We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but a little attention to detail required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but a little attention to detail required”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel last week. It is a stunning character property situated in beautifully maintained grounds. The spa is a real positive aspect of this hotel. It is well maintained - the pool, sauna and steam room are wonderful. We had a lovely time, however, we did feel that the hotel was definitely overpriced for the service received (many other reviewers have suggested the same) For example, you have to pay extra if you would like smoked salmon or haddock from the breakfast menu.
Based on our experience I would also highly recommend booking a table at Brasserie Blanc in Bath for dinner - fantastic value for money and a great ambiance. Only a 15 minute drive from the hotel.

Positives and negatives in brief:

+ spa towels were plentiful
+ spa & changing facilities clean and well maintained, lovely pool
+ room 12 beautifully furnished and lovely comfortable size.
+ luxurious bath robes.
+ very friendly and helpful staff
+ beautiful grounds

- no mini bar in rooms (this would be expected in a 4* hotel)
- no face cloths or tooth mugs provided in bathroom
- only 7 loungers around pool - definitely not enough for number of hotel rooms (20-22 rooms)
- breakfast very basic and top ups have to be requested rather than noticed by staff
- hotel ran out of brown bread & orange juice after 20 mins of serving breakfast - go early!
- breakfast service staff rather forgetful, they forgot our cooked order.

Overall we had a lovely stay but you may well feel cheated by the shortcomings if you have paid full price for your stay. It is a wonderful place that just needs a little more attention to detail to make it worth the cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    217
    91
    52
    31
See reviews for
117
371
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just back from a fabulous night away at this amazing hotel. The staff are superb, the facilities wonderful, a truly magnificent break. Left feeling throughly spoilt. The spa was fantastic and the gardens truly magnificent. Thank you, looking forward to next time already.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MChamp61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, Herts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

On arrival we were surprised to be told we were booked into a 2nd floor room, although we had no idea there were any 2nd floor rooms. As my wife can manage stairs only with difficulty we were not enthused, but the very helpful receptionist found us a room at the top of only one flight of stairs (plus a few extra steps that should have been fitted with a hand rail.)
The room itself was large, with a king size comfortable bed and with a large bathroom. A grab rail over the bath to aid the elderly easily to use the shower would have been a welcome addition.
On the whole the dinners were good albeit perhaps leaning towards nouvelle cuisine, but the limited menu was unchanged for the 3 nights we were there. As others have commented the wines are overpriced. Some house wines are available for £24, though the one we tried was not one we would ever drink again, but otherwise the one we had for £30 was excellent but could almost certainly have been bought in a supermarket for about £6-7.
For such an expensive hotel (where if you buy breakfast it costs £16) the buffet was barely adequate compared with many others we have used, and my cooked breakfast consisted of one rasher of bacon, half a medium sized mushroom and half a tomato!
We didn't use the drawing room, which looked gloomy and singularly unwelcoming, or the spa, but the grounds are large and pleasant to sit in or walk around.
With attention to detail the management could certainly effect some improvements.
Would we stay here again? Very doubtful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GodfreyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I traveled here in May 2014 with my family (husband, a toddler and an infant) and my in-laws. We booked two deluxe rooms in the original part of the hotel, both overlooking the gardens. The hotel had a very peaceful, tranquil feel yet at the same time I felt we were welcomed with our (well-behaved) children. Breakfast was in the restaurant downstairs - a very good selection and friendly service.

The rooms themselves were just what I was looking for - unique and individual. We had one room at the corner of the hotel which was very spacious - perfect for a family with two small children. We had plenty of room even with two mattresses for the children on the floor. There were windows that opened onto the gardens, with climbing roses right outside.

I did not use the spa myself, but my in-laws did and they seemed to enjoy the facilities very much. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I would much prefer the rooms in the main house instead of the "Master Suites" which were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryBonVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Arrived on a Wednesday for a spa experience.. I recommend you book before arrival!
Our first experience of staying at Homewood Park.. first impressions were not disappointing, beautiful surrounding and well kept gardens. We had room 20..very pleased, spacious, clean and very comfortable... bathroom a delight!! Our treatment, Hot stone massage and taster facial were wonderful and relaxing. Highly recommend Florence, who was friendly and professional throughout the treatment. The spa also sported a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and an outside heated swimming pool which was beautifully maintained.
Along with the hard working, professional and attentive maintenance manager, Eric and Lauren the pleasant receptionist, we were made to feel very welcome. We ate an evening meal and breakfast. Our only negative is there appeared to be a reluctance to replenish breakfast pastries and not very generous with the butter! I advise you arrive early for breakfast... We took a walk around the grounds which made for some beautiful photographs. We hope to return next year. We Would have put a 5 but for the breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Room 20 was lovely, over looking the pool and spa.. There are also 2 separate private rooms with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Libby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

spent two nights here and location is lovely. Atmosphere is nice and relaxing.
I know you are supposed to book spa treatments before you arrive in a place, but some of what is nice is being able to decided on this when you are actually at a place. In any event, everything was booked up for the two days that we were there, so didn't get to use the facilities.
Food quality was good, but on one of the nights, we did not have a starter and waited an hour and a half for our main course. When it came it was cold. There was an apology for the delay from the waiting staff, but no explanation.
We had a suite and it was nice and spacious. Superb bathroom. Although when I ran a bath it was about a quarter full before the water ran cold. Complimentary toiletries were not replaced on second day and box of tissues were left with the one on the top for the design, but nothing else in the box. A little skimpy at the edges which is not what you expect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMWhelehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I feel compelled to write this review as I have received no response from the hotel manager of my disappointment.
I treated my elderly mother to a spa afternoon with tea for a special birthday treat on 2/07/14. Unfortunately I was left feeling very disappointed that my spa treatment had been cut short by 10 minutes.
We booked two 25 minute back neck and shoulder massages for mum at 14.30 and myself at 15.00. We were not advised to be ready and waiting early at all but decided to be there five minutes early at 14.25 by the Spa clock.
The therapist arrived at 14.30 and asked us to complete lenghty treatment consultation forms which took at least 6 minutes for my mother as she is elderly and had numerous massage contra-indications to note.
My mother went in for her treatment at 14.36 and came out at 15.04
I had completed my consultation form while mother had her treatment.
I went in for my treatment at 15.07 and was out by 15.20 (total of 13 minutes treatment) by the spa clock. I was not aware of the time until I had come out and my mother said 'What are you doing out so early' the therapist was busy preparing for her next client by then.
At no point was an explanation given to us and we left feeling very disappointed especially when we were asked to pay £45.00 each on departure and our complaint made to feel irrelevant.
Not the perfect spa experience I had planned for my mother as she also felt let down.
I myself am a Complementary Therapist and would feel it very unprofessional to cut short a client's treatment time and a consultation is always additional.
Having had no response from the hotel management I felt it necessary to write this in a hope that others don't encounter similar experience's on a very special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing