We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently stayed at Homewood Park for a reunion with four old friends. On arrival the cheerful and efficient receptionist was very helpful, in fact we couldn't fault any of the staff during our stay, they were all lovely, especially Carlos during the breakfast service. Our room was elegantly furnished and very spacious, the beds were extremely comfortable. Everywhere was immaculately clean. After we had afternoon tea served in the beautiful gardens we all spent a couple of hours in the delightful Spa, I have never swam in an outdoor pool during April in the UK before, however, this was heated to 28 degrees all year round and was really lovely. We made good use of the other spa facilities, its the perfect place to unwind. Slippers and dressing gowns are supplied which were very useful. Dinner in the restaurant that evening was excellent, we couldn't fault the food or the service. Breakfast the next morning was taken in the same restaurant with beautiful views over the gardens, once again the food and service was faultless. It was a pity we couldn't stay longer, but would love to return sometime and will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheilaB817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    223
    98
    54
    34
See reviews for
124
384
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days for our anniversary and had a wonderful time.

I think we had a Standard Room booked but got upgraded to a Deluxe Room. I say that based on the size of the bed we had in Room 14. It was massive - and very comfortable. The room itself was at the back of the main house, was very spacious, well-appointed and spotless - with great views from the large windows at the rear. Very tastefully furnished too. The only downside to the room was the shower - which was just about alright - but the bottom of the bath was rounded with no flat surface, so you had to stand on two opposing slopes while having a not very powerful shower. That aside, the room was very, very good. Interestingly, with the curtains drawn at night, the room was completely blacked out and perfectly silent - an experience which is as welcome as it is rare in hotels. We had a great undisturbed sleep on both nights.

The food in the hotel is top notch, well-presented and served in very tasteful surroundings. We had a light supper in the lounge on our first night and then the full dinner experience in the dining room on the second night. We also had a full breakfast on both of our mornings there. Everything about our dining experiences was just fine. The price of food in the hotel is also very reasonable.

At just 7 miles or so outside Bath, we were able to pop in both days for some shopping during the day - which was great. Nice place Bath.

I was a little surprised at the music which is piped into the communal areas, including the lounge, bar and dining room. It was sort of "Radio 2 pop music". I quite liked it but was expecting instrumental classical music - but that might just be me.

The Spa is a bit on the small side, but seemed to be adequate in size for the number of clients in the hotel. We used the steam room, sauna, bubble pool and outdoor pool a few times during our stay and found them very relaxing indeed.

All in all, we were looking for a nice relaxing break and to step off the World for a couple of days. This hotel, in a really nice woodland setting, is a really high quality place which gave us just that.

I recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked the whole hotel for two days for our daughter's wedding this April. The whole experience was stunning. Staff were so helpful and faultless with the planning and on the day of the wedding they were superb. 'They went that extra mile'! The property is beautiful, perfect for a fairy tale wedding. Rooms immaculate, grounds well kept. Thoroughly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motherofthebride348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I recently attended a wedding at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Spa was an added bonus and the perfect place to rejuvenate after the big night before. The room i stayed in was very large and nicely furnished. The location is beautiful. Good times.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My (now) wife and I were overjoyed to have our wedding hosted by Homewood park and in the run up to the wedding they were very helpful and put our minds at ease regarding what was to be the biggest day of our lives. We were a little disappointed that we were told it wouldn't have been practical for us to use one of their beautiful outside bedrooms as Kate's bridal party was too large (especially as this is what set our minds on Homewood park).
On the morning of the wedding I arrived a good 4 hours early to help set up only to find that everything has been done, so I sat to await my bride, during this time the staff were all charming and seemed to share my excitement and (no small amount of) nerves! I was offered coffee and anything else I wanted.
As a whole the day ran fantastically smoothly! We couldn't have asked for more!
Our only complaint was with the bar, there were a number of occasions were our guests were waiting for a bar person to show themselves, also beware if you are planning on having more than a couple of drinks, take a full wallet!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandBNewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cognac, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just returned to France after sharing an idyllic wedding experience at Homewood Park. My daughter (Kate) and her husband (Ben) enjoyed every moment of the year-long journey, leading up to their 'Big Day'. Throughout the process, Sheila and her staff were patient, helpful and unflappable! The hotel's attention to detail was superb and the quality of the bedrooms and grounds is first class. Homewood Park boasts fantastic breakfasts, a lovely heated outdoor pool for the children with gorgeous grounds to relax and play in. My wife and I cannot recommend Homewood Park too highly; as a wedding venue it has got to be amongst the best in the Bath area. THANK YOU!

Phil & Glyn Silvester

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb - for that extra bit of luxury the spa suites (Water Lily and Manuka) are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilSil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My partner and I stayed for three nights while exploring Bath. Our room was clean, very big and the bed was so comfy. The staff were lovely and always smiling. We ate dinner once and it was stunning although not a great choice for us fussy veggies. The breakfast was amazing. The best breakfast in a hotel by far! The spa area was very clean and we enjoyed use of the outdoor pool. We didn't realise you had to walk outside to assess the area but wasn't too much of a pain. I would like to revisit if I go to bath in the near future and would recommend. There was a short drive from the city so we couldn't drink unless we got a
cab. We did do the park and ride service which was good. My fav experience was the thermae spa twilight. Would say it a must! Thank you homewood for our stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahWeaverx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 31 in Bath
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,314 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing