We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil delight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A tranquil delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

As you enter the driveway there is almost an immediate sense of serenity, reception is informal but efficient and helpful and our room (No 16) was large and well decorated with a bed that was large enough to accommodate a family! but very comfortable. The bathroom had both a shower and a separate bath and had a lovely array of shampoos, moisturisers etc.
We stayed for 2 nights over 21/22 February and had dinner on the first night. A small but adequate menu but the food and presentation was superb and the staff delightful. The range of wines was good but expensive, The decor of the dining rooms and lounges is so very tasteful and very comfortable, I would like to have the designer decorate my home!
The outdoor pool is heated to a refreshing 28 degrees and the spa, sauna and steam rooms made our visits to them a real pleasure. You do need to walk outside from the hotel to access the spa, no problem unless it is raining.
We decided not to take the car into Bath but the hotel called a taxi for us, it was well worth the £13 fare but if we had wanted to there is a Park & Ride not far from the hotel.
On our second night we drove just a few minutes down the road to the village of Freshford where the little pub serves good food.,
Breakfast was very traditional but the kippers on my second morning were among the best i have ever tasted.
Overall a wonderful weekend, great hotel with excellent friendly and efficient staff, well done to you all and thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.
One little moan! Can you create a slightly larger turning circle outside reception, its very tight especially if you arrive in the dark.

Room Tip: WE only saw our room (room 16) but the hotel is surrounded by gardens so all views will be delightfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us in February.

I am thrilled to read you both had such a lovely couple of nights away, taking advantage of everything we have to offer including dining in our Tides restaurant and the use of the luxurious spa facilities. A day in Bath and also a visit to the local Village of Freshford for a delicious meal sounded like a perfect way to spend your second day with us.

I will pass all of your kind comments on to the team.

We hope to welcome you back to Homewood Park in the Summer so you can enjoy an Afternoon Tea in our award-winning Gardens.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    211
    89
    51
    31
See reviews for
116
365
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford on Avon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Previous visits to have afternoon tea in the sitting room, led us to hope that after the takeover by Longleat, the refit of the hotel would exude the country house charm that this building deserves, just take a peek at the exterior. Such a disappointment to find that an interior designer had taken no account of the history of the area, even worse to fit out and furnish an hotel as if it were in a city centre, not a trace of Somerset or England! Travellers want to live the life of the place that they are visiting, not find one hotel merging into another irrespective of where they are in the world.
We had dinner with several groups from Japan who were in Bath for the great attractions of the architecture and literary connections, they all looked decidedly uninspired, nothing to look at except swirly patterned curtains and velvet upholstery. The decor of the restaurant and rooms is fine, even beautiful but not right for this house.

The food was very good but, and this is nit picking, because there are no tablecloths it is even more important to clean the tables after the main and of course after the diners leave. We were left on a Saturday night sitting amid an ever increasing number of littered tables.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback for your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and I will pass your kind comments onto the team.

We are all very proud of the house, of which still retains many of its original features of the Georgian building including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes.Unfortunately, we will never be able to meet everybody’s expectations as individual taste is very subjective, however we are very happy with the modern and contemporary atmosphere that Tides at Homewood offers.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Homewood in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had our wedding here on 31 December 2013. From our first visit when looking for a location the staff were very friendly, helpful and made us feel welcome. The hotel has a lovely relaxed feel but still very professional. Every visit was a pleasure and the hotel on our wedding day exceeded our expectations. I stayed the night before with my parents and chief bridesmaid and the staff helped make the day what it was, very special. They could not do enough for us. Sheila was amazing throughout coordinating all the details and Claire and Neil in particular on the day were amazing. Their attitude and hard work made the day very personal. The rooms are truly beautiful and the grounds stunning. All of our guests have commented on how lovely the hotel is and the quality of the food. The wedding breakfast was superb. The guests that stayed were all very impressed with their rooms and said they would like to go back. Thank you again! Natalie & Mark

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Natalie & Mark,

Thank you for the review on your Wedding Day here at Homewood Park in December.

I am so pleased to read that you both had an amazing day and I am glad we helped made your day very special. It’s lovely to hear that you both got to enjoy the rooms and grounds during your time with us.

I will pass all of the kind comments on to our teams from you and your guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your 1st Anniversary with your complimentary stay.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The cost for one night was very high, so of course we had very high expectations. Most of these expectations were succeeded, as the rooms made you feel at home and the service showed how well staff are trained.
However, for the amount you already paid to stay at the hotel, prices in the bar and spa were far above what we thought they would be. The lounge and bar areas were also quite small and easy to fill.
Overall the room was very cosy, and we received a kind, warm welcome from the receptionist. Service was excellent, and food was up to a high equality. The only faults was space, and expense.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizyB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the room, food and the quality of service we provide to our guests.

We hope to welcome you both back for an Easter Break perhaps!

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked a junior suite for a 3 night stay at the end of January. When we checked in we were told we'd been upgraded to a suite (room 18). This was a real treat ! The suite was enormous with access to a small private garden and the spa and pool. We couldn't have been more comfortable.

On our first night we ate at Tides restaurant, and had a very acceptable meal. The food was well presented and beautifully cooked, however the portions were quite small for the price. The service however was a little bit lacking. We ordered a tonic water when we sat down for dinner, and when it arrived, it was just put on the table in the bottle with no glass, let alone ice and a slice - a small criticism, but a 4 star hotel should know better. The wine was also a little too pricey.

The bed in our suite was the biggest we've ever slept in, and superbly comfortable. I couldn't fault the cleanliness or comfort of our accommodation. The roll top bath in the cavernous bathroom was wonderful. Breakfast was delicious and the service was efficient on all mornings of our stay.

We also used the spa each day, which was extremely nice and very relaxing. Swimming outdoors on a cold January evening was fabulous.

On our last afternoon, we returned to the hotel, and looked to order some sandwiches and a drink in the bar. We waited some considerable time but no one seemed to be around. My husband had to go and find a member of staff and asked them if we could be served. We were finally served, but we shouldn't have had to go looking for service.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay, and will hopefully return later in the year for another short break. Our only criticism would be the level of service, which just needs a little consideration. Get that right and this is a very nice small country hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have passed all your comments onto the teams.

We hope you welcome you back to in the near future,perhaps for a long weekend in the Summer!

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I don’t know how people can fault this place. We stayed here for one night in February on a Travelzoo offer with breakfast. Everything ran smoothly and we had a wonderful stay. Our junior suite (room 17) was amazing, lovely decor, big four poster bed and a bathroom the size of a double bedroom with a free standing bath! Our room was on the ground floor over looking the gardens and the only bad comment I could write was that the room above us had very creaky floorboards meaning we could hear the people above at 6.30 in the morning when they got up. The staff are so friendly and made us feel at home straight away. Be aware when checking in they will 'hold' £50 from your bank account to cover any room service etc, a little annoying. We didn’t eat dinner at the hotel so cannot comment on that but we did have breakfast which was fantastic, continental with the choice to have a full English breakfast as well. We had a lovely relaxing 2 hours in the spa - that’s the longest you can probably spend as it is quite small, very clean and modern though. All in all we would definitely stay here again if visiting Bath (around a 15 minute hilly car journey to the centre of bath). I don’t think I would pay full price however but if another offer came up I wouldn’t hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Room 17 was beautifully decorated and had lovely views of the gardens. Go for a high room if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wel0vecyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fabulous review.

I am so pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed all of the facilities and amenities.

The team and I all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I rang some days before arriving to say I was on a wheelchair and requested a room near reception without stairs. At check in they said they had a room but there would be a couple of steps.. This turned out to be 9 steps and a 50 yards walk on crutches along a wet stone path. When we complained we were told there was no alternative. Later they said we could use a different drive which would get us much nearer to the room. When we returned after dinner we took this route only to find a locked gate. Reception took ages to find the key, by which time we had given up, after backing the car 80 yards in the dark. The air conditioning in our room was set at 20c, too hot for us but a sign on the control said don't touch, and all the windows were locked, with no key. We had to leave the door open to get cooler, by the morning the airco was not working and there was no hot water. The room phone was not working either, and my mobile was out of range, so after two visits across the open and the stone path, we got permission to shower in an adjoining room . The hotel did not have a wheelchair. The staff were unhelpful. They offered me a discount of 25 % but I think over £150 for no hot water outrageous. The breakfast was good

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Blantyre98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. We pride ourselves on offering the highest levels of customer service so I can only apologise that you feel we let you down on this occasion.

Unfortunately, the only rooms we had available upon your arrival were up 2 flights of stairs, so we thought the Garden Suite would be the most suited for you as there were less steps on the way to this room. Our Receptionist and Duty Manager on the day offered for you to use a closer driveway when you returned from your evening in Bath, which is locked after 5pm for the safety of our guests, I can only apologise that you had to wait for us to obtain the key.

However, I am sorry that you did not overly enjoy your stay but I am pleased that on departure we discounted your bill accordingly.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so that we may restore your faith in Homewood Park. If you do decide to return please do not hesitate to contact me on 01225 723731 to arrange your stay.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing