We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not family friendly”
Review of The Gretna Inn

The Gretna Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gretna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gretna Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Gretna B&B and Inns
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not family friendly”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This is a review on the Restaurant & food

As we were stopping in Gretna elsewhere for a two night break we decided that on the evening we go to this pub for a nice evening bar meal On arrival I asked the bar man(Mr Stress – we nicked named him this because everything was a stress) if we needed to book although the restaurant wasn’t busy “AT All” he said there was a big wedding party coming in and that we’d be ok for tomorrow(Saturday) fair enough I thought so we got drinks and sat outside for about 1 hour ! we didn’t see any wedding party come..! On the Saturday we returned the place was dead but there was a sign saying no children in the bar after 9pm I challenged this as my kids are the type to run about and the place was dead .Mr stress the barman wouldn’t budge on this when I asked him. Yet there wasn’t an area for the kids to play safely as the pub is on a main road with open frontage . So 1st thing pub is family friendly, 2nly when the food came it was of a poor quality the three adults in my party had surf and turf and steak to be done rare omg the scampi was passable but the steak was black and nuked and the size of a postage stamp how the hell was that supposed to be 8oz I would say more like 8 Millograms, the food was below average I feel we had better food in the welcome break service station . And got too agree the toilets “STANK”

Although the rest of the pub is nicely decorated(don’t know about the rooms), I would say If you want a nice evening meal or you want your wedding dinner there I’d look around 1st there’s nicer places I hear in Gretna

PS Don’t give the barman too many things to order for his own health because he will stress and blow up one day

Shower rating (N/A)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb_Steve66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    8
    11
    27
See reviews for
35
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stopped at the Crossways Inn for what would have been a couple of drinks...First thing I noticed was the can of coke I bought for my son was part of a MULTIPACK ok a rip off but can deal with that. What I couldnt deal with was after having a drink I needed to use the toilet..I can safely say they were the dirtiest toilets I have even been in, beyond description was the level of filth, and why there was a bottle of dishwashing Liquid (NO THERE WASNT ANY SOAP)on the handbasin I cant imagine..I cannot believe that anyone cou;ld eat here after seeing the filth, after all if this is the level of hygiene they put on public display what like are the kitchens? Needless to say I refused my husbands offer of a second drink!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gretna hotels

CARMARTHENSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Our daughter's Wedding Day meal was a nightmare. Drinks on arrival, didn’t. Mother of the Bride cleared tables. Complained to the owner he said £20.00 off or you pay the full price! Saw waitress buy soup at garage down the road! Waitresses lovely!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BURLEY1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stopped in for food on a trip from Blackpool to Edinburgh. Looked very presentable from the outside and went in to order food. My wife and Mother in Law ordered the roast beat and I ordered the fish. The fish portion was the size of a kids meal and the beaf was deff not beaf and was served cold. When I complained they were just not interested.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolf-three-five-nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

the food was bad we booked a table for evening meal it was our anniversary,when we arrived the table was taken,we were shoved in a corner amongst locals,the food was very bad ,thrown on the plate,we didnt eat much as the staff werent very clean,they didnt know what they were doing,also it took ages to get a drink 1 bar staff.i would never return there and i hope people dont make the same mistake as us

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazdano7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Dropped in here for an evening meal on an overnight caravan stop. If you want something to eat within a 2 hour timeframe, then don't visit this place, oh and if you want it to be warm when you get it this place should definitely be avoided. Dreadful advert for what should be a tourist trap for the scottish borders. This will definitely be my last visit.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jgrantgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This establisment was booked for a wedding reception and in spite of heavy snow we all managed to get to the venue but one elderly guest. Despite numerous phone calls they have failed to return the 'deposit' paid of £30 and charged us for the guest unable to attend. Fair enough (but mean) but no excuse to not return the deposit. My son and new wife do not have a lot an this would help out. The food was 'fair' but expensive, no where near worth the £12.99 cover.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrrMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.2 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.2 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gretna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gretna Inn

Property: The Gretna Inn
Address: 121 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DN, Scotland (Formerly Crossways Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Gretna Hotel Gretna
The Gretna Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing