We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stayort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stayort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We spent one night at the Gables Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.We had a wonderful dinner and a superb breakfast,the next morning.The room we had was very clean,warm and comfortable and the facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackpooldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Blackpooldiner

Thank you for such a lovely reviw and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All the best to you.

Kindest regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    181
    74
    38
    17
See reviews for
206
468
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay at The Gables, we booked it as a special offer package for our wedding anniversary. The hotel looks fantastic from the outside and walking through the door you are not disappointed. Very modern yet cosy, reception staff were very friendly and we had been upgraded to a four poster room with massive jacuzzi bath! Couldn't fault the room at all. We ate in the restaurant at night and the food was delicious and well presented. The real jewel in the crown was the Scottish breakfast the following morning, absolutely fantastic!All in all I couldn't find fault with this lovely hotel. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chelmuers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi Chelmeurs

Thank you for such a lovely reveiw & we are delighted that you had such a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel again.

Kind regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tranent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We booked this hotel following trip advisor reviews of which there were no bad ones!! We stayed for 3 nights for our 30th wedding anniversary and were not in the least bit disappointed!! Every member of staff we met was and polite cheerful and seemed to actually enjoy their jobs ( especially the girl who was putting up the decorations who gave us a song or two, not realising that were in the bar at the time !) The rooms were very well appointed and the food was delicious both in the restaurant and the bar. All in all a lovely stay and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anniem2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Anniem2404

Many Congratulations on your Anniversay and we are pleased that you chose to spend it with us and that you enjoyed your stay very much!

Our singing Receptionist has decided not to audition for XFactor next year you'll be pleased to hear!

All the best for another happy year together, though please dont wait another 30 years until you visit us again!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

What can I say, exceptional customer service, from the moment you walk in the door! Courteous, friendly and helpful staff lovely welcome and great atmosphere. Elegant, spacious, clean comfortable rooms with all the modern facilities that one expects now-a-days. The room service was exceptional with the food out-of-this-world, if the chef was not already married, I would have taken him home with me - David is an inspired and creative gentleman, who cooks to perfection across different cultures a sort of east-meets-west variety of meals to suit all and mines was done to perfection! The breakfast servered in the main function suite in the morning was also fabulous, lots to choice from - but the traditional 'Scottish' breakfast was a must for me - and again, presented and cooked beautifully! The waitress, Sarah, was lovely, ensuring the guests had everything they needed. Reception staff and the lovely restaurant Manager James, also ensured that all was as it should be - making for a lovely end to a horrible day, and a fantastic start to the next. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Jane1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
1jane1962

What other can I say than "What a wonderful review"

Its great to hear that we get it right and you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments onto David (and the other named staff), who thanks you very much for such kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a lovely one night stay here which included an evening meal, as part of a voucher deal and were very impressed. We had been upgraded to a four poster bedroom when we arrived which was very well appointed.
The evening meal was excellent, and as good as we had ever had at any top class restaurant. We will definitely look out for deals again. Note, this hotel is very well placed for the Gretna shopping stores, as well as for weddings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khasbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi Khasbar

Many thanks for your lovely review. I have passed on your kind word to all departments involved. We will most certainly look forward to having you visit us again in the near future. We will keep you up to date with all the latest offers that the Hotel will have.

Kind regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perthshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a one night stay here with evening meal included. We were made very welcome and the service was excellent. The hotel has a pleasant ambience and a very large car park. The heating system is very effective indeed.The room was (largely) clean and very comfortable (we are very fussy) but the food was a bit too rich for our taste. Nonetheless we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others, especially if you like rich, creamy fare.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajenkinsPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi ajenkinsPerthshire

What a lovely review to recieve. Please keep an eye out on our Website where other offers will be appearing soon so you can come back to re-visit. We look forward to meeting you again.

Kindest regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We booked here at the very last minute after booking the other really well known wedding hotel in Gretna (shan't mention any names!). Unfortunately the first hotel wouldn't allow check in before 3pm even though we were getting married and had to be at the Famous Blacksmith Shop at 3.45pm! From the moment I contacted The Gables I was soooo glad that this had happened. And when we arrived I was even more glad! The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was beautiful (we had been upgraded to a four poster bridal room which was such a lovely thing for them to do) and there was champagne on ice waiting for us. There was a huge bathroom with corner jacuzzi bath and big double shower. When we returned back to the hotel afterwards we enjoyed a glass of champagne and headed to the bar. Again, a very friendly welcome, bar with roaring fire and some very friendly guests. The meal in the restaurant was great, but for some reason I had less appetite than usual, the nerves from earlier in the day must have affected me! Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, again a really friendly atmosphere, not at all stuffy. Great selection and a fantastic cooked breakfast. Previous reviews have said it all, beautifully decorated hotel, spotlessly clean, brilliant staff - it was faultless! If we go back to Gretna again we will definitely choose this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallust70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi sallust 70

What a lovely review which we are deighted to receive from you. I have passed on your kind words to the Staff who are equally delighted to have fulfilled the expectations of your stay. If you are ever in Gretna again, please do visit!

Kind regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Property: The Gables Hotel
Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green
The Gables Hotel Gretna, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing