We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rose & Crown
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Widbrook Grange(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
70
53
21
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
53
21
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub lunchspecials boardfried breakfastan excellent basecheddar gorgemain buildingb bexcellent roomcar parkhuge bathroomlovely weekendlong weekendshort stayper nightvisit bathhintonaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

After a day of travelling looking for ,,,,,,er,,,,,,um,,,,,, fairies for the wife and her garden, we stopped here for a late lunch. Neither of us had been to this pub and had never had any info on how it was rated, still, we were hungry and stopped anyway.
A nice pub inside and out, the service was welcoming and friendly and the food arrived in good time, I ordered their mixed grill and the wife had gammon, all was cooked as we had asked and tasted ok, my only gripe was the meat, I'm a bit of a meat lover myself and I feel the meat was, to me, a bit stingy for the £16 price tag and not the best quality either, plus I do like a lamb chop with my mixed grill which most do, this one didn't.
Overall not a bad lunch, I've had a lot worse, but a tad pricey for the content. I probably would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed on the 25th May, due to no rooms left at the Homewood park hotel where we had attended a wedding.

Good points

Nice shower

We went to the b&b before the wedding started to get a key and leave our bags which they allowed us to do, was very good of them as we were not able to check in until 5.30.


Bad

We didn't have much sleep that night due to the road noise, very close to the road... And woken very early due to the very light curtains (that did not fit the windows) at 5am.

We did mention this to the manager upon checking out and he said that the rooms are being renovated over the next few weeks... Which was fair enough but I was annoyed that he could not have said sorry.

Would rather spend a bit more money and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Apparently the villa's are quieter as they have double glazing
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lycee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed during a visit to bath as they are conveniently placed on the outskirts of bath in a quaint village
Upon arriving we was welcomed by the landlord and checked in very quickly (no paperwork) the room was well equipped and comfortable with a nice large shower the only thing is the room was well decorated but needs a lick of paint also the TV was a bit small but I am just picking.
The food was absolutely delicious and there was a nice atmosphere in the bar, we were planning on eating out the second night but could not peal ourselves away especially as the second night was wet and there was a log fire burning making us feel right at home
Overall we had good service & a great time in this classic pub, we will return in the future

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which had a nice size room and bathroom, a little noisy because of the road but that died down during the evening
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeLoveGastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane S, General Manager at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

I am glad you were made to feel at home and you enjoyed your stay, i will also pass on your compliments to the chefs.
We are going to give the rooms a spruce up for the summer so over the next couple of weeks we will be decorating the rooms ready for your next visit which i look forward to seeing you both again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I did not stay at the Rose and Crown on this occasion as I was just passing through.
However, it was pouring with rain and I was on my way from Bristol to Salisbury on my bicycle.
Having fallen off a few miles earlier, I needed coffee. There was shelter for the bikes and really good coffee. I was even offered a plaster. The young people running the pub on saturday May 11th were very kind and polite despite the fact that we were muddy and wet. Thank you.
maybe next year we will pop in again.x.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank roadbiketraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane S, General Manager at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words you are more then welcome
We look forward to seeing you again next year and hopefully it will not be raining!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed at this pub/restaurant in March 2012 with my wife and friends. We had superb accomodation, food and service at a reasonable price. In view of this we paid another visit in April again with friends. On arrival at 4.55pm the place was locked. After banging on the door we gained entry only to be told our room was not yet ready!! Our friends room was. We had a drink at the bar and a short while after we were informed our room was ready. We booked an evening meal for 7.30 and retured to our room. There was no toilet paper, no toiletries, no coffee or milk. I requested these and they were provided. We had an excellent evening meal the service was quick and efficient. Good value for oney. On retiring for the night we found that the mattress was too big for the divan and hung over both edges and the foot of the bed!!! The following day we had an excellent breakfast which was a bit slow on arrival. We spent a good day in Bath using a nearby Park and Ride service returning at about 5.30.p.m. Our room had not been serviced and there was no one around. The bar was locked. We went for our meal at 7.30p.m. and told the staff about our room. The explanation was we had the only key to our room and they had forgot to ask for the key in the morning. The room was quickly serviced. We had another very good meal and the following day a good breakfast. We will not be making another overnight stay but would eat there. There had been a change in Management since our previous visit. I suggest the brewery get the young temporary managers back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage room which has double glazing. The rooms in the pub have single glazing and the road is noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane S, General Manager at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

My apologies you did not enjoy your stay
The reason your room was not ready at 4:55 is because check-in is not until 5:30pm this is stated on your Lateroom booking or booking confirmation hence the reason your friends room was ready but not yours at the present time, there should have been toiletries and toilet roll in your room upon arrival which I do apologise about but I believe the chamber maid missed this as she was trying to get your room ready as soon as possible on your early arrival and as you mentioned we quickly sorted this oversight
As for the mattress I have looked at the mattress myself and you are completely right there is a king size mattress on a double divan which we have brought a new double mattress to sort this problem so my apologies there
A customer the previous night had left with the key forcing us to give you our only spare key for you to check in, which is why your room was not relayed but your friends where which I believe we had done our best to clean as quickly as possible, we have now replaced the lock on the door giving us several spare keys to avoid this again
I am glad you enjoyed your evening meals and would hope you might stay again as these where minor oversights, my apologies again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews