We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good but could do better”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have grudgingly given this hotel a 4 star rating but I'm not sure it is wholly merited - 3 and a half would be be nearer the mark, for reasons which shall become apparent in my review. The hotel is a lovely building set in spacious grounds that at first glance are impressive but on closer inspection are in need of judicious pruning and weeding - just enough has been done to keep them tidy but it's all top show - look more closely and you can see that more work is required. The same applies to the dining experience: a well-appointed dining room with an appetising-sounding menu but when the food arrives the portions are small and over-priced. The addition of a table d'hote menu would be welcome. At breakfast the bacon was overcooked and hard, the scrambled eggs pale and not creamy enough, and the coffee was just plain dreadful (stewed and bitter). However, we had no complaints about the room, which was spacious and well furnished with a comfortable (huge) bed, although we did notice that some of the furniture was a bit 'knocked about' and worse for wear. My husband went down to the spa just after 8 am for a swim but the pool was closed and there was no sign of any members of staff. Although we thought the hotel itself was very attractive we did feel that it could do better, especially given the price it is charging, for which one would expect everything to be tip-top perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    218
    92
    53
    32
See reviews for
119
374
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I travelled from London after hearing great things about Homewood Park through word of mouth. We stayed for one night and had dinner in the restaurent. The service was fantastic and the food was even better. I would highly recommend staying here!!!

Our room was clean and tidy and the beds were very comfortable indeed!

Overall our experience at Homewood Park was lovely! We had a great time! Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillBredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I found the details of Homewood Park on the Bath Spa website as I was looking to combine a visit with a treat for my mum. From when I phoned to book until we left the whole experience was great and I was made to feel like a valued customer (something so many struggle with).
After seeing the facilities and spa at the hotel we didn't bother with Bath Spa (TA reviews put me off!). It was lovely to relax around the hotel and leisurely make use their spa with no queues or timeslots. We both had treatments and they were fantastic!

The room was cosy and in keeping with the main house although there is the potential to make it more quirky, but I guess that is not everybody's cup of tea. I usually find it hard to sleep in hotels but so slept like a baby.

Staff really are the asset at this hotel though. I don't usually write reviews but I was so impressed I felt I should. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and look after us. The restaurant staff were fantastic and we really enjoyed dinner at the hotel because of the whole experience they provided.

The food was good for a small hotel and perfect portions for my mum and I. I suspect if my husband had been though he would have been
hungry still.

Overall we had a great stay and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellebelle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Recently,I enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea with my daughter. The setting is beautiful, we were able to look out over the lovely gardens from our table by the window. The service was both friendly and helpful. The cakes looked attractive and tasted delicious. All in all this was a relaxing way to celebrate my daughter successfully gaining a place at the university. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed at Homewood Park on Aug 7th and 8th with my husband and son. We were not very impressed with this hotel. The deluxe room that we booked was meant to be big enough to sleep two adults and two children but when we arrived, there was no bed for my son and they just about managed to squeeze in a cot bed, complete with sulky faces! The service in general was very poor. Most staff passed us in the corridors without as much as an "hello"! The service at breakfast was at once frantic and really slow! The man serving us on both mornings was constantly rushing but accomplishing little. It made for a very uncomfortable dining experience!
On the final morning we asked for a late check out only to be told it would cost £50 for an extra hour! I thought this was ridiculously expensive. I've travelled the world staying in 4 star hotels and I have never been charged for late check out - hotels usually either let one have a late check out if they don't need the room ASAP or they just apologise for not being able to accommodate. Homewood Park just blatantly money grab with this policy. This client unfriendly policy alone is enough to ensure we will never return here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larakate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is my first review on trip advisor, I'm not normally a one to complain but i believe this time its necessary! Me and my partner have stayed at the Homewood hotel 7 or 8 times over the last 3 years, and i can honestly say how much this hotel has gone down hill. Back in February when we visited, the stay wasn't great, didn't find much of the staff helpful or friendly, 3-4 times a year we visit, and never do we see the same staff, either its that bad of place to work or their bad attitude has got them the sack. However, back in February as we checked out, my partner paid for what we had ordered for room service the previous night etc, days later his card got declined in shops, only to realise that Homewood had taken the payment out 4 times that week, this was over £2,500. When we realised this, we immediately phoned up his bank and also phoned Homewood, to ask what was happening and why. We got through to a very unhelpful member of staff, that told us to phone back the next day, and to send everything in an email to her, this was not what you wanted to hear when you have just realised you paid £2,500 for room service. The problem eventually got sorted, via the bank, a letter was sent to Homewood from us to complain, and to express our disappointment and all we had was a phone call to apologise.
As we like Homewood, and have stayed there numerous of times we decided to give it another go this weekend 9.8.14 but what a mistake that was. After checking in with yet another new member of staff we got told strictly that we must be out the next morning as they had a wedding, and breakfast times have now changed (as they wanted to get rid of us) after checking in we then visited a spa,after passing the lady behind reception of the spa, which didnt acknowledge us at all!! but after realising we where going to the spa, we soon got shouted back in the corridor to come back to sign in. After visiting the spa we then went out for the evening in the town centre, when we arrived back at Homewood, we decided to have a quiet drink in the room opposite reception (only us in there) we waited 20 minutes for our drink, and wasn't acknowledged again. We overheard A few guests that had come down complaining about not being able to get hold of anyone over the phone from they're room service. We then headed back to our room, whilst passing the receptionist she put her head down again didn't even bother to say anything to us. As we got back to the room, we decided to have a small treat, as we phoned down reception for a dessert list the lady quite rudely asked if there was anything else we needed to know so we dont ring again, then she told us to save on the tray charge and if we could come down to get it, ourselves baring in mind our room was number 7, room next to the reception. My partner had to get dressed and waited for her to phone the room to let us know when to come down. Last but not least we had our rushed breakfast the next morning, after ordering our cooked breakfast we waited 30 minutes for it to arrive we then wanted more tea and toast to go with it, 45 minutes had gone by, we had obviously finished our hot breakfast, a member of the staff only then decides to tell us that there is a problem with the toaster. We gave them the benefit of the doubt, and waited an extra 10 minutes everyone else seemed to be having they're toast but us. I had enough at this point, and walked out. By this time it was ready for checkout, we had wasted so much time at breakfast we had no time to use the spa, but then again it was made clear to us the day we arrived we had to leave as soon as possible. I think i have defiantly made my mind up about this place now. SHAME!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Carys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
at_homewoodpark, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Carys D,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your detailed review. Whilst it is a shame you did not give the opportunity to us to respond by contacting us directly i can fully understand your choice giving your previous bad experience. That being said, your review does go to highlight one of the challenges we face with Tripadvisor, in particular that you have chosen to not review in the past when you have had (many) positive experiences and only, as you admit 'to complain'.

There have been some clear failings during your stay, to which these will most definitely be addressed, although some areas you comment are a little mis-leading. An example is the change in breakfast times, to which you have implied was an indication that we wanted to 'get rid' of you however our breakfast times have actually changed to a later time to allow a more leisurely breakfast not an earlier time which your review implies. The change was highlighted to you, as you have stayed with us before. I am sorry the Spa receptionist did not stand up when you passed, Lily has been with us for nearly 7 years and has proven an extremely valuable member of the Spa team, along with several other very long standing members of the team. As part of her role she assists reception in taking bookings, and answering the telephone and as such she is often busy with work behind the desk but is situated in a 'front of house' location to ensure she is on hand when guests require assistance. I have spoken to Lily about your feedback to ensure we improve this moving forward.

Again i apologies if the reception team was not understood - asking if you would require anything else was questioned to offer you the opportunity and the staff member was trying to help, further highlighted by the indication that there is a tray charge as standard and noting to you that your room is very close to reception that you may wish to save on this standard charge. I have asked my reception manager to revisit this area and consider if should make such gestures of good will moving forward.

I have asked for my breakfast team to revisit there training as i can read from your comments that there were some clear failings on this morning, and i am sorry that this impacted on your leisurely departure from our hotel.

Please do feel welcome to contact me directly to discuss your feedback,
Sincerely,
Chris Baigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a most enjoyable time at homewood house and would recomend a visit
found the hotel easily and there is ample parkng fairly near the hotel but turning a large car round in front of the hotel is hard work if any other cars are parked there
arrived at busy time ( 3 other groups of people checking in ) but found a comfy chair to wait in, and were checked in promptlyy and efficiently
The Garden suite is a large modern development with a good sized bedroom a huge bed seating area and patio doors onto into the garden( unfortunately not a private garden )
the room is well decorated although some areas( Only 1 or2 ) are beginnng to look a little worn
......maybe it is what they call shabby chic ???????
no mini bar
or biscuits with the tea / coffee :(
A lovely looking bathroom with Roll top bath (uncomfortable though) and a fantastic double size wet area
close to the spa area with a fantastic outdoor pool( great for us as the weather was hot and sunny) , sauna, tub etc top qualityrobes towels toiletries etc
evening meal in the restaurant was ok portion size average but you pay extra for veg service was ok atmosphere was ok great selection of wines
breakfast was great staff most obliging good choice of food not rushed
beautiful grounds which take a lot of looking after !!

this hotel has immense potential
We ill certainly be returning when we visit bath again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKEYTHECHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#27 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing