We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
Review of Solway Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solway Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    89
    36
    17
    12
See reviews for
118
114
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We got married Sunday 1st December at Gretna Hall Blacksmiths and had a buffet and disco back at the Solway Lodge. We arrived on the Saturday, the staff couldnt do enough for us. We were allwoed to check in early to the Bridal Suite at no extra cost. The staff took all our room decorations, cake, etc and sorted out the room for us. Fiona was fantastic and made my day stress free, nothing was too much. It was truely a day to remember. We will definatley be back to visit! Thank you so much. Jade & Aaron Moss xx

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We got married on the 18th Nov at the Anvil Hall then went back to the hotel for a wedding meal. The room had been decorated with care and looked lovely. Very well set out.
The staff were friendly and couldnt do enough to help make our day special. They were brilliant! !
The food was excellent. Everyone commented on how tasty and hot it was!!
Look forward to going back.
Thankyou. Jeff and Bev

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffbevvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We used this Hotel for a stop over when travelling to deepest Scotland. We gathered from the website that the hotel was used for weddings and were a little worried that this may impact on our stay. However on the night we stayed it appeared to be free of any groups.
We did not arrive at the hotel until after 2330hrs and were met by a lovely lady who sorted out our room and also kept the bar open long enough for us to sate our thirst.
When we booked I thought we were booking a twin room ( the only room left) but on arrival found we had a double room, this was excellent news for us but may have caused a problem for someone else.
The room was in the main hotel and was very nice indeed.
One thing that others may need to note is that the room (18) is above the kitchen and there is noise from the extract fan, we however needed to be up early and the said fan was a useful alarm clock.
Breakfast was very nicely presented , with plenty of choice and delivered by cheerful staff.
Overall our stay was a very pleasant experience. We will now be using this hotel whenever we travel to Scotland in future.

Room Tip: Room 18 is above the kitchen extract fan. This is not a problem if you are getting up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed for two nights as a central place for meeting up with family. At first we were not sure as we were in one of the chalet style rooms at the back of the Hotel. However once we were inside the room was both very clean and cosy. It was actually ideal as we have a dog and we were able to go in and out without a hassle. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the second night and the food was really good, served hot and without fuss. Value for money it really could not be beat. We have paid more for less!!!

Room Tip: The chalet style rooms are good for people travelling with pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here as a family and with our dog the room was very nice although a little small but good enough for the one night we stayed.

The beds were a little hard for me so I didn't get much sleep but some people like a firm matress.

We had a walk out to the gretna greenways village and we drove out into carlisle for tea.

The breakfast was really nice and the staff are really friendly. I would reccomend this hotel to people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Visited Solway Lodge on sunday for lunch with my 2 sons & thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The man who owns the place was on the bar & has just the right attitude for serving the public & our waitress was a lovely young girl with blonde hair (sorry didn't get your name) who was so pleasant & efficient. Food was very tastey, well presented & nice & hot. All in all a truely wonderfull place to go.

Room Tip: We did not stay (food only)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Lodge Hotel

Property: Solway Lodge Hotel
Address: Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel specializing in good food and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solway Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solway Hotel Gretna Green
Solway Lodge Hotel Gretna, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing