We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2016

We wanted a couple of nights in a special Country Hotel, exceptional food, excellent service, wonderful setting and a spa .... not too far from Bath - Homewood Park Hotel was the perfect choice. Set in gorgeous grounds we had a very big room with a large bay window over looking the gardens, delightfully decorated with all we could have wished for. Our package included a glass of champagne before dinner, a three course dinner and lunch the following day. The food was superbly presented and was delicious. The Spa although on the small size, ideal for what we wanted. Our treatments were excellent (although my massage and facial should have been 55 mins and I was out in 40 mins) The staff were particularly helpful and charming. We would highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    206
    85
    50
    31
See reviews for
112
359
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2016

Lovely hotel, both quaint and located in a picture-book landscape. On our arrival we were upgraded to a beautiful room (room 3) which I think must be the largest in the hotel, overlooking the rear gardens. The sun was out and the trees in full colour gave an uplifting view from the large bay windows. There were handmade chocolates and shortbread biscuits to welcome us in the room with an excellent selection of beverages.
What though took your breath away was the size of the bed - we could roll over twice and still not meet! The en-suite was very clean and had a stand alone shower and seperate bath.
We had a classic cream tea each (the hotel were offering 2 for 1) and it was amazing particularly sitting on the rear terrace in the sunshine. Other reviewers have mentioned the spa facilities - well they are really nice. We did not use the outdoor heated pool but we did use the steam room and jacuzzi - both really relaxing.
We didn't eat in the restuarant but travelled into Bath instead, but judging by the quality of the breakfast it will no doubt be excellent.
We would definitely return and a thank you to all the staff who were so attentive and smart.

Room Tip: Try Room 3 - you won't want to leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2016

I can't recommend this hotel enough, It's small and personal. Our room was individually decorated and beautiful, they still have real keys for the doors - there are lovely little touches such as homemade biscuits in the room in little biscuit barrels. There is a breakfast buffet but the hot food is individually cooked, the scrambled egg wasn't dry, it's a miracle. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the spa is beautiful and sitting in the jacuzzi looking out the big windows over the pool and grounds was so relaxing.
Thank you Homewood Park hotel for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali1234567892016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a romantic weekend away and it was lovely.

Spa is small but perfectly formed and it was warm enough to swim outside, even on a chilly May day.

The restaurant was amazing. They clearly have a very talented chef and both dinner and breakfast were top quality. Desserts were particularly fine!

The cocktail bar man is also very talented and we recommend the 2 for 1 at 5-6pm cocktail hour!

The staff were all very well trained and just the right side of friendly vs professional.

Moans - we stayed in Room 1 and the bathroom was tiny when I see the comparisons to others on here. Bed was quite soft and pillows average - a few a bit lumpy but one is enough for me so ok. The pastries at breakfast were not great quality compared to everything else served.

We loved the peace and tranquility we found here and the superb food and spa. We do feel what we paid was a little excessive considering quality of en-suite bathroom. Would expect slightly more luxurious size for the £250/night we paid.

Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2016

Spent my birthday here..pure relaxation. Used the spa facilities which are excellent...sunny day!felt like We were in paradise. Cream tea after with excellent service and food was fit for a queen. Left feeling relaxed and wonderful. Thank you so much for my wonderful birthday. XXX

Stayed May 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank heavenlylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

what a lovely location , definitely worth a visit . we booked afternoon tea however it took nearly 50 minutes for any food to come out , 20 minutes for our tea to come out from arriving .
it seemed as though they were not set up ready to go and rushing around by the staff to get ready .
the welcome was not particularly welcoming and we were just left then wondering when someone might come and see us .
at the start of the experience there ere very little staff on , as the experience finished lots more staff were around
we got asked about 6 different times of everything was okay , seemed very little communication between the team .
there was an alarm that kept on going off which was quite distracting and it kicked atmosphere in the lovely venue .
as soon as we sat down they started laying up for dinner already around us which seemed very functional rather than letting us enjoy and creating a nice atmosphere . the food was okay , one of the sandwiches was very greasy , the mini desserts/cake were quite nice - the scones were excellent !
I have eaten here before on a couple of occasion and had a very different experience , I wonder if it has changed hands and more relying on location rather than service and food .

Stayed May 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shoes1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2016

This is the second time my friend and I have been for afternoon tea here. The first time we had tea in the gardens - just beautiful! We were bowled over by the selection of littles cakes, sandwiches and scones all beautifully presented and so delicious. We decided it was time for another treat and having looked at all the other options in Bath plumped for Homewood Park again - we were not disappointed, the food and quality was again excellent and a lovely way to spend an afternoon in such peaceful relaxing surroundings. My friend had taken her elderly mother to a hotel in one of the crescents in Bath and had been disappointed - so was pleased to come back to Homewood Park.
If you're a lunch person try a tea here instead for a change, a real treat and truly delicious!

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Bath Priory Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing