We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and tranquility”
Review of Surrone House

Surrone House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surrone House
Ranked #2 of 4 Gretna B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Lovely old farmhouse kept by friendly and professional hosts. We 2 mature ladies were on an end to end cycle trip and as soon as we arrived our bikes were locked in the shed and we were shown to our very comfortable en suite room. Our hostess offered to cook us a meal, which we were very grateful for as it meant we didn't have to walk into town. We did some washing and hung it on the line - later it was taken to the boiler room for the night. It was a lovely, peaceful place to stay and we slept very well. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColbaggerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, Manager at Surrone House, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Congratulations on finishing your cycle ride, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, these are very much appreciated, John and I are happy you both enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
21
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely B&B for three nights while we explored the region.
The owners Christine and John could not do enough for us from planning our trips and a great breakfast and Dinner at night.
We had a beautiful room that had every thing one needed just a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite as they are back of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time during your holiday to write your review, this is very much appreciated. We both enjoyed meeting you and hope one day our paths will cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A lovely little guest house with pleasant staff and a very enjoyable breakfast! would definitely stay here again, very clean and friendly and accommodating with my gluten free dietary needs. No complaints at all

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nissola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We always appreciate positive comments.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

6 of us stayed here overnight and were delighted with our stay. We were welcomed with tea on the lawn whilst we cleaned our bikes whichever ere then locked securely away. Good food and good breakfasts on top of good sleeps in clean,comfortable beds. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine R, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review, these are always very welcome
We hope you reached your destination safely and injury free.
we look forward to welcoming any of you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We are a family of 6 staying in 2 family rooms, both spotlessly clean & comfortable rooms, Christine cooks a great breakfast and was very accommodating with our 4 children. Great hosts and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at Surrone House for three nights whilst visiting the local area. The welcome was excellent and our spacious room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We ate on our first night, the menu was varied and reasonably priced. The breakfasts were excellent, freshly cooked to order and served by the ever helpful Christine. Surrone House offers excellent value for money and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here while we were on our way to Aberdeen. It is a lovely spot. The people are lovely and the guest house is beautifully clean and fresh. The only blot on the land scape was that we were awoken by a couple coming back from a wedding at 02.30. So if you are there for a wedding please think of others when you come in.

Room Tip: Lovely spot for a stay and we will certainly stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasoneddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curlerGretna, Owner at Surrone House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your positive feed back, we always appreciate reviews. We apologise for the wedding party who were noisy, as you will appreciate we have no control over this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.0 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surrone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrone House

Property: Surrone House
Address: Surrone House Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Surrone House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surrone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surrone House Gretna, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing