We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic stay at the hotel. We arrived on the 13th January to a very warm welcome, followed by a surprise upgrade to the master suite (rm 19) was an amazing start to a wonderful experience. A gorgeous room awaited us with a beautiful bathroom, living room and bedroom. The spa facilities were great. Swimming in the heated outdoor pool, on a rainy evening in January was magical. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant, with exceptional service and great food and wine. The staff were all friendly and knowledgeable and nothing seemed too much. All in all, this hotel comes very highly recommended and we look forward to hopefully returning soon.

Room Tip: The master suite was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorset12352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to read that you had such an amazing stay with us, and I’m pleased that we were able to upgrade you to a Master Suite. I have passed all of your kind comments onto the team.

The team and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at Homewood Park on Boxing night. The hotel is lovely but maybe a little expensive for a small village. Overall the room was nice, a little cold in the middle of winter.

Watch out - check out time is 11am which we weren't warned about at check in so we had planned for 12pm. Got a slightly annoyed call from the staff at 11.40 asking us why we haven't left - be warned!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marksdavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I do apologise that you were not aware that check out was 11am. This is included in our confirmation letters as well as in the guest directory which is placed in all bedrooms, I’m sorry you missed these - we will look into making it clearer.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

What a disappointing experience! We prebooked lunch on New Years day confirming it was also a birthday celebration and was promised something at dessert time to acknowledge the day. We arrived and no one bothered to take our coats or offered us drinks and canapes like they used to. It seemed they wanted our menu order first but we held off and asked for drinks. Admittedly we did take our time as we were so busy catching up with family news. Eventually we moved into the dining room which had been stripped of all the previous victorian charm and replaced with a minimalistic contemporary look which may be in vogue but lacked atmosphere and warmth. Service was pleasant and the food ok but nothing to write home about. Price for price the Bath Priory is far superior with stunning food, more courses for the same price and exemplary service.
We didnt get any acknowledgement for my mothers birthday as promised and despite the reminder she didnt even get a happy bithday wish from the staff. Overall, whilst it now has a spa and new owners the quality of the experience was nowhere near as good as it used to be and I doubt that we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am disappointed to read about your lunch experience and can only apologise for letting you down. This is certainly not up to our usual high standards of service and I can assure you that I will be looking into the matter further to ensure it doesn’t happen again.

I do hope that you will give us another try and that we get to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

A small comfortable Country House Hotel in nice grounds but well located just south of Bath. Our room was large and well appointed with great views over the Gardens to the countryside beyond. The double room was large and the bed was huge. The public rooms are traditional and comfortable but a little compact for the numbers at the wedding at which we were Guests. We did not use the Spa facilities. Our Breakfast was buffet style including cooked and of good quality. We were particularly impressed by mass production of consistently good poached eggs. We would consider staying as a normal guest.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a wonderful Christmas Day lunch here 2 years ago. Well, what a difference 2 years and a change in ownership makes. This year we were told on arrival that there was no space for us in the restaurant (despite our booking being confirmed) and it would be perfectly nice for us to sit in the Lounge on our own. After stressing that this was unacceptable (three times) we were seated in the Study with a few other tables. Whilst the staff told us how lovely the refurbished restaurant was we were not given the pleasure of experiencing it.
As the food had been wonderful in the past we were hoping the same would be true this time. Alas it was not to be. Starting with mulled wine that tasted completely sour I was looking forward to my starter of goats cheese on a potato stack. What appeared on my plate was a flat "terrine" of chopped up vegetables with a hint of cheese with the edge wrapped in semi raw potato. Not tasty. The Turkey was ok but unfortunately the vegetables and trimmings reminded me of a badly cooked school dinner where the roast potatoes tasted old and the veg had been cooked hours ago. The puddings were nice.
The staff appeared to be completely over stretched. We saw no one for long periods and then when they did appear they were always in a rush. But mostly we were just left on our own, in the end we got up and went out to ask to have our coffee in the Lounge. As the unattended fire had now gone out it was a rather dismal end to a very disappointing day. We feel completely let down, whilst the hotel appeared to pack in at least two sittings and no doubt made an excellent profit at £99/head they have alienated customers who have enjoyed eating here several times in the past and will never do so again. Nor will we be recommending to our friends.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Bella426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit for Christmas Day Lunch.

We had by far our busiest day ever in terms of the number of people having Christmas Day Lunch, and therefore we had two sittings to try and stagger the demand. However, unfortunately those who dined at the first sitting took longer to vacate the tables than we had expected therefore resulting in a delay for those at the second sitting.

For this I can only profusely apologise, and ensure you that we have learnt many lessons from this year that will help us to ensure next year it runs a lot smoother for everyone.

I do hope that this hasn’t put you off visiting us again, as the team and I all hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

An unforgettable experience but not in a good way. We arrived at 2.30pm, our coats were taken and we were directed to the drawing room where our order for pre-lunch drinks would be taken. At 25 past 3 we asked at the desk about drinks. At 10 to 4 drinks arrived and then sometime later canapes with a promise that our table would be ready in two minutes. No sign of a menu; we borrowed one from another couple. We were taken to the dining room at just after 4; at 10 to 5 we complained again and our starters arrived.
No waiter came to take an order for wine; we had to ask.
Another long wait and another complaint to the receptionist, brought about our main meal.
A sudden rush by the staff meant that our coffee and cake was brought before our dessert.
I refused to pay the discretionary service charge and was promised dinner for two in compensation. To this date no email to this effect.
There was no one in charge and we felt very strongly that residents were being given preferential treatment.
Nearly 5 hours later we arrived home at 10 past 7 which is only a 20 minute drive away with plans for the rest of our evening in disarray. Altogether a far more stressful experience than cooking Christmas lunch and very very disapppointing.
I doubt I would recommend Homewood Park and certainly not for Christmas.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit for Christmas Day Lunch.

We had by far our busiest day ever in terms of the number of people having Christmas Day Lunch, and therefore we had two sittings to try and stagger the demand. However, unfortunately those who dined at the first sitting took longer to vacate the tables than we had expected therefore resulting in a delay for those at the second sitting.

For this I can only profusely apologise, and ensure you that we have learnt many lessons from this year that will help us to ensure next year it runs a lot smoother for everyone.

I do hope that this hasn’t put you off visiting us again, as the team and I all hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had booked dinner here on New Year's Day but expectations were dashed on our arrival. Signage at night was bad and some of the sign lights were nor working, so we overshot the entrance. Eventually found the hotel entrance after walking down a potholed drive, most filled with water. Lighting again poor.
Greeted well inside and shown to a rather scruffy bar, full of old 'mulberry' style furniture, passed its best. Stack of old chairs piled under the stairs, perhaps after the previous night's party.
We dined in their restaurant which was depressingly decorated in dark green and badly lit.
However the evening was saved by the meal which was excellent. Great inovations, and much imagination. The staff were all very pleasant but the place needs some money spent on it, and for a country house hotel there wasn't a single real fire anywhere.
Perhaps again in the summer!

Room Tip: Take a torch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

Whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed dinner and found the food to be exceptional – I have passed your kind comments onto Chef – I was disappointed to read that you did not appreciate the décor of the hotel. Our new Tides at Homewood Park Restaurant opened February 2013 after an extensive refurbishment. The new restaurant is a fusion of traditional country house hotel with a modern twist, to date it has received mostly positive feedback.

Thank you for your constructive feedback, it is only with our guests comments that we can continue to improve our services and facilities on offer.

I do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 34 in Bath
209 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range: £118 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing