We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing spa stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing spa stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

A pretty country hotel located very close to the attractions of Bath. The country house hotel is a mixture of old and new following the modern refurb of their dining room and funky little spa. There are pockets of traditional style in the entrance way and drawing room of the Hotel, but with a modern twist, as found in the modern dining room. We loved the dramatic style of this room, with the bold dark grey and green picking up the colours of the lawns seen through the enormous windows in the room. We found the service to be a little slow in the restaurant, but the food more than made up for this. Delicious food with beautiful presentation. We stayed in a huge room with separate lounge area that overlooked the spa. Elegantly decorated and with a lovely big bathroom with roll top bath. A couple of tiny grumbles were that we had asked for champagne to be in the room upon our arrival and that had been forgotten. We ordered it from room service instead, but not quite the same effect. Also we found the bed quite soft and spongy and the shower tray was quite blocked. Other than that, we were very happy with the room. We had spa treatments booked and the info in the room told us to robe up and check in at the spa reception beforehand. No slippers, so we froze our feet off making our way outside to the spa where we searched for the reception to check in. Could we find it? We later found in inside the main hotel, but at the time we were very confused looking around for somewhere to check in within the spa itself. There was no one around to ask in the spa. Eventually the masseuses came out to find us and we had an enjoyable treatment. The spa is very nice but quite small. An outside pool, which although heated felt very cold when we stuck outer toes in, a sauna, steam room and large jacuzzi. There was nowhere to hang our robes anywhere, not even inside the loo. Some hooks would be a useful addition. Since we didn't find the spa reception on our way in, we didnt have a towel either. We only managed to get one when we spotted other (obviously in the know) open up a big cupboard and help themselves to a towel. One other niggle is that after our massage we were quite thirsty and the two plastic jugs of water on the side were empty, next to a pile of used cups. Aside from these few minor problems, we had a most enjoyable stay and would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing, romantic night with your significant other.

Room Tip: We loved our suite which had its own little garden area overlooking the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasidespencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review

I am delighted to read that you had an amazing visit with us, and that you appreciated the new Tides @ Homewood Restaurant which only opened last week. The hotel really does offer a beautiful mix of modern and contemporary whilst retaining many of the period features that make the house so unique.

Thank you for pointing out a couple of areas where we can improve, we certainly welcome all feedback and act on our guests comments so that we can continue to meet our guests expectations

We hope to welcome you back again

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    223
    98
    54
    34
See reviews for
124
384
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel was everything we expected and a special valentines treat for us both!
The modern spa set in the quiet picturesque grounds was amazing!! Swimming in the outdoor heated pool under the stars was very romantic and an unforgettable experience, followed by a relaxing soak in the hydrotherapy pool.
The room was modernly decorated, spacious and kitted out with flat screen tv, DVD player and all the extras as you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
For our evening meal we both had steak and it was superb really did melt in your mouth we could not fault any of the service or food offered.
Would recommend as a special treat for anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csayeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review

I am so pleased to read that you had such an amazing stay and that we were able to offer the perfect place for that Valentines Day treat.

Thank you for your wonderful comments which I have passed on to the team

We very much hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Homewood Park recently and had a wonderful stay. Both of us enjoyed the spa and a massage (although pricey, prices for treatments generally aligned with treatments in other spa / hotels). We stayed in a Deluxe room, which was large and comfortable and also enjoyed a cream-tea in the cosy, dog-friendly lounge which was just charming!
Both of us were impressed with the friendliness of the staff, particularly the restaurant staff and had a truly delicious, impressive 3-course meal in the hotels new restaurant. The food was simply outstanding, a true attention to detail and taste with a good choice of wine. The food was reasonably priced for the standard we received; perfectly cooked and nicely presented. We would definitely visit again, especially the restaurant, however agree with previous comments that the decor is somewhat interesting and contemporary.
Would definitely recommend. Amy & Simon, Cardiff, Wales

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyp1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Amy and Simon

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Homewood

I am delighted that the new Tides @ Homewood restaurant exceeded all of your expectations, we are very excited about the new menu and the modern and contemporary dining space we are now able to offer. Thank you for your kind comments regarding all aspects of your stay, I have passed these on to the team here.

We do hope to welcome you both back in the future

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is a classic country house hotel and ticks all the boxes for exactly that - i.e. not super luxurious, but comfortably, cosy and friendly. Room 11 was large and clean with a lovely view and the staff were all very helpful. The décor in the newly renovated restaurant is a little overpowering, but it's smart and the food and service were very good. Only complaint - rather slow breakfast service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familybrosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Homewood Park

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed all of the facilities and the new Tides @ Homewood restaurant which offers a stylish modern dining experience

We hope to welcome you back to stay in the future

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We have had three lovely stays at Homewood Park but while the staff are brilliant the hotel is I am afraid losing it's charm. The new restaurant is completely out of character with the rest of the hotel and the food is extremely pricey and simply nowhere near the standard it was last year. It is in danger of becoming just another hotel that seems it has to re decorate in grey to keep up with the times. The spa is lovely and as I say the staff are very nice indeed but if the hotel knew that one of the reasons people liked it was for its homely charm it would not change much. It maybe that a new company or owner has taken it over? Either way sorry to say, we shall try somewhere else in future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braveheart106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review regarding your return stay to Homewood Park

I am delighted to read that the staff and the spa still exceed expectations after your third visit and I have passed your kind comments on to the team

However, I was disappointed to read that you do not share ours and others delight with the new restaurant. We are constantly trying to improve the facilities on offer at the hotel and are heavily investing in the property. Unfortunately, we will never be able to meet everybody’s expectations as individual taste is very subjective, however we are very happy with the modern and contemporary atmosphere that Tides @ Homewood offers.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Homewood in the future

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

As we are fortunate to live locally we had no need to book a room. But on the recommendation of many of our friends who have stayed here we decided to book ourselves a Spa Day. And we are jolly glad we did! When we arrived the staff were coping with the last minute painting etc for the opening of the new Restaurant but that did not hinder the welcome and service they gave us. The Spa may be small but it is perfectly formed and the facilities are second to none that I have experienced (and those are many). We were particularly impressed with the massage! I haven't had a better one anywhere and believe me I am picky! I was so impressed that I have booked another Spa Day this one for my daughter and myself so we can celebrate her Birthday and Mother's Day as they are on the same day this year. Can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent spa day

We are always delighted to welcome our local guests and are exceptionally pleased to hear that you had a fantastic day, enjoyed all the facilities and have booked to return again to celebrate two very special occasions

I have passed all of your kind comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back next month

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

On way home from a wonderful 3 night stay. From the moment we booked with the wonderful reception staff who advised us on which they felt was the nicest room, to recommendations of restaurant we couldn't have chosen a more wonderful break. We arrived and was taken to our room (17) which is massive with a bedroom area, seating area looking out in to a private garden and a small gate which led o the spa, not forgetting the gorgeous spacious bathroom. The breakfasts are great as other people have mentioned and the spa treatments are as good as any I have had. We ate one night at the recommended Inn at Freshford a must visit. The hotel is old and there are cheeky doors and floors but this just added to the charm. Special mention to the girls on reception unfortunately did not catch there names but they were wonderful and we will most certainly be retuning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChigwellGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Homewood Park

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderfully relaxing break and that you made full use of all our facilities including the fabulous spa and their treatments on offer.

I have passed your feedback and thanks on to the team here, and we all hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 31 in Bath
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,315 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing