taste. We went to Jamie's instead in Bath which was fantastic. The room was freezing cold, and it took two complaints to get a move. The spa however was fantastic and breakfast was nice. We did the free walking tour in bath which was really. Good. For a hotel that claims to be luxurious, I have stayed in much better for much less.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJH-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My Girlfriend and I stayed here in Oct 2011 for a 'Scrumptious Sunday' Spa deal, this included full use of the facilities, a 30 minute treatment, Cream Teas, Dinner and Breakfast. We had an upgraded room given too. We arrived around noon on Sunday but that was no bother to the staff, we were shown the facilities and relaxed in these until our room was ready. The staff were very attentive and helpful, but they all seemed rather young, so must be well trained. Definetly recommend this Hotel for a Spa break.

Room Tip: There is no Gym at this Hotel, only Spa facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

It was my friend's birthday and I bought her a champagne afternoon tea at this hotel,via Groupon. I am glad I didn't pay full price because although the tea was enjoyable, it would not have really been worth £29. As one of the other reviewers said, we were shown into a room which seemed like a small sitting room. It had no view and not much ambience. There was dirty crockery left on the table and we had to ask for dirty tissues to be removed from the table and floor. Although it was a pleasant room, there wasn't much atmosphere and the music playing out in the hall was inapppropriate for the surroundings. I think classical music would have been lovely.
We thought the sandwiches had delicious fillings and we enjoyed them. I don't agree with the other reviewer about the scones in that they didn't taste homemade. They were lovely and there was a generous amount of cream to go with them. Although it was nice not to be rushed, I feel that once the tea had arrived, we were pretty much left to our own devices. A couple of times I had to leave the birthday girl and go looking for someone to re-fill the tea-pot and ask for another napkin. I think in a hotel of this calibre, service was lacking. I noticed that when we left, the room in which I would have liked to have tea(over-looking the garden) was now empty of guests but all the dirty crockery and left-over food was still there.
All in all, a mixed review for Homewood House. Not sure if I would recommend it at full price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JewelHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south east
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

My wife & I were greeted to an empty reception, staff passed us on a few occasions but no-one asked us if we needed assistance, not a welcome we were expecting.
Dinner was overpriced, not much of a selection, food ok. Staff not really interested that you are there, no friendliness, asking if our meal was ok, wine top-up etc.
Had a few issuses with our room, so i asked to speak to the Manager, was told he doesn't work weekends! was then told no manager on to speak to! The majority of staff were very young, not a very good run establishment. The spa very small, glad it wasn't too busy or there would have been problems.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthEastNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKayR, Marketing at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings of your stay, and that I was unable to welcome you to Homewood on this occasion. We do take a genuine pride in our warm welcome, hospitality and standard of restaurant dining and I am disappointed that they fell short of the mark. I would really appreciate the opportunity to apologise in person, and would be grateful if you could contact me directly.
Kind regards
Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed for a spa weekend. Spa facilities are fine, though loungers are scarce inside (3) so nab one whilst you can! Room was ok though incredibly hot as there was a fault with the radiators. Despite a maintenance guy saying he would turn it off it remained this way for the whole weekend. I found an electric fan for the second night which provided some relief, though only because I saw one being taken to another room!! The staff were indifferent and showed no interest - there was no apology for the problem with the radiators or offer of a move. Maid service was poor - a roughly shaken out duvet with pillows left on the floor and the bathroom bin wasn't emptied. Basic things which you expect to be done. In the evening we had to repeatedly find someone to take our drinks orders - annoying when you just want to relax. Dinner itself was ok, though the a la carte menu was limited and uninspiring (4 starters, 4 mains). All in all, an ok experience but we won't be heading back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We have stayed at Homewood Park before - in fact about 3 years ago we had a nice weekend break there to celebrate our anniversary.
So we decided to revisit this Bank Holiday which again coincided with our Anniversary, and booked in for a Champagne Afternoon Tea (£29 per head).
On arrival, we noticed that the hotel had been almost taken over by a corporate photo shoot (for Clarkes footwear), and instead of walking through the main hotel entrance a PR lady ushered us away into a side entrance to avoid disrupting the photo shoot and models...

Not the best entrance, however we understand hotels do need to maximise their revenues however they can, and carried on regardless.

Expecting to have our Champagne Afternoon Tea at a beautiful table (perhaps overlooking the gardens), we were disappointed to be placed in some kind of library waiting room, sat on a sofa and chair with no outside view. We did have a firplace to stare at which was at least some consolation.

We were hoping that the food at least would live up to expectations, but I'm afraid for £29 each you dont get a lot for your money. We each got 3 tiny finger sandiches (literally the size of a finger), one glass of champagne (nice), one scone and jam (nice but not homemade), and 3 other cakes which were best described as dry shop standard small squares (a flapjack, a brownie and a madeira cake slice). All the last 3 were not homemade, and something you would get from a Mr Kipling type cake.

We sat there for an hour and in all that time no waiter or waitress appeared to ask if we were enjoying our food, or to offer us more tea/coffee. Basically our tea and coffee were good for a cup each, and with cake its nice to get a refill.

We had intended to stay on and order some more champagne and perhaps brandy, but there were no staff looking after us (instead they were all running around like puppies servicing the Clarkes photoshoot- who were obviously vastly more important to the hotel than guests were). So after an hour of silence/no service we decided to get up and leave, taking the chance to let the Reception staff know that we weren't very happy. Despite a polite 'sorry' from reception, there was no offer of explanation or attempt to rectify the situation.

To compound matters, we wrote an e-mail to the Hotel Manager when we got home, and now it is 5 days later and we still have not had any acknowledgment/respose whatsoever.

My advice is to avoid Homewood Park - it used to be good, but looks like it has gone downhill in terms of service over the last 3 years.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CTE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing