We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the way back home from a trip to South West Scotland and we had a lovely time. We were greeted by friendly staff who helped us with our bags to our room. The room had lots of information books on what you can do in the local area.We had a meal at the restaurant on the evening and the food was very good and good value. We had breakfast the following morning and they had lots of selection including a vegetarian breakfast. Very pretty building and close to Gretna green blacksmiths shop and Gretna gateway outlet village. Would definitely visit again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterfly1981066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the great review , we are all pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one, hopefully see you again in the future

JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    181
    74
    38
    17
See reviews for
206
468
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a travel zoo voucher on 20th October

The hotel was great, staff very friendly , rooms were lovely and cosy. We had dinner the first night, which was absolutely delicious as was breakfast.

The only downside was the access to wifi, the only place we could get connected was in the bar.

Hope to visit again.

Thanks
Heather & David


,

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for such a lovely review, your kind comments will be passed onto all staff who will be pleased to hear your stay was so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel as we were working our way back home having been up to inverness and loch lomond, the staff in this hotel were superb , the food was fantastic, well worth staying there, pity the weather was bad next day so we just headed back home to Newcastle insread of having a good look around Gratna

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skywalker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Hi
Thank you for your excellent review the staff will be pleased , hope to see you again if passing this way and you have better weather .

Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a lovely stay here at the Gables. The hotel is perhaps rated too low at 3star. The décor was first class;,rooms lovely and warm;attentive staff;quality well prepared food.Lots of things to see and do in this area,well woth a visit

Room Tip: dining and bar meals a bit strange as a steak was served in the bar but not dining area?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Many thanks for your review , it is great to read that you enjoyed your mid week break, and thank you for the compliment , we strive to be the very best 3 star hotel we can, unfortunately we cannot offer the full range of amenities and facilities we feel are necessary to warrant being a 4 star hotel.Thanks again on the feedback . It means a lot to our team to know when we are getting things right.

Kind regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We visited the Gables with a travel Zoo voucher and this was excellent value. We had Bed Breakfast and evening meal. We were greeted by a really friendly receptionist I always think this is a good start and the hotel is very clean and central for the attractions in Gretna ( really enjoyed the blacksmiths) and Carlisle. The highlight was definitely the food. Although dinner was a set menu we had 4 choices for each of the 3 courses. All courses were delicious and nicely presented. The breakfast again was very good with lots of choice. We're now looking to book again in the future

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenpetLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear reviewer , Many thanks we are all pleased here at The Gables Hotel that your stay with us was enjoyable and your dining experience lived up to your expectations, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Kind regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Gables overnight on a shopping trip to the Gretna shopping outlet. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped into reception until our departure the following morning. We were booked in for dinner, three courses at a cost of £17.95 and we both enjoyed our meals. The room was very comfortable and a good size. The breakfast was also very well cooked. The only slight downside was the door from the bedroom to the en suite bathroom which was a sliding door. We would certainly visit again. It is a good stopping off point for anyone travelling further into Scotland who wants to break the journey.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sib1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased that it was comfortable and enjoyable and i will pass on your lovely comments to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were in Gretna Green to renew our wedding vows at the World Famous Blacksmiths and booked to stay after loving the pictures we had seen of the outside of the hotel, it looked so welcoming and we were not disappointed. We had a marvellous greeting from the lady on reception ( Jane, I think) and our stay was off to a flying start.
We were overwhelmed by the kindness when we were offered an upgrade to the bridal suite and quickly accepted. The room was fabulous, four poster bed, jacuzzi bath.
We were made to feel special, as were our few guests and even when our numbers changed the staff were most helpful.
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal and appreciated the private dining room to our selves.
We cannot thank everyone enough for making our stay such a fantastic time and hope to stay again some time in the future

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear guest, thank you for such a lovely review, we really do appreciate your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you were looked after well while you were here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Property: The Gables Hotel
Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green
The Gables Hotel Gretna, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing