We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

My mum and I had a girlie trip away and absolutely loved this beautiful hotel. The staff were warm and friendly and the food was to a very high standard. We enjoyed a delicious three course dinner having enjoyed afternoon tea served in the drawing room just a few hours before! A morning swim and steam made a little room for a fabulous breakfast the next morning too.
The room was spacious with a superb standard of cleanliness together with a beautiful view of the garden.
We used the spa facilities which were again of a high standard. The only disappointment was the very limited seating area. We were restricted to less comfortable seats until much later in the afternoon when the loungers became available.
Overall though I would highly recommend this beautiful house as a perfect get away and I will certainly be returning. Thank you Homeward Park for a relaxing break...

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Toria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us.

It is great to read all of your positive comments on the different aspects of the hotel, such as your dining experience and spa facilities, of which I have passed onto the team.

We all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    211
    89
    51
    31
See reviews for
116
365
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

On arrival you pull into the long driveway and can admire the beautiful building and grounds. There was plenty of parking available and reception is just a short walk from the car park. Checking in was swift and easy and the receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful - we felt relaxed immediately! Our room (room 8, 22nd Feb 14) was wonderfully decorated, clean & spacious and the bed was so comfortable I didnt want to get up. The toilettries provided in our bathroom were Elemis so I need not have brought my own. There were lots of great walks nearby where I could take my dog for a walk (the hotel accepts dogs - and even offers a complimentary dog bed - excellent). We did not eat dinner here but plan to when we return again as the menu looked delicious and the restaurant was a fabulous room to dine in. The Spa was outstanding (only 3 years old). The outdoor pool was warm, it felt so strange swimming outside in winter - but I loved every moment, and the sauna, steam room and hydrotherapy pool were heaven! The ideal place to pamper yourself and relax for hours.
I highly recommend this hotel, so much so that we plan to return for a long weekend in a few weeks time. The service was excellent and friendly, the hotel decor amazing and clean, the food (room service and breakfast) delicious, and the spa was outstanding.
Thank you for a wonderful break!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fabulous review.

I am delighted to read that you had such an amazing stay with us, and that we were able make use of our very relaxing spa facilities while you were here.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you both back to Homewood Park in the near future so you can hopefully enjoy dining in our Tides Restaurant.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Booked Homewood Park's Signature Spa and lunch package for my friends 50th Birthday treat. There were three of us and we arrived at 10am to find a beautiful hotel with very friendly and attentive staff. The spa was lovely and all 3 of us were suitably impressed by the standard of facilities and our spa treatments. We even managed to swim in the heated outdoor pool- unheard of in February in the UK!!!! After a fabulous morning of pampering we headed to the restaurant for an outstanding 2 course lunch. We were all really impressed by the menu choices and the standard of food and presentation was superb. Hats off to the chef we couldn't have wished for better food. We retired to one of the drawing rooms for coffee and were presented with a tray of delicious home made chocolates and macaroons which capped off the day perfectly. The staff were all very friendly and professioal and I cant find a thing to colmplain aboutt. I can't recommend this hotel and spa enough. We had a fabulous day and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandaj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review on your Spa Day.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your day here on one of our very popular spa days to help celebrate your friend’s birthday. It’s also great to read that you found our staff attentive and friendly, and that you very much enjoyed your lunch which was included in your package- I will be sure to pass all of your comments on to the team.

We hope to welcome you back on our annual Summer Spa Day which will be available to book from mid-May.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

As you enter the driveway there is almost an immediate sense of serenity, reception is informal but efficient and helpful and our room (No 16) was large and well decorated with a bed that was large enough to accommodate a family! but very comfortable. The bathroom had both a shower and a separate bath and had a lovely array of shampoos, moisturisers etc.
We stayed for 2 nights over 21/22 February and had dinner on the first night. A small but adequate menu but the food and presentation was superb and the staff delightful. The range of wines was good but expensive, The decor of the dining rooms and lounges is so very tasteful and very comfortable, I would like to have the designer decorate my home!
The outdoor pool is heated to a refreshing 28 degrees and the spa, sauna and steam rooms made our visits to them a real pleasure. You do need to walk outside from the hotel to access the spa, no problem unless it is raining.
We decided not to take the car into Bath but the hotel called a taxi for us, it was well worth the £13 fare but if we had wanted to there is a Park & Ride not far from the hotel.
On our second night we drove just a few minutes down the road to the village of Freshford where the little pub serves good food.,
Breakfast was very traditional but the kippers on my second morning were among the best i have ever tasted.
Overall a wonderful weekend, great hotel with excellent friendly and efficient staff, well done to you all and thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.
One little moan! Can you create a slightly larger turning circle outside reception, its very tight especially if you arrive in the dark.

Room Tip: WE only saw our room (room 16) but the hotel is surrounded by gardens so all views will be delightfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us in February.

I am thrilled to read you both had such a lovely couple of nights away, taking advantage of everything we have to offer including dining in our Tides restaurant and the use of the luxurious spa facilities. A day in Bath and also a visit to the local Village of Freshford for a delicious meal sounded like a perfect way to spend your second day with us.

I will pass all of your kind comments on to the team.

We hope to welcome you back to Homewood Park in the Summer so you can enjoy an Afternoon Tea in our award-winning Gardens.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford on Avon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Previous visits to have afternoon tea in the sitting room, led us to hope that after the takeover by Longleat, the refit of the hotel would exude the country house charm that this building deserves, just take a peek at the exterior. Such a disappointment to find that an interior designer had taken no account of the history of the area, even worse to fit out and furnish an hotel as if it were in a city centre, not a trace of Somerset or England! Travellers want to live the life of the place that they are visiting, not find one hotel merging into another irrespective of where they are in the world.
We had dinner with several groups from Japan who were in Bath for the great attractions of the architecture and literary connections, they all looked decidedly uninspired, nothing to look at except swirly patterned curtains and velvet upholstery. The decor of the restaurant and rooms is fine, even beautiful but not right for this house.

The food was very good but, and this is nit picking, because there are no tablecloths it is even more important to clean the tables after the main and of course after the diners leave. We were left on a Saturday night sitting amid an ever increasing number of littered tables.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback for your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and I will pass your kind comments onto the team.

We are all very proud of the house, of which still retains many of its original features of the Georgian building including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes.Unfortunately, we will never be able to meet everybody’s expectations as individual taste is very subjective, however we are very happy with the modern and contemporary atmosphere that Tides at Homewood offers.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Homewood in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had our wedding here on 31 December 2013. From our first visit when looking for a location the staff were very friendly, helpful and made us feel welcome. The hotel has a lovely relaxed feel but still very professional. Every visit was a pleasure and the hotel on our wedding day exceeded our expectations. I stayed the night before with my parents and chief bridesmaid and the staff helped make the day what it was, very special. They could not do enough for us. Sheila was amazing throughout coordinating all the details and Claire and Neil in particular on the day were amazing. Their attitude and hard work made the day very personal. The rooms are truly beautiful and the grounds stunning. All of our guests have commented on how lovely the hotel is and the quality of the food. The wedding breakfast was superb. The guests that stayed were all very impressed with their rooms and said they would like to go back. Thank you again! Natalie & Mark

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Natalie & Mark,

Thank you for the review on your Wedding Day here at Homewood Park in December.

I am so pleased to read that you both had an amazing day and I am glad we helped made your day very special. It’s lovely to hear that you both got to enjoy the rooms and grounds during your time with us.

I will pass all of the kind comments on to our teams from you and your guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your 1st Anniversary with your complimentary stay.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The cost for one night was very high, so of course we had very high expectations. Most of these expectations were succeeded, as the rooms made you feel at home and the service showed how well staff are trained.
However, for the amount you already paid to stay at the hotel, prices in the bar and spa were far above what we thought they would be. The lounge and bar areas were also quite small and easy to fill.
Overall the room was very cosy, and we received a kind, warm welcome from the receptionist. Service was excellent, and food was up to a high equality. The only faults was space, and expense.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizyB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the room, food and the quality of service we provide to our guests.

We hope to welcome you both back for an Easter Break perhaps!

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing