We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another excellent short break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yet another excellent short break!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for three nights in early April to celebrate my birthday and we were not disappointed!
This was our third stay in the last eight months, our first since the hotel was taken over by Longleat, and the experience has been excellent every time. A slight worry that a new owner might have changed the service and ambience was unfounded.

I must strongly dispute the comments from an earlier review about the staff. Yes they are young, but they are well trained, courteous, good humoured and enthusiastic. The young men in the restautant not only remembered us from our previous visits,but appeared genuinely pleased to see us again and even remembered some of our likes and dislikes. The manager was courteous and professional.

The food is exceptional and I can recommend the Inspiration menu unreservedly. The chef spoke with my husband about my likes and dislikes and created a menu that was absolutely perfect. We chose the accompanying wines options and they were carefully chosen by one of the young men mentioned earlier. Knowing that we enjoy discussing the wines we drink, he took the time to talk to us about the wine and explain his choices.

The Spa is great, and staff even took the trouble to come to the spa to ask if any guests would like to order a drink, which were then served in 'safe' glasses. This all added to the feeling of wellbeing.

In summary, yet another excellent break and we will be visiting this hotel again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_A_Statter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    226
    102
    55
    36
See reviews for
128
390
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We planed a three night escape to Homewood Park at the last minute. It was a perfect spot only 10 mins outside Bath. The hotel has a very nice old world family feel to it. The spa is perfect, and is pitched well against the standard of the hotel. The food is also absolutely fantastic. However where the hotel is let down is in its management. A very simple illustration was on our first night at the hotel the fire alarm went off twice in the night. Health and safety is clearly important. However for the night staff to allow the alarm to be triggered twice is sloppy. There was no offer of any form of compensation and only when I challenged the manager was I offered a nominal discount. In addition to this any prospective visitors should be aware the staff below the manager are extremely young and clearly have limited training in hospitality. Whilst they all seemed very charming people they do not have the experience for a hotel pitching itself at this level. This seems to be a common theme with other comments in this sites.

In summary a great hotel for a weekend away but do not expect much from the staff. A change in management is due!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood-manager, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your kind compliments with regards to the hotel, spa and fine dining. May I also take the opportunity once more to apologise for the disturbance with the fire alarm during your stay.

The training of the team is always an ongoing process and you can be reassured that we always endeavour to offer the finest of hospitality and service.

I would be grateful if you contact me directly if you feel you wish to discuss further.

With best wishes,

Martin Page
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here on the night of our Wedding at Wick Farm which is a five minute drive away.
We were warmly greeted when we arrived and they bought us two glasses of champagne to the room. This was a lovely way to finish our amazing day.
Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We had a lovely view over the gardens. My mum had paid £225 for the room as a gift to us for our wedding and there were a couple if things that let the hotel down a little. The room was a little dusty in places. Also, breakfast could have been slicker. We had to ask for things that had run out and for our food order to be taken. It didn't matter hugely as the staff were friendly, food was good and we were in no rush.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cayennenl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My Fiancée and I booked 6 rooms with Homewood Park in October last year, however due to an error in moving to a new booking system with new owners (Longleat), they lost our reservations and we were not able to put the bridal party and parents up for our wedding, which we only discovered a week before the wedding, with no way to rectify this with Homewood as the rooms had been given away.

However, putting this aside the subsequent customer service we received was excellent. Sam and Zoe on reception had spent most of the afternoon trying to find us rooms at the sister hotels. By this time I was looking to save some money, so elected to book a local Premier Inn instead.

I received a personal apology that evening from Martin, the hotel's General Manager, who was able to give us the required Garden Room for our wedding night at the hotel's compliments.

We arrived to a warm welcome at 01:00 in the morning, where we were shown to our room in the Garden, finding a complimentary bottle of champagne in the room, The Garden Room was spacious, well laid out and finished to a fantastic level.

However the underfloor heating and lack of air conditioning meant the room was very warm and we had an uncomfortable sleep. However, there are doors to the garden which could have been opened which we did not notice due to a long day and just wanting to crash.

In the morning the breakfast was good quality and the service was friendly and attentive without being in your face.

I wish we had the longer planned stay but found the one night met what we needed, and are thankful that the Homewood team tried their best once the screw-up was discovered. I accept this was a one off thing and would recommend for any quiet getaways.

Room Tip: Let the reservation team know what you are after and they will give you pragmatic advice on where to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a 2-night weekend stay in a junior suite. The room was large, with access to a semi-private patio and direct access to the outdoor pool and spa. It was well furnished, although the two bedside lamps did not match eachother! The bed was quite hard and may not be everyone's idea of comfortable. Also, we would have exected a tea/coffee tray in the room which was conspicuous by its absence from a location that evidently was where it should have been!

The bathroom was huge but under-heated, with a centrally placed roll-top bath and a separate large walk-in shower. The place generally was top-class, clean and everywhere well presented, from the small lounges to the restaurant.

The food was very good and we chose to eat in the restaurant on both nights of our stay. Breakfast was good with an average selection of cereals and cold meats/cheeses supplemented with a menu of cooked items comprising traditional English breakfast items including kippers and smoked haddock.

The service generally was exemplary although we did not receive our ordered newspaper on the first morning and neither did we get our wake-up call (about 15 minutes late); minor things but annoyances that should not occur.

Look out for deals - we got ours through Laterooms; not sure if this hotel would present good value at its full rack rate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My family and I stayed over a weekend having found a deal with late rooms dot com. We have stayed here before when the hotel was owned by the now defunct Van Essen Group.

The facilities at the hotel have been considerably upgraded since we last stayed and now include a superb spa and outdoor pool.

We ate in the hotel for dinner both evenings of our stay and the food was excellent too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markah52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

An early Mothers Day treat for Mum and I. Booking was easy. Arrived at 11 to find that the Spa is a different building to the main hotel and one cannot order any food or hot drinks to be brought to the Spa; with treatments booked for 2pm we would have had to get showered and dressed to go back into the hotel to eat meaning max 30 mins in the spa. Lovely robes and excellent treatments, facial, massage and manicure. Beautiful treatment room. Limited loungers (just 4) so you may not get anywhere to relax. Poor magazine selection. Ordered the 'on offer' virgin cocktails, very disappointing for £4.50, no taste & full of crushed ice. Layers of dust in ladies changing room, all around the sauna and steam room doors - when we reported this and the disappointing drinks to spa reception it was not dealt with, the receptionist looked like she didn't believe us - her response was that we could pay at the main reception! (I explained again at reception and refused to pay for the drinks). A place with great potential & fab treatments. Why not create a safe space away from the jacuzzi where refreshments can be consumed? Please train staff to clean well and respond appropriately to constructive feedback - we told them all the good things first and then mentioned the areas for attention.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artyonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood-manager, Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments with regards to the treatment that you and your Mum received. However, we are disappointed that you experienced some shortcomings during your spa day and I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at the hotel so that I can apologise in person.

With best wishes,

Martin Page, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 31 in Bath
157 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing