We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

I had an overnight spa stay with my friend .
Our stay was generally enjoyable, and the surroundings beautiful. But there were a number of small points, that although perhaps insignificant in themselves, have made it unlikely that we will return to Homewood Park.

My friend and I are regular Spa-Breakers, and were pleased to find Homewood Park on our doorstep, but were disappointed by the following:

1. There were no facilities in our room for making tea or coffee. In even the most basic seaside B&B’s I have always had those facilities in the room. We ordered 2 pots of tea in our room, but at a cost of £7.00 it is not a ‘luxury’ I would enjoy twice. With just one bottle of water provided in the room, we were both very thirsty when we woke, and had no way of making a drink for ourselves. On checking out I mentioned this to the receptionist who told me that a kettle etc were available on request. If that is the case, why were we charged £7 for tea in the room?

2. It seems such a shame that the pool is outside, as the weather was too cold for us to enjoy it, and it seems that the pool maintenance man is fighting a losing battle keeping it clear of debris from neighbouring trees. From the layout of the spa, it seems that it would be relatively simple to cover the pool area.

3. We ordered breakfast in our room but when it arrived the juice had been forgotten, along with one set of cutlery, one pot of tea and cup, and no butter for the toast. One of the cooked breakfasts was completely wrong, and when I informed reception they told us we had ticked the wrong boxes. Maybe I could accept that if one of the items had been wrong, but as I had only ordered 3 items, and there were 4 wrong ones on the plate I can’t see how that would be the case.

4. The DVD player in our room was not working and after calling reception, the night porter came to see if he could find out why. After some time, we realised there was no scart lead from the TV to the DVD player, and so were unable to watch the film we had brought with us.

5. Our break included 2 glasses of champagne, which we were not provided with.

For a hotel of the calibre and cost of Homewood Park, these are simple things that I would expect to be provided as a matter of course.

There are so many Hotel Spas in our area I feel that these matters are the difference between a return visit or looking elsewhere.
On a positive note, I must say that restaurant food was very good , the staff polite and helpful, and the rooms were spacious and very comfortable.
I did write a letter to the manager of Homewood on 19th September, but so far have received no acknowledgment or reply.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    217
    91
    52
    31
See reviews for
117
371
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

A few miles outside Bath sits this potentialy charming hotel.An imposing driveway and stunning gardens lead to striking Victorian country house.There is no greeting and you are forced to carry or wheel your own bags to reception which curiously is situated as far away from the front door as possible.Past the inviting looking Lounge,past the two dining rooms,past the Ladies and Gents loo,past the kitchen until you arrive at reception.Place bag on floor and promptly block the access to the rest of the hotel.Friendly enough greeting though at this belated juncture.
Junior suite spacious and a very stylish bathroom with roll top bath, his and her sinks and a walk in seperate shower.Comfotable bed and an Ok view of the Spa.
Fancy a drink in the bar? Well you might wait a long time as their is no Bar person.So its back past the inviting looking Lounge,past the two dining rooms, past etc etc and ask to be served that well deserved pint after a long journey.Fancy a second one? Yes you have guessed it.Back past the .....
Redemption is on hand at Dinner.Top notch creativity,sourcing and execution is on hand to deliver an outstanding 3 courses with well selected wines on a fair value list.The
kichen's competancy is extended to the breakfast sevice(a perfect smoked haddock and poached egg creation) although those wanting continental only would have been dismayed by the rather meagre buffet consisting of juice,cereal and croissant.
Departed the hotel for a mornings excursion placed the "service room" sign on the door.Returned early afternoon to find the room just as we had left it.So back to reception and situation was quickly sorted.
A new Spa has recently opened.Its small but perfectly formed and very good.Nice heated outdoor pool,Sauna,Steam rooms and a range of exotic sounding treatments which seemed to suit my wife but are beyond my competance to explain.
This could be a really good hotel and the basics are in place.You get the impression however that an over zealous regional manager of Von Essen is beating these guys up on Labour costs.Staffing appears to have cut to the bone,turnover of staff is probably too high,the manager seemed to like his office rather than the public areas and whilst service is willing ,in order to create the required atmosphere "You really shouldnt have to ask".
Still if its indulgence in the dining room or Spa you are seeking then this hotel could be right up your street past the inviting Lounge ,past the........

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank second row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

I come to Bath regularly and have stayed in most of the 'high end' Bath hotels.When I booked Homewood Park I thought I had made a good choice, after all it is in the same group as The Royal Crescent......but you'd never know it when you get there. It does have the potential to be an excellent hotel but falls short in so many areas.On arrival, the girl behind the desk was completely vacant and gave us no warm welcome at all. There was no one to help us with our bags and there was a red headed woman also behind the front desk (I believe she worked in housekeeping) who was moaning to her colleagues about how fed up she was.Not a good impression as you can imagine!Once in the room though and we perked up a bit, the room had clearly been renovated a short time ago and the bed was comfortable and all the public areas were clean.The spa is promising and pleasant, however no gym. Restaurant was ok, again service was terrible and very slow. On checkout we encountered another girl who was very unprofessional and just seemed very slow and unfriendly.All in all, Von Essen need to sort these sloppy areas out. Some friends of ours recently stayed at another Von Essen property in the area and suffered similar problems there. I did write an email to the manager, however it took over a week to get a reply and it wasn't a very friendly reply!!! A real shame and i'm currently in the process of writing a letter to their head office to complain further. A real shame.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uktraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Stayed for two nights in July. Grounds and car parking still under renovation but the new pool/spa is operational and a very welcome addition to the facilities. Had a junior suite (£285 per night). This was a good size and with a well equipped bathroom/shower but with no safe or tea making facilities and no fridge. Access to the room was also difficult particularly with luggage up the narrow stairs. No lift.

The success of a country hotel depends on its staff and in this respect Homewood Park is a complete and utter disaster. Despite the high room price no complimentary newspaper, no warm welcome or help with the luggage, poor service throughout our stay, no breakfast menu, no A La Carte menu available at dinner (wedding the following day), absent management, apparent shortage of staff and over all an experience we would not wish to repeat and would certainly not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tobytia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Booked this hotel due to it being dog friendly and needed a stop over on the way to Cornwall. You would not believe this hotel would have pets as it is so clean and high class. Best hotel i have ever stayed in. Upgraded free to a delux room which was beautiful and modern with the biggest bed you have ever seen. Rooms were spotless, quiet with nice views of the gardens. The spa is brillant and recieved a free massage with the package we booked. We were the only people in the spa, it is so quite. Don't be put off by the swimming pool being outside as it is still warm and facilities are brilliant. The food is the best i have ever tasted and the chef sent out extra courses in between to make our meal special. Staff were very helpful, particularly the lady on reception (Laura??) and everyone was clearly working hard on the upkeep of the hotel. Gardeners were constantly working to tidy the grounds and one day a locker had broken in the ladies changing room in the spa-the next day this was fixed. Attention to detail was exceptional and hotel run very efficiently. The only thing i think could be improved is that there are no tea making facilities in the room. This is obviously a top end hotel and they prefer to bring tea and coffee to your room on request- however when you get the bill you will have been charged so not so good for someone like me who drinks a lot of tea- however, then again the tea was delicous and made with fresh leaves. Rooms can get hot but a large fan is provided in the room so does not cause a problem. Would definately go back.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cr0ssOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

You might have a very nice stay here. However, you may get a room overlooking the pool in the summer, which sounds nice. The problem is that there is no air conditioning and no fans. When it's 25+ degrees outside, the room is unbearably hot, and you are forced to open the windows. If there are screaming kids in the pool - as there were on our stay, for several hours on Saturday afternoon and again from 8AM on Sunday - it's not a very relaxing place. The staff are very friendly, but impotent in the face of complaints. A complaint to the general manager by email took over a week to be answered, and was patronising in tone (and offered no recompense of any sort for a ruined weekend.)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GED48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

I recently stayed at Homewood Park with my boyfriend and a group of friends over a weekend! We wanted to catch up and really relax! We definitely chose the right place in Homewood Park! With the ultra friendly and professional service and gorgeous hotel our stay was comparative to some of the top hotels I have stayed in whilst travelling alone on business.

We had dinner on one night of our stay and the food was superb definitely worthy of higher accolades than those currently held. My friend has certain food allergies which we had previously failed to mention prior to our arrival but this was not a problem at all for the staff at Homewood they dealt with the situation efficiently and effectively and did not make us feel uncomfortable or a nuisance about our special requirements, we even met the friendly Head Chef who personally spoke to us about what she could and couldn’t eat, and agreed to tailor her very own menu for the night!

The next day we decided to take advantage of the fabulous new spa, it was totally gorgeous! something you would really have to and want to experience yourself to get the full picture. The ambience and atmosphere were perfect with complimentary towels and slippers provided in the lockers and the opportunity to have drinks around the pool, it felt like we could have been in a 5 star hotel abroad!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and will definitely be returning to stay again!

Thank you Homewood for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xkelziex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
4.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
3.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing