We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of Solway Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solway Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the Solway Lodge which we used as a base for my stepdaughters wedding at the Gretna Green Blacksmiths Shop, and I have just one complaint. This was that I couldn't find fault with a single thing. And I am very well known for doing just that!
I have stayed at many hotels in the UK and Europe, and can honestly say that this was the best of the lot.
The whole staff team are so friendly and approachable, that it made our stay here perfect. Ian the manager is an amazing guy, always ready to give advice when needed. And nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, but dined in the hotel each night as the food was so good.
There is a bus stop right outside the hotel, so if you fancy a trip into Dumfries or Carlisle there is an hourly service. The train station is about 15 minutes walk with trains to Glasgow and Carlisle.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay at the Solway, and although we had not planned to return, we will definitely make another visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel 11th April for 1 night to break up our journey home to Aberdeenshire to visit family, so glad we did, lovely hotel, pleasant helpful staff & a lovely cooked breakfast to send us on our way the next morning.

We got a special offer price on booking.com, but in all honesty i would still have been really pleased had we paid the full price, lovely room, very clean & nicely decorated. Very pleasant & helpful lady on reception & young guy in the bar, we looked at the menu & looked very good & reasonable but cant comment on food as we went for a few drinks at the Gretna arms got chatting to some locals & stayed longer than intended. so ate there ( which was very nice & a really friendly bar).

We go away quite a bit for a night or 2 & have paid much more than the usual price this hotel charge, but the service, decor & cleanliness of the Solway put many to shame, as i said we got a bargain but no hesitation of booking again, special offer price or not we will definately return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last week and really enjoyed it ! The room and service we received was excellent for the money we paid. On the night we ate in the hotel and the meal was really nice :) I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia6794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here on the 15th march for a wedding that we were attending in Gretna. Upon arriving the hotel looks lovely from the outside, reception nice and welcoming receptionist also very nice and polite. Receptionist showed my husband and I to our room (17). The room was very nice modern & clean bit small but ample for us. Shower very good, only thing was cracks on the bathroom floor, otherwise I cannot fault the room.
The bar area is quite "retro" pine cladding walls and ceilings, the furniture a bit dated but I like that! Adds character.
Breakfast served between 7:30 and 9 bit early for a Sunday. Breakfast was ok bit of square sausage or black pudding wouldn't go a miss (we're still in Scotland after all).

Wifi connection poor but upon speaking to the staff it's due to the age of the building... Built during WW1 so the walls are rather thick.

Overall I had a lovely stay at Solway.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff very polite and attentive,happy.We stayed over travelling from Inverness,had our meal in the pub as we didn't like the choices in the hotel,bar in the hotel was ok for a small bar but large drinking area which needs updating to 2013 its not the 90s.Very clean everywhere,room 11 faced onto the front road a little traffic noise nothing to disturb you.Lovely view over the houses. Only point we would raise is that the quilt on the bed was not thick enough why hotels insist on these flat quilts who knows?this then making us cold but solway just needs to invest in some new quilts,the room was modern and the shower was lovely and clean worked well.just a two minute walk to the local pub who also recommended customers to the hotel whilst we were there and i also recommended this hotel.Across the road is the Gretna shopping outlet,private parking in site of hotel.i would stay again and the rate we paid was good.Cant comment on breakfast as we didn't get up for it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sazzz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Have been before but was disappointed with room and standards. However this time the room was small but well laid out with co ordinate furnishings. Nice shower room too. Breakfast was fine.a huge improvement,so would use again and recommend for value for money small hotel. Thanks to Ian and staff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a double room which we got for £49 from the hotels own site. This was a great price and the hotel was fit for purpose as of just needed somewhere to stay after a long trip from Northern Ireland before moving on to Smith's Hotel in Gretna Green (I've also reviewed this hotel). The Solway Lodge is on a quiet road and looks more a house from the outside. Inside its very outdated but spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and courteous. Our room looked lovely - very small but with modern luxurious furnishings and an excellent shower in the en suite. However I had the worst night's sleep ever! The bed was a metal frame with a thin lumpy saggy mattress that looked decades old. I ended up sleeping at the wrong end of the bed as the mattress was marginally firmer here. It was awful! We didn't eat dinner as the menu choice wasn't great, but our breakfast was tasty if a little on the small side. All in all an ok hotel for one night. Would be much better if they invested in new mattresses!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank suziecinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Lodge Hotel

Address: Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: £51 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel specializing in good food and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Solway Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solway Hotel Gretna Green
Solway Lodge Hotel Gretna, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing