We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and good facilities spoilt by poor service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely couple of days in the Bath area. We stayed at the Homewood Spa Hotel- what a lovely place in such beautiful surroundings.Whilst we were happy with the bedroom, the breakfast and quality of facilities, we were really disappointed with the level of service we received, very surprising for a 4* Hotel as we stay in many hotels during the course of a year and have mostly good experiences of similar hotels. There was no one to welcome us in reception and we waited a good while before anyone came to check us in. We went into the Spa in the afternoon which was very nice. Unfortunately however, the phone in that area only worked intermittently and we weren’t able to order any drinks (the masseur who we had spoken to said it said the phone was dodgy!). Why then if people knew it didn’t work properly had no one come and mended it. Also, would it be too difficult for a waiter to pop down from time to time to take orders? A bit of friendly service?? The most disappointing aspect was the following morning. It says the spa opens at 8am. We signed in (there was no one at the reception) then arrived about 8.20am but the pool cover was still on and the sauna and steam room were stone cold and not on at all. We went back into the main hotel (still no one on the spa reception and phone still not working) and found a waiter who said the electrics must have ‘tripped off.’ In fact, the lady on main reception told us later that no one had turned up to put things on – apparently this is normally done soon after 7am to give time for things to heat up.
It therefore meant that we weren’t able to make use of the facilities as even 1/2 hour later nothing was hot enough. Frankly, I found this appalling for a hotel advertising itself as a Spa Hotel and it really spoilt my enjoyment of the time there as I was looking forward to this aspect. I have raised this with the staff and feel we should have been compensated as we were unable to enjoy the facilities as advertised. However, although I got an apology I got the distinct feeling that they didn't really care. My husband and I were left with the overall opinion that this hotel is undoubtedly in a lovely place and the facilities are really good. However, if the service is this poor (the hotel was clearly understaffed) then it leaves you disappointment - we expected better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs Tait,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us, I’m sorry to read you felt our apologies in response to your to email was not suffice to the shortcomings of your stay with us, as explained previously I am glad to read that you were happy with the breakfast, bedroom and quality of facilities.

Again, please accept my apologies, I am very disappointed that it spoilt the end of your time with us. The receptionist at the time of your arrival was dealing with another guest at the time- sorry that you had to wait for a few minutes before being seen to. Unfortunately we were unable to fix the problem with the spa phone on site so we are awaiting a replacement phone for the spa which will be here very shortly, in the meantime the spa phone works for the majority of the phone calls we receive from the spa. We initially thought the electrics had tripped before finding out that sauna and steam room were in fact turned off, these rooms take around 20-30 minutes to heat so should have been hot enough for use.

I do hope that you will return to Homewood Park in the near future so we are able to show you that we pride ourselves on excellent customer service and do our utmost for all of our guests that stay with us.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Our suite was out of this world the staff were very helpful all had the makings of the perfect weekend break, however the food was very disappointing especially the cold very stingy breakfast...half a mushroom, half a tomato, one small rasher of bacon & raw potatoes! On a more positive note the spa is lovely as was my massage but unfortunately my manicure was terrible & I couldn't wait to sort it out myself. I hope my review is helpful & my criticism is constructive this house is truly stunning

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay.

I am so pleased to read how happy you were with your Suite and found the staff very helpful.

I am, however, disappointed to read that the food was not to your taste, it’s very rare that we receive negative comments about the food, but I will pass your comments onto the Kitchen team.

We hope to welcome you back to Homewood Park Hotel at some point over the summer months.

Kind Regards,

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel ranks as one of the best we have stayed in. The room was beautiful, the bed was huge, the bedding top quality and the decor was lovely.
I love teh mix of traditional features with contemporary style which is seen throughout the hotel. The added bonus is the lovely outdoor pool and spa area, bath robes and slippers provided !
The dining room was stylish and our evening meal faultless. Maybe a little more choice if we were to stay longer. Lovely cozy lounge with a fire burning and seperate bar.
All the staff were a credit to the hotel - we will hopefully be back !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slinketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at Homewood Park.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

I very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I needed a last minute get away and this hotel was a perfect choice. At £139 per room, per night including breakfast through Secret Escapes this was superb value for money. The hotel is five miles out of Bath and going in to town was simple from that direction, there was plenty of convenient car parks.

The hotel has a really modern and tasteful interior. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room (12) was lovely and the bed was huge and very comfy. The food is superb reflecting a very talented chef who obviously likes to add quirky touches.

The disappointments included the over-priced wine list. The cheapest wines (and not of a very good standard) were £35-£45. The spa was really expensive compared to other hotels of this level and the fittings in our bathroom needed attention to stop them falling off the wall.

The down sides were far outweighed by the loveliness of the hotel and the very accommodating staff.

Room Tip: I would imagine all the rooms would be lovely. There is no fridge or mini bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiterabbitoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, look out for our 1 and 2 night spa breaks on our website which include a variety of spa treatments.

The team and I all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was treated to a surprise night away at Homewood Park in March 2014. We stayed in a garden suite room, it was just perfect and didn't feel like a normal hotel room. The room was very peaceful and felt very secluded. The spa was lovely, there were only a few other couples there. We had dinner in the restaurant and really enjoyed everything we had. The staff were very welcoming. Overall a thoroughly relaxing stay, we hope to be back soon!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rzh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fabulous review.

It is great to read all of your positive comments which I have passed onto the team.

We all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just spent two wonderful nights here, fantastic room, the spa was amazing, massage on arrival, jacuzzi both days and had a swim in the heated out door pool, breakfast was exceptional - a truly relaxing and special break. Opted for room service in the evenings after using spa - prompt service great food. Definitely will be returning.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us in March. I am delighted to read you both had such a wonderful time here.

I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to the team.

We hope to welcome you back to Homewood Park very soon.

Kind Regards

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We got married at Homewood Park in January 2014. The staff were so warm, friendly and helpful from start to finish, they were very well organised and they really went all out to make our day special and ensure the day ran smoothly. The hotel itself was very clean and looked stunning, the lighting was very good indoors and so we were able to get great indoor pictures as well as some great outdoor pictures in the lovely well kept gardens. We used the spa the day before the wedding and the day after and again it was very clean, the pool outside was slightly cool but was still usable and the indoor Jacuzzi was great. I had a full body massage which was very good and much needed. The food was brilliant, and they did very well to accommodate our guests dietary requirements. All our guests absolutely loved the fish and chip cones, (evening finger food) which were actually really impressive and absolutely delicious. All in all we had a wonderful time and so did our friends and family, it really is a perfect venue for a wedding and we couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: we had room 3 which was stunning, and overlooked the gardens, it had high ceilings and a huge bed, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimberley14388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh W, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Kimberley & Martin,

Thank you for the review on your Wedding Day here at Homewood Park in January.

I am so pleased to read that you both had an amazing day and I am glad we helped made your day very special. It’s lovely to hear that you both managed to enjoy the spa and treatments during your time with us.

I will pass all of the your kind comments on to our teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your complimentary stay to celebrate your 1st Anniversary.

Kind Regards,

Joshua Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,452 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
268 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range: £102 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing