We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable!”
Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Memorable!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Alesia Suite (bridal) it was worth the extra money upgrading from average Bridal Suite for our wedding in Gretna. The staff were unfaultable (if thats a word) with our wedding reception, contributing to it being very memorable and special day for us. I think the negatives were the "cans" and "cant's" but it was still a first class service, so well done The Gables!

Room Tip: If your a romantic couple, it's worth paying extra for The Alesia Suite, it overlooks the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Gabbie C

Many thanks for the wonderful reveiw that you have posted.

I have passed on your kind words to the Staff who will be over the moon to know that they were part of your memorable stay!

We look forward to your return.

Many thanks
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    182
    76
    39
    17
See reviews for
209
472
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night using a travelzoo deal, which included a 3 course dinner (choice from set menu) and breakfast. Great value for what we paid. Food was excellent, however we noticed our menu was different from everyone else's at dinner. Not sure if this was due to us using the travelzoo deal or whether we had been given the previous nights menu to choose from by accident (as we were the first people in the restaurant).

Hotel is in nice surroundings, room was clean & nice. The heating in the room & hallways was turned up a lot, which meant the room was quite hot & stuffy. We had to open the window after waking up in a sweat in the early hours of the morning, despite turning off the radiator in our room when we arrived.

All in all, we had a great stopover and a good start to our trip to the highlands.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Sarah G

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

My apologies for the slight mishap with the Restaurant Menu but can assure you our Menu is no different based on the package made with us. I have discussed this with my Front of House Team to rectify, therefore when you are to stay with us again you will receive the same menu as other customers.

We are pleased we contributed to the start of your good trip!

Kindest regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a 1 night stay here for a family wedding (we stayed on a Thursday evening) At £104 for a double room I thought it was a bit pricey - stayed in Gretna before for a lot less and had just as good a time. The bar was too small for the size of our wedding party so it was a little cramped. The heating seemed to be on full blast in the bar and it was making it quite uncomfortable for all of us. The food for the wedding meal was good but when we asked for more bread rolls for the soup they didn't bring anymore out until the bowls were cleared and the main course came out - don't really eat bread rolls with a lamb roast! Service was good overall though the waitress did drop a knife on a chair and didnt wipe off the gravy that was left there - good job we spotted it before the person came back to their seat. Double room was big enough and came with iron, tv, tea & coffee and hairdryer etc. as you would expect. The full Scottish breakfast in the morning was brilliant and you could help yourself to cereal, toast, croissants etc. as well. The bride wanted to eat her breakfast in her room as she didn't want to see the groom before the wedding but we were told that no hot food was allowed to be taken up to her room so unfortunately she didn't get a cooked breakfast to see her through until after her 12 noon wedding. The hotel did allow us to come back and use the bar area after the wedding ceremony even though we had already checked out which gave us the chance to have a celebratory drink before we set off back home for the evening reception. Overall a good stay but nothing out of the ordinary for the price.

Room Tip: Not a good view out of room 21 window but a nice enough room and quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PazGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear reviewer
Thank you for your review in which we appreciate , as i will bring your comments up for discussion in our next meeting. However I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay.
Apologies in the fact that obviously their was a delay of service in providing extra bread rolls, and the oversight of the dropped cutlery on the chair.
With weddings it is our norm to advise the bride and groom to arrange different breakfast times if they wish not see to see each other the morning of the wedding, we do provide a two hour breakfast service,and also provide as an alternative an extensive room service continental breakfast.
Thanks again for your review and for bringing your comments to my attention .
Kind regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the way back home from a trip to South West Scotland and we had a lovely time. We were greeted by friendly staff who helped us with our bags to our room. The room had lots of information books on what you can do in the local area.We had a meal at the restaurant on the evening and the food was very good and good value. We had breakfast the following morning and they had lots of selection including a vegetarian breakfast. Very pretty building and close to Gretna green blacksmiths shop and Gretna gateway outlet village. Would definitely visit again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterfly1981066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the great review , we are all pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one, hopefully see you again in the future

JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a travel zoo voucher on 20th October

The hotel was great, staff very friendly , rooms were lovely and cosy. We had dinner the first night, which was absolutely delicious as was breakfast.

The only downside was the access to wifi, the only place we could get connected was in the bar.

Hope to visit again.

Thanks
Heather & David


,

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for such a lovely review, your kind comments will be passed onto all staff who will be pleased to hear your stay was so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel as we were working our way back home having been up to inverness and loch lomond, the staff in this hotel were superb , the food was fantastic, well worth staying there, pity the weather was bad next day so we just headed back home to Newcastle insread of having a good look around Gratna

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skywalker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Hi
Thank you for your excellent review the staff will be pleased , hope to see you again if passing this way and you have better weather .

Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a lovely stay here at the Gables. The hotel is perhaps rated too low at 3star. The décor was first class;,rooms lovely and warm;attentive staff;quality well prepared food.Lots of things to see and do in this area,well woth a visit

Room Tip: dining and bar meals a bit strange as a steak was served in the bar but not dining area?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Many thanks for your review , it is great to read that you enjoyed your mid week break, and thank you for the compliment , we strive to be the very best 3 star hotel we can, unfortunately we cannot offer the full range of amenities and facilities we feel are necessary to warrant being a 4 star hotel.Thanks again on the feedback . It means a lot to our team to know when we are getting things right.

Kind regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Property: The Gables Hotel
Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green
The Gables Hotel Gretna, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing