We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had some serious concerns reading previous comments on Tripadviser, and nearly changed our booking. We are so glad we did not. On our arrival the person on reception was welcoming. Our room was a double room with bathroom off a small hall. So almost a small apartment. The food on both nights was wonderful, especially the taster menu. The staff throughout could not have been more helpful if they had tried, especially the Maitre D' , and the Head Waiter. Our children did not wait for dessert so the Maitre D' suggested and then arranged for reception to contact the room to send up icecream.
December is not a great time for swimming but the outside pool was warm even though outside was cold! So we would thoroughly recommend this hotel for any short break and as a lovely country hotel if you want to combine with a visit to Bath.
We also took the children horse riding at the Wellow Trekking Centre which was very near and very friendly.

Room Tip: Families should ask for Room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

I am delighted to hear that your family enjoyed your break away and that nothing was too much trouble for us to ensure your children were looked after and had everything you needed.

We very much hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you and your family back soon

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    217
    91
    52
    31
See reviews for
117
371
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

It was a birthday gift for my boyfriend. We spent there 3 days. The area, the garden is soo beautiful. The room was enough big and comfortable, and the service as well. Only one evening we had dinner there but the meal was delicious. The greatest offer was to have our dinner in front of the fireplace which was really romantic.
The spa, the saunas and the pool is a really good place to chill.

I can only recommed this hotel to anybody who wants to spend some time in a friendly, romantic and beautiful place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent overnight stay with us

I am very happy to read you had such a relaxing stay and enjoyed using all of the spa facilities.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the Summer when the gardens are at their best

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed here from a travel deal too.
The 3 course A La Carte menu very delicious but only £2
per head cheaper than their Christmas Eve
5 course dinner ? small portions too Drinks unreasonably expensive
for dining guests. No tea or coffee making facilities
in the room but did arrive upon request.
Breakfast was half a field mushroom, half grilled
tomato one sausage and one rasher of bacon
have had bigger breakfasts for free! piped
music would have been nicer whilst dining
a la carte too to enhance atmosphere.
bedroom beautifully presented but mattress very soft
pillows too soft
spa treatments were lovely and staff helpful, spa
was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helena044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

well worth a visit....took wife for anniversary treat, beautiful settings, very friendly staff. our room was small but very cosy but we did book last minute. breakfast was good with a good choice. various treatments are available at reasonable costs. we did not have any because they were fully booked, however we used the hydro therepy pool, steam room, and the sauna which was more then enough....there was an outdoor heated pool also but it was a bit on the chilly side. all in all a good experience and i must mention been an ex-serviceman royal air force they do offer discounted rates to members of the forces.

Room Tip: there are rooms with lovely views book early to avoid dissapointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butt060652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We came here for lunch for our parents' diamond wedding.

Although there were just 7 of us we were delighted to have a private dining room.

The staff were friendly and attentive and the food excellent and good value for this sort of venue - £26 for 3 courses.

We were able to walk around the pleasant grounds after lunch and peep onto the spa which looked great. The surroundings really are lovely.

The wine was a bit pricey ( our champagne was £55 ) but not out if the ordinary for a hotel like this.

Would definitely recommend for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HazelRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed here for a belated birthday treat for my partner . Had booked it with travel Zoo so the room turned out good value for money! We also had £40 off per treatment each in the spa. When we arrived we were shown to our room which was lovely 4 poster bed , nice views from window. Only comment about the room there was no tea and coffee making facility ! ( quite poor of a hotel this standard ) . We went down for food however wernt overly hungry so decided to grab a snack and drink in the lounge area! Limited variety to eat if you don't want the ala carte menu! £12.50 for a sandwich! Price of drinks was pricey! £8 for a whiskey and coke! £5.50 for a pint of cider ! £30 for a bottle of house wine! We paid it BUT thought it was terribly expensive! The breakfast in the morning was quite poor, small portion. Spa was lovely! Went for a dip in the outside pool! Warm enough for a cold novembers day! Steam room was out of order :( but we used sauna and huge hydrotherapy pool! Then we had some amazing treatments! :) all in all... Would stay here again but I think there should be more variety and chose for food and a cheaper bar tariff!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighjones2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The hotel and grounds were lovely - a proper country retreat near the lovely village of Freshford (well worth a walk around). Our room was spacious and very comfortable with a very large bed. I'd also note the spa was very nice although I didn't use the pool as that was outside and it was too cold to face that. Food was excellent - the breakfast buffet was plentiful and of a good quality (much better than many other hotels). We ate 2 evening meals at the hotel and both were very good. The only negative was sometimes the level of service was a bit lacking. Minor things like no cutlery or plates can be expected but was not rectified very quickly and took several enquirers before being rectified. That said, the staff were very pleasent and some went out of their way to be helpful. Only other minor issue was the hotel was far too hot and the only remedy seemed to be to open the windows (dread to think of the CO2 impact!)

Room Tip: We had a baby with us and were given a ground floor room (number 12 I think) - this was very conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing