We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“filled a gap”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gretna Inn

The Gretna Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Gretna
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“filled a gap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

popped in for lunch after visiting the shopping outlet.
Basic menu, nice staff good value for money.
Glad we didn't have the fish though that was on special - I think I would still be eating it now! it was huge!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohwellnevermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    83
    43
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Night - Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Was part of a group, visiting prior to a wedding the next day (wk-end of 10/5). Had drinks during the afternoon, then went through to the restaurant to eat, and then back to the bar for remainder of the evening. The restaurant had no problems accommodating us, putting tables together so that we all sat at 1 large table. Having children with us, they were made to feel very welcome and the staff were extremely patient and approachable. The food was of a high standard, portions above average, the battered fish actually larger than the plates !
Special mentions to Eric, who kept us and the kids entertained, and to Becky and Anna, for their great service and attention.
Would certainly visit again if in the area, and would recommend to friends !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_ward2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Plenty of room for more Mushrooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner called in for a drink whilst travelling and decided to eat there as well . I ordered a burger and chips and my partner ordered chicken Goujons , great so far then we asked for some garlic mushrooms as my partner liked them.
We paid £4.95 for 6 mushrooms , what an absolute rip off. This isn't a 5 star Michelin restaurant , far from it , and £5 for a starter is average but 6 small breaded mushrooms in garlic ... Never again , when I went to pay and was asked if everything was alright with my meal I mentioned the measly portion and the girl agreed they were expensive but still charged full price . If your going to give such small portions at least tell us on your menu how many you get , there again if you did that you wouldn't sell any .. Rip off .
Would also like to say I stay in the area quite a lot on business but won't be going back there in a hurry which is a shame because it as the potential to be the best in the area , it maybe needs more competition to improve customer satisfaction !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rlowrie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“won't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Beer was good, food not the best, below par pub grub although there isn't too many choices in Gretna, maybe some body knows a decent place to eat, please advise

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank weedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

fantastic food and very good value for money, nice decor inside,outdoor seating area very pleasant atmosphere i will visit again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gretna Inn also viewed

Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Gretna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing