We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

The Horseshoes at Billingford
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Horseshoes at Billingford
Ranked #1 of 1 Billingford B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

Rooms had everything you need and were clean. The Horseshoes is an old fashioned pub with service to match, when we said we may arrive after dinner service time the landlady said she would keep the kitchen open if we were delayed, you don't get service like that everywhere. Food was good and presented nicely. Worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimcarlisle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
13
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

On our way back from Diss me and my family desired a luxurious pub meal which when passing the Horse Shoes pub in Billingford we thought that as we had never visited the pub that they would possibly stand up to our expectations......I was wrong!
When entering the pub we was welcomed with what I call...A country stare! After being shown to our table we acknockledged the full pub experience with a small taste of flys on a sticky strip next to were we where sitting. In total we waited for over an hour for our food and as I have a two year old...He was not happy either with waiting for this long. On the arrival of the food we can confirm that the quality was not good at all especially for how long it took to prepare. My partners comment was....Don't have the Lasagne! :(
Also whilst sitting at the table we noticed that the whole place would have been shut down in the real world as they had a bolt and a huge lock on THE FIRE EXIT!!! Clearly this is not the REAL WORLD!

Overall dissapointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Billingford hotels

Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

On my business travels again and needd somewhere south of Norwich near the A143. I normally opt for a pub with good food, comfortable accomodation and genial hosts..... well 2 out of 3 aint bad!
I was afforded a warm welcome and shown to my room adjoining the pub which was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed.
The host is the epitome of the county roadside pub landlord, well travelled and well educated in the world and its wares. There was a good range of real ales but being a lager man I opted for the Fosters but became slightly concerned when the landlord proceeded to pull off a pint of water, this continued for several pints, much to the mirth of the locals at the bar. However, once the pipes were cleared he produced one of the best pints of Fosters I have ever had.
The only downside was the food. The menu is pretty basic and indicates a range of meals that can be produced without too much gastronomic skill. I opted for the specials board selecting slow cooked beef stew with root vegetables and mushrooms but was dissapointed with its blandness. If it had been served with some crusty bread for example to mop up the stew it might have been better. The breakfast next day was well prepared and very good.
Overall a nice place to stay as a stop off through the county as it is situated near the main arteries. Would call again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyhurstNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We live a couple of miles from Billingford Horseshoes. We know we can always rely on a good meal and friendly welcome at this venue. My husband loves the fact that Adams comes from barrel not piped. On one occasion we were looking for a pub that was open between Dunwich and home the only one we could find was Billingford. Only reason to go anywhere else is maybe menu after lots of visits to same place you need to try something different. But we always go back. Obviously we don't use B & B facility

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs, UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I and colleagues have visited this pub on several occaisions on our frequent journeys to the Suffolk coast. Food is always good and mostly seems to be freshly prepared. On the last visit there was a very obnoxious bunch in the main bar, with bad language flying about. I was a bit disappointed that the staff did not ask them to keep it down as I was with my wife and really didn't want to hear that sort of abusive language. As I said, the food and the staff are good and I would definitely go back but a word to the landlord to keep behaviour in check please. We might not all appreciate loud and foul mouthed locals spoiling an otherwise nice visit to a good stopping off venue.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gergly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DARWEN, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Only stayed one night. I was on a motorcycle trip around the area. Lovely warm welcome from the barman (owner?) despite problems behind the bar with the glassswasher. Locals and guests got the same curteous treatment.
Room was fine, clean and 'homely'. Breakfast was good, cereal, fruit juice, full english and coffee (Rambouts Filter coffee - a blast from the past).
I didn't notice any road noise (although I was 'cream crackered' from a days riding).
If I was in the area, I would stay again. Great to see a 'proper' pub instead of the usual chain affair.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d146895x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Welcoming staff and easy to find. Rooms were basic and the twin room I stayed in was nicely fitted out but mattress very uncomfortable, no shelf or hanging capability in bathroom and bins not been emptied since last guest. Mum had double room which was nicer. However be prepared for the noise from the busy main road, kitchen down below, extractor fan that goes on at 7am and turns off at 9.30pm, neighbours out back have dog that barked for most of night along with their small child that screamed alot....all noises that pub have no control over. Food plentiful. Would I stay there again....NO. Would I recommend it to friends or family....NO.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Billingford
1.1 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
321 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
95 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#10 of 16 in Diss
96 reviews
2.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Ash
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horseshoes at Billingford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horseshoes at Billingford

Property: The Horseshoes at Billingford
Address: Lower Street, Billingford IP21 4HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Billingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Billingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Horseshoes at Billingford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horseshoes At Billingford Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing