We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not very clean, average service, conveniently near to the Bath city center”
Review of The Rose & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose & Crown
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OK but not very clean, average service, conveniently near to the Bath city center”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This August my husband and I have been visiting the nice city of Bath for a few days, for a break/holiday not so far from home. The main attractions are the Roman baths, with actors on display, impersonating the ancient Romans; the Fashion museum - I would recommend it if you like history and fashion - with a wonderful collection of early rare dresses and accessories. There is a lovely tea room near the Assembly rooms with a selection of tasty cakes and tea with polite service. Then there is the historical city center of Bath with the oldest house in the city and the restaurant-museum and so on.. We booked 2 months and half in advance to get the best rate for the room and at the moment of the booking we specifically asked for a double room far from the main road traffic, the receptionist confirmed that this was possible so we booked with them. We arrived in the evening, there was no reception of any type and they call it an ' hotel '. We had to cross the crowded pub with our bags and ask for some basic assistance, people standing there in the pub did not move an inch to allow us to get to the staff with our bags. Not really a nice welcome. Then when finally a young member of staff showed up, she told us that the room we booked far from the main road was not available. We had instead the room facing the main road and a noisy garage on the corner. The room was confortable enough for two but not properly cleaned. The carpet on the floor was really dirty, it had not been cleaned for weeks with visible hairs and dust all over. The bathroom looked slightly cleaner but still with pieces of dust around the corner of the floor and above the sink-top. One of the pillowcases on the bed had still a large hair attached from the previous customer. The first two nights were ok as it was over the weekend, but then Monday and Tuesday were terribly noisy from before 7 am. in the morning, with heavy traffic just under our room. Also there were road works in this road for the whole week. Nothing was mentioned to us when we arrived or when we booked. Tuesday was the last night in this hotel/pub so we did not complain. It would have been a waste of time anyway. We instead enjoyed our long weekend holiday in Bath, the weather was good enough and pleasantly sunny. Two positive things about this hotel, the room rate was reasonable, perhaps because we booked in advance and it is located quite conveniently not far away from the city center of Bath, approx.15/20 minutes by car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gold100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane S, General Manager at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We are very sorry that you feel you have had a bad experience here
All of our rooms are cleaned every day and our sheets are obviously changed every day as well, one of our highest compliments is how clean our rooms are along with great food and service
We do not have any specific quite rooms as we are a pub not a hotel and we are situated next to a road like must pubs are but we are also aware that in room 3 there is sometimes a slight problem with noise which we have rectified by having all our windows repaired draught and sound proofed with secondary glazing to ensure our guests have a quite sleep
We also do not have a reception as we only have 6 rooms nearly all guests compliment on the fact there is no strict check in & paperwork procedure like main hotels instead a relaxed warm welcome
Our room prices more or less stay the same as we understand what we are which is a budget B&B providing a warm welcome quality food & friendly service what you would expect from a British pub
All I can do is apologise for your experience and ensure that these possible small details are sorted I hope that by looking at our normal reviews and our Certificate of excellence from Trip Advisor that you will see our guests enjoy themselves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    52
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
39
58
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Excellent meal, served promptly, even though quite busy, would recommend the food to anyone.
The room I had this time (4) could do with a little bit of work to fix some simple problems, like the curtain rail and toilet roll holder.
Excellent attentive staff, thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the excellent beers.
will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davelocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane S, General Manager at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Hi Dave
Thank you for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay
We are decorating the rooms from 2nd September & refurbishing the sash windows so this will get rid of any small problems
Hope to see you again
Many Thanks
Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Had a fab one night stay at the Rose and crown. Four of us squeezed into a large double quite comfortably and we had took advantage of the delicious food on offer in the form of the Sunday night BBQ, accompanied by a talented young guitarist whom both my five year and five months old daughters enjoyed! Would definitely recommend and would stay again. Very reasonable cost, lovely food, attentive staff...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YumMumSussex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife, young son and I stayed at the Rose & Crown the night before attending a wedding at a local estate. On the whole it was an enjoyable stay, characterised by friendly and helpful staff, especially the young lady who checked us in and served us at dinner. The room was comfortable and conveniently located. We went down for dinner and unfortunately the restaurant itself was closed, but we were served in the bar area which was fine. The meal was good and the wine list was pretty decent. Breakfast was also served in the bar and the chef herself took our orders and was extremely helpful, especially assisting us with hot milk etc for our son’s breakfast. There was not many staff around (one person on at dinner, and one at breakfast, both doing check ins/outs as well) but we were pretty much the only people there for both meals and were never kept waiting. Check in is a very late 5pm and an extra £6 for breakfast is a bit steep, but we were well looked after and enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonCoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Unfortunately only stayed for one night and wished it had been longer. A comfortable Inn situated in a small village suitably close to Bath. A friendly welcome, comfortable room with all that is needed and delicious food and friendly service. Enjoyed an excellent meal in the beer garden and an equally good breakfast. We will stay again and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDCbournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane S, General Manager at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Hi
Glad you enjoyed your stay
We are looking forward to seeing you again
Many Thanks
Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Lovely old building and pretty village. Very comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Good breakfast. Room could have done with a dust and valance had been walked on by previous guests but that did not spoil our stay. I would certainly recommend the Rose and Crown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We visited this week on recording our EP at a local studio. The Hotel was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. Friendly staff who went out of their way to help and made us feel like part of the brickwork. Great staff, good food and a great clientele. If you want to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle we are sure this is the place to be. We would not think twice about revisiting if in that location. Massive thanks' to Shane, Claire, Leona and Dave, we wont forget the help. Well worth the visit! Cheers, Versace Smile.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane S, General Manager at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Hi Rikki
Glad you all enjoyed your stay and you are always welcome back but I expect a copy of your new music!!
Hope your music takes you many places you guys deserve it
All the best
Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
5.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.9 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.5 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown

Property: The Rose & Crown
Address: High Street | Bath, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Rose and Crown you will find a warm and welcoming feeling as soon as you walk through the door, with the cosy feel of the log burner during the winter months. Adding to its relaxed and friendly atmosphere through out the year.The Rose and Crown is known for its high quality food and drink. We have a patio area for drinking and dining and the Cloisters restaurant is available for parties, meeting and private functions. Food is served 7 days and nights a week. Our menus are designed to satisfy the smallest to the largest of appetites by serving smaller portions of the majority of our main meals and a choice of light bites. We are also allergy aware and cater for people’s needs and requirements.Here at the Rose and Crown we are passionate about using locally sourced ingredients where we can. Our butcher is based at Newton St Loe approx 5 miles from us. During the game season we have a wide selection of venison, pheasant, duck and other game dishes.Should you decide to stay at the Rose and Crown we have 6 spacious and comfortable ensuite letting rooms all with facilities for tea and coffee making, flat screen TV’s with freeview and free wifi, creating a homely environment for your stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose & Crown Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing