We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay, with lovely helpful owners.”
Review of Surrone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surrone House
Ranked #2 of 4 Gretna B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great Place to stay, with lovely helpful owners.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We are a family of 6 staying in 2 family rooms, both spotlessly clean & comfortable rooms, Christine cooks a great breakfast and was very accommodating with our 4 children. Great hosts and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
25
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at Surrone House for three nights whilst visiting the local area. The welcome was excellent and our spacious room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We ate on our first night, the menu was varied and reasonably priced. The breakfasts were excellent, freshly cooked to order and served by the ever helpful Christine. Surrone House offers excellent value for money and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here while we were on our way to Aberdeen. It is a lovely spot. The people are lovely and the guest house is beautifully clean and fresh. The only blot on the land scape was that we were awoken by a couple coming back from a wedding at 02.30. So if you are there for a wedding please think of others when you come in.

Room Tip: Lovely spot for a stay and we will certainly stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasoneddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curlerGretna, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your positive feed back, we always appreciate reviews. We apologise for the wedding party who were noisy, as you will appreciate we have no control over this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed overnight last weekend - excellent hosts - lovely rooms - including family room for my daughter and family. Amazing bathrooms. Excellent breakfast. I asked to keep some chilled Scottish beef in their fridge overnight - not a problem - definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMJHantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed for one night to break our journey to Yorkshire. This was an excellent choice for a stopover. we received a very friendly welcome and had a nice cosy clean room. A nice quiet location well away from traffic noise with plenty of parking space. Very good evening meals and breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cholsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I'm a hotel person really, and until recently havent stayed in.B&B's much- if they were all nearly as good as Surrone House I wouldn't hesitate!
The welcome and service throughout were second to none, and my room.was perfectly well equipped, with a good clean en suite and very comfy bed.
I had an evening meal there too and it was good, and very reasonably priced.
Breakfast was enjoyable too.
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable one night stay in a lovely B&B, hope to.be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I turned up unannounced and couldn't have been made more welcome. The room was well equipped and very clean. I had a very reasonably priced lovely meal at the Guest House which was served with a choice of ales...A good stay at a lovely Guest House

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surrone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrone House

Property: Surrone House
Address: Surrone House Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Surrone House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surrone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surrone House Gretna, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing