We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and hospitable”
Review of The Rose & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose & Crown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Ideally tucked away just outside Bath, my room was clean and well appointed. The evening food menu is excellent and they do a fine cooked breakfast. Very friendly atmosphere, highly recommended. What more can I say...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for The Rose & Crown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We went new years eve after a days shopping in Bath, The bar area / restaurant serves very nice home cooked food. The staff are friendly, with the manager seemingly doing everything. The rooms, though not massive, were nicely decorated and big enough for purpose. other people keep mentioning mold in the shower room, its so small that please ignore any mention in other reviews. The big fry up breakfast was large and recommended. Charterhouse is a bit in the back and beyond, but it was a a very nice experience. two down sides, we could not get into the room until gone 5pm and our final bill was wrong, be charged for drinks we never had, though this was rectified.

Room Tip: room three was very nice, overlooking a very quite street
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very good. Room was clean and tidy and very spacious. Although by a main(ish) road, we couldn't hear any traffic from our room. We booked on the off chance of a room on a trip to Bath, and we weren't disappointed. The only negative was being unable to check in till 5.30.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Rose and Crown for two nights (Boxing day and 27th) to be close to family who live in the village. Shane and Claire were very understanding when we checked in late not realising the pub was closing early on Boxing Day evening.

Our triple room was very comfortable and warm. Ensuite was enormous!

Although on this occasion we didn't eat in the pub we know the restaurant is very popular and gets good feedback.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at The Rose and Crown the evening before a friends wedding. We had originally booked up to stay for two nights, then changed to three and finally (and unfortunately) had to drop it down to one night. They could not have been more understanding or more obliging, the staff were so helpful and never gave any impression of being put out by our constant changing.
When we arrived the location was perfect,10mins to bath and 4mins to the wedding venue couldn't have been better. Checking inn was great as we arrived early and the member of staff had no problem taking us up to our room and reserving a table for dinner, as we had to pop back out.
We returned to the pub and went straight for our evening meal. All I can say is that the staff were the NICEST staff we have ever encountered, we even changed our table to opposite the bar so we could chat more! We had great fun talking to them during the evening, enjoyed the drinks they had recommended, and the food we had was completely fantastic (especially the Brownie!!!).
We didn't want to leave as it had been such an enjoyable evening however, we had a long day ahead of us and had to get some sleep. The rooms were exactly what we needed with a comfortable bed and pillows, and it was lovely and warm on a stormy night!
The next morning I woke up and had a delicious breakfast before having another lovely chat and checking out. All I can say is we will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee-annGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Very convenient location for Bath, in particular the Odd Down Park & Ride, which made visiting the Christmas Market so much easier. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast, although paying for each item individually can work out a bit pricey - however the portions sizes were good...particularly the porridge on a cold wet winter morning!
Room was clean and cosy & the bed very comfortable. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, all the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The manager couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. Even the locals were friendly and helpful. There is a post office and general store and a beautiful church. The location is good and the rooms are clean and cosy. The food was fabulous. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
4.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
5.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 31 in Bath
188 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown

Address: High Street | Bath, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range: £71 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Rose and Crown you will find a warm and welcoming feeling as soon as you walk through the door, with the cosy feel of the log burner during the winter months. Adding to its relaxed and friendly atmosphere through out the year.The Rose and Crown is known for its high quality food and drink. We have a patio area for drinking and dining and the Cloisters restaurant is available for parties, meeting and private functions. Food is served 7 days and nights a week. Our menus are designed to satisfy the smallest to the largest of appetites by serving smaller portions of the majority of our main meals and a choice of light bites. We are also allergy aware and cater for people’s needs and requirements.Here at the Rose and Crown we are passionate about using locally sourced ingredients where we can. Our butcher is based at Newton St Loe approx 5 miles from us. During the game season we have a wide selection of venison, pheasant, duck and other game dishes.Should you decide to stay at the Rose and Crown we have 6 spacious and comfortable ensuite letting rooms all with facilities for tea and coffee making, flat screen TV’s with freeview and free wifi, creating a homely environment for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Rose & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose & Crown Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing