We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Gretna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maple Tree Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 4 Gretna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Spent 8 nights in Scotland and England and finished off staying @ the only guesthouse we used on our trip. We had stayed in a Castle, a Ramada Hotel and a Travelodge. So plenty of variety on our trip. This guesthouse is in a great spot for visiting the area and we enjoyed our stay.
Room was spacious, although we would have preferred not to have a sofa in the room as well, as we found it a bit cramped. Also room was very bright early morning. Room spotlessly clean and owner was friendly.
Breakfast was plentiful and very enjoyable.
Only thing we found strange was that used towels not replaced after first night nor bed made, but milk, coffee replenished. Maybe this is the way that guesthouses operate as we have never spent more than one night at a time in the very few guesthouses we have used!!
We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilden73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Maple Tree Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Lovely welcome from Gillian. Probably the best b & b we've stayed in yet. Lovely big, bright and clean double room with the added benefit of a sofa in the room even though there was a small lounge area with tv if you wanted. Great breakfast. Would recommend and will use again if need to travel that way.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jhegelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights 24 to 27 November and we have absolutely no complaints. It is a lovely guesthouse and Gillian was most welcoming, helpful and friendly and a mine of useful information. We were very comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful. No hesitation whatever in recommending this little gem. Don't bother with anywhere else, just go here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked our room and a second room, 2 weeks prior to our trip and it was completely hassle free. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. Gillian and Robin were the greatest hosts and gave great advice on what to do and where to go in the area. Wonderful full breakfast each morning. We would be very happy to go back for our One Year Anniversary! Fantastic!!

Room Tip: Single room was great and easy access for my mom-in-law. Double room was beautiful and there was so...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Me and my wife very much enjoyed our stay at the Maple Tree Guesthouse. The room was beautiful with great view, the breakfast was delicious and Gillian made us feel really welcome as we got married in Gretna Green during our stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimiZoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great place to stay got there 2 days before our wedding 27th July had 3 nights in total never felt so welcome in a guest house before thanks gill. We will be back for our 1st anniversary and for the breakfast no complaints whatsoever

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate&guybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Thank you for making our stay so special. Stayed for just one night whilst visiting to have our wedding vows renewed.
Place is perfect...extremely well presented,beautifully modern clean bright and functional rooms.
Staff very helpful and make you feel very comfortable.
Fantastic cooked breakfast too :-)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Leenlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.1 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Tree Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Tree Guesthouse

Address: 101 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna
Price Range: £57 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Maple Tree Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Tree Guesthouse Gretna, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing