We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food”

Restaurant at Homewood Park
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant at Homewood Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: US$13 - US$41
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Restaurant serves the finest in modern English cuisine and is one of the most popular restaurants in Bath. This superb award winning and locally acclaimed Bath restaurant, is famed for the technique, flair and imagination of the dishes. Head Chef, Simon Addison, designs the menus and takes great pride in everything he creates and serves for guests. Boasting two AA rosettes for culinary excellence, a certificate of excellence from Tripadvisor, a Diners choice award from Opentable, listed in the top hotel restaurants in Somerset (Somerset Life). The Restaurant at Homewood Park, Bath - for a sublime dining experience in one of the city's top restaurants.
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were staying in the hotel and had booked on a half board basis.
We were booked in for dinner on the two nights we stayed at the hotel.
The food we experienced on both nights was exceptional and well worth the price on the menu. The haddock was sublime.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank maxine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    33
    19
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smart and Homely”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We held a family celebration here for 18 guests in October.
The hotel could not have been more helpful with the planning of this lunchtime party.
The food was excellent, the service good & the wine a reasonable price for a 4 star hotel.
Our only criticism is that when some guests arrived early they were not able to get a drink as a wedding party was still checking out.
Overall a great experience .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hun09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Oh dear back to square one”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked for Christmas at Homewood Park (this year being the 'other year' when the children/grandchildren etc. visit the other grandparents) as I was looking forward to a totally indulgent not going anywhere near the kitchen type Christmas. So, my husband knowing that I am not called gribbly for nothing, decided that a meal before the event was a wise thing to do. And he was right.

So we went there. No one on reception until a waitress spotted us wandering about after about 10 minutes. We requested to be shown our room and eventually (another 15 minutes) the wedding co-ordinator kindly took us to it. It looked nice and smelled of a very powerful air spray. We glanced at the spa and out door swimming pool before going into lunch they looked OK. The dining room was very small, but there were sliding doors on either side so I suppose it could be enlarged.

My first course was hot mackerel served on a bed of salad Nicoise. I eventually received a tiny tiny bit of fish on top of warm cubed spuds, hot baby tomatoes and nearly raw French beans. That is not a salad Nicoise, I commented the same to the waitress, but as her English was still in the very early learning stage I don't think it got passed any further. My husband's soup was just that, tomato soup of no particular quality served in a large plate with a dinky little pool in the middle, about half a cup of soup.

Middle course I had thin slices of hard pork on a bed or more cubed spuds, cooked beans, quite old roast spuds undercooked kale and a baby dish of purple cauliflower in cheese sauce to share. That was less than luke warm. My husband liked his roast beef and disliked his spuds. The meal was £22.00 per head. We drank beer as the wine is very expensive (cheapest wine by glass is £6.00 for 175mls) and that was OK. In all I've eaten better in a Toby carvery for £5.99.

So we drove home in the rain and cancelled our Christmas booking this morning. Wasting roughly £53ish pounds is one thing but the Christmas price is £1350 ish so back to square one .................

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gribbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very very nice”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Food was lovely the taste was excellent. Service great and very enjoyable Liked it all. Excellent didn't fault anything

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank amandajolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food but very expensive”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We felt although quality was good the prices of starters up to £11 and steak at £29 was excessive for what was delivered. Desert was also up to £11.00. Would need to be an occasion to warrant the high prices especially when you add overpriced drinks to the bill.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GloucestershireGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Homewood Park also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at Homewood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing